Library Guides: Berkeley Biosciences Study Abroad (BBSA): Books

Koshland Bioscience, Natural Resources & Public Health Library

Bioscience, Natural Resources & Public Health Library
The Marian Koshland Bioscience, Natural Resources & Public Health Library website, including hours, reference help, resources, research guides, and contact information for the circulation desk and librarians.
Bioscience Library hours
Koshland Bioscience Library open hours.

Find books and e-books

UC Library Search
Search for journals, books and more at all of the libraries in the University of California system, or worldwide.
Click the Request button to page a book to a UC Berkeley library or borrow from another library. Requests for article/chapter scans can be placed for materials held at NRLF. Requests require sign-in.
Harmful, offensive, or discredited library materials
Statement from the Bioscience, Natural Resources & Public Health Library.

Google Books
Search within the full text of scanned books. Use the "Find in a library" link (if present) or search on a title in UC Library Search to see if e-book or print versions are held by UC Berkeley.

Searches the full text of books and many journal runs on many subjects, including some from the University of California libraries. The full text of a book can be displayed only if the book is out of copyright (generally, published before 1923).

Searching books and articles

Searching by topic
How to identify keywords and combine them using the operators AND and OR, parentheses, and other techniques to develop effective searches in databases and catalogs. Illustrative example slides
Citation search
Copy and paste the article or book title into the search box of UC Library Search. If the title is exact, place double quotes immediately before and after the title, and click Search.
Journal search
Search or browse UC Library Search for journal titles in the biosciences.
Keeping Current
Setting up journal table of contents and new issue alerts
Citation management guide
Overviews of and links for citation management tools such as Zotero, Mendeley, and EndNote.

Browser extensions for finding PDFs:

EndNote Click
Browser extension that streamlines access to article PDFs, even if you don't use EndNote.
Unpaywall
Browser extension and website that enable searching for Open Access content from publishers and repositories.

If the UC Berkeley Library doesn't have access to an article you need:

Interlibrary borrowing
Interlibrary Borrowing Service (IBS) enables UC Berkeley students, faculty, and staff (including retired faculty and staff) to borrow materials not available through the UC Berkeley Library.
Purchase recommendation form
Recommend a book, journal, or other resource for purchase by the library.

Life Sciences Reference Sources

AccessMedicine
Provides access to dozens of current medical textbooks in numerous specialty areas, procedural and other videos, a differential diagnosis tool, practice guidelines, cases, patient education materials, and more.
AccessNeurology
Textbooks, images and videos for neurology and related areas. (Access Medicine Neurology)

Includes the subject areas of basic neurology, neuroanatomy, neuroscience, ophthalmology, movement disorders, EEG monitoring, clinical examination, and pediatric care.
Cambridge Higher Education
Includes more than 500 textbooks on topics in the sciences.

Titles can be accessed online through the Cambridge Higher Education website, or through the free downloadable Spiral eReader app for offline reading. Online users have full reading access and text-to-speech capability where available. Setting up a personal CHE account is necessary to make use of Spiral eReader functions such as saving your reading progress, adding bookmarks, adding and exporting notes, highlighting text, adding links, offline reading on desktop or mobile device, and printing or copying up to 20% of the text.
License term: 4/1/2024-12/31/2025, although our subscription includes textbooks published before the beginning of the license term.
Encyclopedia of Bioinformatics and Computational Biology 2e
Theory, background, and methods for the computational analysis of biological data. Includes chapters on algorithms, artificial intelligence (AI) and machine learning, bioinformatics, biomarker discovery, biome mapping and ecological modelling, biomolecular structure prediction and analysis, computational systems biology, drug and vaccine design, synthetic biology, and text and data mining, among many others.
Encyclopedia of Cancer, 3rd edition
Surveys current research, treatment and societal impact of the disease.

Subtopics include mechanisms; causes; prevention; diagnosis and therapy; pathology; genetics, genomics and epigenomics; and public health.

Encyclopedia of Cell Biology 2e
Covers molecular, organizational, functional, and systems cell biology, with an emphasis on higher eukaryotes.

Encyclopedia of Evolutionary Biology
Covers the origin of life, the mechanisms of evolution, the levels of biological organization, phylogenetic methods, and the history of the field.
Encyclopedia of Immunobiology
Covers the development and evolution of the immune system; molecular immunology; immune system activation; pathogens and tumors; and immune system physiology and dysfunction.
Encyclopedia of Microbiology, 4th edition
Covers the history of the field, microbial diversity, physiology and genomics, ecology and evolution, pathogenesis and immunology, and recent advances
Encyclopedia of the Neurological Sciences 3e
Covers all areas of neuroscience through over 500 entries focused on a wide variety of topics in neurobiology, neurology, neurosurgery, psychopharmacology, and other related areas of neuroscience.
Handbook of Zoology
Provides full text, comprehensive overviews on animal systematics and morphology as well as extensive coverage of physiology, behaviour, ecology and applied aspects of zoological research. Updated Frequently. [1923--]
Henry Stewart Talks: Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection
Video lectures by leading experts on subjects including biochemistry, cancer, cell biology, genetics & epigenetics, infectious diseases, metabolism & nutrition, microbiology, neuroscience and more.

Additional topics include agriculture & environmental sciences, clinical medicine, immunology, methods, omics & systems biology, pharmaceutical sciences, and reproduction & development. Lecture slides and full text transcripts are available.

National Academies Press: Biology and Life Sciences
Reports and conference proceedings published by the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine on biology and the life sciences.
National Academies Press: Health and Medicine
Reports and conference proceedings published by the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine on health and medicine.

NCBI Bookshelf
Provides free access to books and documents in medicine and the life sciences.

Contains over 1000 books
OMMBID: Online Metabolic and Molecular Bases of Inherited Disease
Covers the genes and genetic mechanisms underlying inherited human disease. Note: Limited simultaneous users. Please try again later if refused.

The online version of Metabolic and Molecular Bases of Inherited Disease, OMMBID is regularly updated with new information on the metabolic and molecular underpinnings of inherited diseases, as well as updates on pathophysiology and treatment.
Oxford Handbooks Online: Neuroscience
Handbooks on neuroscience topics including review articles providing critical surveys of the current state of research, emerging areas, future research needs, and translational applications.

Searchable by topic, author, and more. Current titles include the Oxford Handbooks of the Auditory Brainstem, Developmental Neural Plasticity, Invertebrate Neurobiology, Microbiome-Gut-Brain Axis, Mitochondria, Neurobiology of Learning and Memory, Neurobiology of Pain, Neuronal Ion Channels, Neuronal Protein Synthesis, and Transcranial Stimulation (2nd edition). Titles designated as "under development" continue to add articles as they are reviewed.

Secondary menu

Berkeley Biosciences Study Abroad (BBSA): Books

Koshland Bioscience, Natural Resources & Public Health Library

Find books and e-books

Searching books and articles

Browser extensions for finding PDFs:

If the UC Berkeley Library doesn't have access to an article you need:

Life Sciences Reference Sources