Digitized archives of several popular magazines created for Black audiences in Africa. Includes Zonk!, Zonk! Film-Pic Photo Stories, Contrast, The Townships Housewife, Grace, Hi-Note!, and Drum. 1937 - 1973
Alternate Name(s)
A Global Movement for Human Rights
Explore the growth of the human rights movement during the second half of the twentieth century through the International Secretariat records of Amnesty International. 1961 - 1991
"This collection covers a wide range of human rights concerns and issues including:
Activism and Campaigning, Global Politics, Mass Atrocities, Migrants and Refugees, Minority Rights, Mistreatment and Disappearances, Political Prisoners and Prisoners of Conscience (POCs), Structure and Administration of Amnesty International, Torture and Death Penalty."
User-friendly, powerful cloud-based mapping software for creating web maps and performing analysis. Includes access to ArcGIS Living Atlas of the World and premium content, including demographic, environmental, and imagery data.
ArcGIS Online enables users to build interactive maps, create web-based apps, and perform spatial analysis in browser-based software. UC Berkeley users have access to a wide range of content including imagery, basemaps, demographics and lifestyle, landscape, boundaries and places, transportation, earth observations, urban systems, oceans, and historical maps that can be combined with users' own data to create maps, scenes, and apps and perform analysis. ArcGIS Online also includes tools for geocoding, geoenrichment, network analysis, and spatial analysis. UC Berkeley affiliates may log in with their Calnet credentials for full access at https://cal.maps.arcgis.com
Collection of micrograph images and associated data from ASM International in cooperation with the International Metallographic Society (IMS).
The emphasis of the collection is on micrographs for industrially important alloys. Information captured for each image includes material designation and composition, processing history, service history, metallographic preparation/technique, magnification, significance of the structures shown, selected materials properties data, and other relevant data.
Alternate Name(s)
Cambridge Higher Education Full Collection; Higher Education from Cambridge University Press; CHE
A collection of approximately 1200 etextbooks and ebooks in many subjects.
Titles can be accessed online through the Cambridge Higher Education website, or through the free downloadable Spiral eReader app for offline reading. Online users have full reading access and text-to-speech capability where available. Setting up a personal CHE account is necessary to make use of Spiral eReader functions such as saving your reading progress, adding bookmarks, adding and exporting notes, highlighting text, adding links, offline reading on desktop or mobile device, and printing or copying up to 20% of the text.
License term: 4/1/2024-12/31/2025, although our subscription includes textbooks published before the beginning of the license term.
The journal Cine Cubano (1960-2019) is a vital resource with 200+ issues offering unparalleled access to 6 decades of Cuban revolutionary & Latin American cinema theory, filmmaking approaches, & reviews. Scanned at ICAIC in Havana
The journal Cine Cubano is an essential resource for studying the rich history of both Cuban revolutionary cinema and Latin American cinema at large. It is now made available online for the first time. The more than two hundred issues (1960–2019) offer students and researchers unparalleled access to six decades of cutting-edge film theory, novel approaches to film making, and scores of film reviews. Scanned at the ICAIC film institute in Havana, Cuba, the present collection includes all 205 issues of the journal that have ever been published in print.
The collection chronicles Cuban cinema's development from the Silent Era to 1959, with unpublished materials like Cinema magazine's full 1935-1965 run.
"The collection documents Cuban cinema's development from the Silent Era to the 1959 Revolution, offering unpublished photos, clippings, lobby cards, and the complete 1935-1965 run of Cinema magazine. It highlights Cuba's struggle to establish a film industry during the Republican Era despite efforts by ""dreamers.""
The Agramonte-Castillo collection provides biographical information on filmmakers. Cinema magazine, founded in 1935 by Enrique Perdices, was pivotal in promoting a national cinema. Its 1,424 issues trace the industry's ups and downs week-by-week, with Perdices championing government support through his editorials.
"
Digital archive of political ephemera and organizational material from across the world covering twentieth century political parties, pressure groups and trade union movements, created for, about and by local actors.
"This resource brings together primary source material produced in over 70 former British colonies and Commonwealth nations, alongside some from former French and Portuguese territories, created for local audiences by local actors during a period of enormous global change. Largely eschewing the accounts of colonizers, this collection helps researchers explore decolonization as a historical process sparked from within, specifically the changing or adapting of systems from an imposed imperial or colonial structure after 1945 and up to the present day. The archive sheds light on national political developments that followed decolonization and how former colonies negotiated their own agency and futures.
"
The 2023 Edition of DIPPR 801 is a renowned source of Evaluated Process Design Data of physical, thermodynamic, and transport properties for industrially important chemicals used in chemical process and equipment design. With newly added compounds, this latest Knovel version contains data for 34 constant properties and 49 thermophysical properties as well as molecular structure, SMILES, hazard and safety properties, physical constants, and critical properties, in 4 interactive tables. Compound data includes experimental data and, when necessary, estimated values that have been reviewed to ensure the greatest accuracy possible. Now with updated coefficient sets the Knovel interactive equation plotter applets deliver comprehensive data for 2263 of compounds in 15 temperature-dependent property tables.
Egypt and the Rise of Nationalism richly presents the development of nationalist sensibilities, movements, and publications from the 1870s until the third decade of the twentieth century and culminating with the formal dissolution of the British protectorate in 1924.
Reference work containing information on the foundations of nutrition science, integrating food, nutrition science, and clinical nutrition.
Topics include: biology and functions of vitamins and other essential nutrients; links between diet and health effects, including diseases of nutritional etiology; genetic and molecular aspects of nutrient-health interrelationships; nutrigenomics, metabolomics and the microbiome.
Alternate Name(s)
Primary Sources Environmental History
Primary sources that document the role of government agencies, conservation organizations and individual actors who pioneered the study of the natural environment and campaigned for its protection. UCB access only.
The sources in this database document the different aspects of conservation and environmental public policy in North America in the modern era. Researchers can explore unique primary sources that trace the evolution of land rights, resource usage, trade rules, and environmental protections that mark the beginning of the modern conservation movement. Scholars will find the papers of pioneering conservationists such as George Bird Grinnell and Joseph Trimble Rothrock, alongside material from government agencies such as the Bureau of Land Management and the Bureau of Reclamation who have formed and conserved national parks, forests and dams across North America, shaping the landscape it is today.
Leningradskaia Pravda was a prominent Soviet newspaper published in Leningrad (now St. Petersburg) from 1924 to 1991.
It was established in 1918 as Petrogradskaia Pravda, the official organ of the local Communist Party committees and soviets in Petrograd (former name of Leningrad).
It is best known for continuously publishing throughout the Siege of Leningrad (1941-1944) during World War II, with only a single issue not appearing during that period. This demonstrated its resilience and commitment to informing the besieged city. Following the failed Soviet coup attempt in August 1991, the newspaper ceased publication.
"
FBI surveillance files on the activities of the African Liberation Support Committee and All African People's Revolutionary Party. 1970 - 1985
This collection provides two unique views on African American support for liberation struggles in Africa, the issue of Pan-Africanism, and the role of African independence movements as political leverage for domestic Black struggles.
A materials library of 10,000 innovation products for use in architecture, design, engineering and product design. Sustainable material alternatives to existing manufacturing supplies.
"Students and faculty can access the database directly from the campus network by visiting https://www.materialconnexion.com/search and creating their own account in order to save materials to their “material boards” and to access the Insights content by following these steps:
Visit the website at https://www.materialconnexion.com/
Click “Sign In” on upper right hand corner
Click “Register” at center of page
Fill out the registration page using your @berkeley.edu email address and create a password
Complete any requested data on the next page."
Alternate Name(s)
Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart
MGG Online builds on the second edition of Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart (MGG, 1994–2008), offering new and substantially updated content as well as continuous updates, revisions, and additions.
My China Roots is a family history database for the Chinese diaspora that includes millions of searchable ancestors in America and Southeast Asia.
The database includes thousands of clan books (zupus), immigration registers, burial and obituary records, and overseas Chinese business directories and association records. Surnames or village names are searchable. Most Chinese documents are full-text viewable online.
Alternate Name(s)
PHAROS online chemical hazard, use and exposure data
Pharos provides hazard, use, and exposure information on chemicals and building products. NOTE: You must first register for an account using the link here and your Berkeley email address.
Search by chemical name/CAS RN, or use (for example: flooring, solvent, etc.). Pharos also includes Hazard Lists (authoritative scientific lists for health and environmental hazards and restricted substance lists), as well as Common Products (common contents and hazards of different kinds of building products).
Provides insight on unorthodox (by contemporary standards), fringe groups from both the right and left of the political spectrum through rare, hard to access primary sources. 1900 - 2010.
PRAGDA features 500+ Latin American, Spanish, and Latinx streaming films/series, showcasing diverse voices and perspectives, from over 30 countries, in their original language with English subtitles.
The Southeast Asia Digital Library is a growing repository of resources from and about the region of Southeast Asia. It supports Southeast Asian research and education by making these unique digitized materials freely accessible in one website.
"SEADL is a multi-institutional project and our digital collections come from libraries and archives around the world. SEADL supports research and education in Southeast Asian Studies by making these unique digitized materials freely accessible in one website."
This is an important primary resource on the British Indian administration and colonial government and the personnel who served in it. NOTE: Issues with Chrome have been reported with this resource. Users are encouraged to use other browsers.
The Civil & Military Gazette was a publication meant for the British colonial administration serving in India. It provided the news of the day as well as information on the hiring, promotions, and retirements of civil and military personnel. As such, it is a key resource for the social history of British India as well as colonial studies generally.
This site features a searchable translation and analysis of four codices painted by Maya scribes before the Spanish conquest in the early 16th century.
The codices contain information about Maya beliefs and rituals, as well as everyday activities, all framed within an astronomical and calendrical context.
Alternate Name(s)
This database contains more than 400 titles of tabloids from the Shanghai Library. The tabloids emphasize on leisure and entertainment, including novels, essays, and trends in film, theater, dance, etc.
Tabloids recorded what broadsheet newspapers missed, and spoke what cannot be expressed by broadsheet newspapers. This resource would be a great complement of regular news resources published in the same time period. It would also provide much needed primary sources to academic programs in the area of history/art history, sociology, cultural/popular cultural studies, journalism studies and film studies.
VitalLaw (formerly Cheetah) is a legal research platform that provides access to statutes, cases, administrative agency materials, as well as treatises, reporters, newsletters, and blogs.
Practice areas covered include Antitrust, Banking & Consumer Finance, Energy & Environment, Healthcare, Intellectual Property, Labor Law, Securities, Taxation, and Corporate Law. Funded via partnership with Berkeley Law Library
