Library Guides: Business Database Finder: Company Information

Public Company and Investment Profiles

Orbis
Orbis contains information on over 200 million companies worldwide, both private and public. Data is standardized for easy cross-border comparisons.

Orbis includes companies' financial accounts, credit scores from a number of independent providers, directorships, ownership structures, PEPs and sanctions information, and details of mergers and acquisitions activity.
S&P Capital IQ Pro

Available to currently enrolled UCB students, faculty, and staff.
Public company financials and filings, private company information and investment details, M&A, industry surveys, analyst reports screening and charting. Berkeley subscribes to the Aftermarket Research module (analyst reports), and the Energy and Real Estate verticals, which provide financial information and research on companies' individual projects and investments. Formerly known as SNL and S&P Market Intelligence. A guide to Real Estate screening can be found at https://guides.lib.berkeley.edu/c.php?g=1189557

Historical Company Information

Capital Changes
Timeline of capital structure of public corporations.

Contains the complete capital change histories of over 58,000 corporations, including stock dividends, stock splits, reverse stock splits, reorganizations, exchanges, rights and other changes in capital structure.
Historical Annual Reports
Companies' annual reports from 1844+ available through searchable PDF images. Last 10 years not available. Use Mergent Online for recent reports.

Includes over 800 companies' annual reports available as searchable pdf images. Includes financial data, Fortune 500 ranking, industry classification, key people, geographic location, and more.
International Directory of Company Histories
Detailed timelines and narrative histories of major U.S. and international companies.

Provides histories of companies that are a leading influence in a particular industry or geographic location. For students, job candidates, business executives, historians and investors.
Mergent Archives
Corporate and industry related documents from the Moody's Corporate and Government/Municipal Manuals from 1909 to the present day. (Moody's Manuals - Mergent WebReports)

The Mergent Archives provides online access to the Moody's/Mergent manuals. These manuals provide corporate histories, business descriptions, and information on properties, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt, financial statements and municipal debt. The database covers the following manuals: Industrial Manual (1920-present) Public Utility Manual (1914-present) OTC Industrial Manual (1970-present) OTC Unlisted Manual (1986-present) Transportation Manual (1909-present) International Manual (1981-present) Bank and Finance Manual (1928-present), Municipal & Government (2005-present).

D&B Historical Records
UCB access only. Calnet required to access.
US company historical files from Dun & Bradstreet. 1969-2022. Years 1981 and 1984 unavailable.
Company name, mailing address, SIC codes, DUNs number, year started, principal business, secondary name, parent company, site employees, total employees.
Available as .txt and .csv files.
Reference USA Historical Files
UCB access only. Calnet required for access.
Annual snapshots of historic company data from Infogroup's U.S. Business Database. Coverage from 1997-2023. Includes company name, mailing address, SIC and NAICS codes, employee size, sales volume, latitude/longitude, and many more variables about each company.
Files are very large. Best to open in a statistics computer program.

Private Company Profiles

Orbis
Orbis contains information on over 200 million companies worldwide, both private and public. Data is standardized for easy cross-border comparisons.

Orbis includes companies' financial accounts, credit scores from a number of independent providers, directorships, ownership structures, PEPs and sanctions information, and details of mergers and acquisitions activity.
PitchBook
Note:UCB Access. Available to currently enrolled UCB students, faculty, and staff.
Preqin
Private equity and venture capital transaction data and news. Information on firms, funds, and portfolio companies. Preqin is also available via the WRDS platform.

Campus access courtesy of the Haas School of Business
Reference Solutions
Basic directory information on millions of companies in the United States. (American Business Disk - US Company Directory - U.S. Company Directory - ReferenceUSA)

Includes over 13 million U.S. companies. Provides searching and sorting features by industry, geographic location, company employee size, company name, sales size, etc. Also includes residential addresses for 120 million U.S. households.

Specialized Company Information Sources

Uniworld Online
A directory of multinational companies operating around the world.

Screen for foreign firms with offices in the U.S., and vice versa. This database replaces the print "Directory of American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries" and "Directory of Foreign Firms Operating in the United States" directories, which have been discontinued by the publisher.
Chinese Studies Online (CSO) from Wanfang
Full-text Chinese journal articles, conference papers, dissertations, legislation and law from the PRC, in a wide range of subject areas and dating from 1997 to the present. (Wanfang Data)

Includes five databases:

China Online Journals (COJ);

Dissertations of China (DOC);

Academic Conferences in China;

Chinese Companies and Products;

Policies and Laws of China (PLOC). (In Chinese.)

Secondary menu

Business Database Finder: Company Information

Librarian's Recommendations: Try These First

Public Company and Investment Profiles

Historical Company Information

Private Company Profiles

Specialized Company Information Sources