Library Guides: Historical Primary Sources: Canada: Primary Sources by Type

Multiple-type sources

1980s Culture and Society This link opens in a new window
Grassroots materials produced by left-wing organizations and under-represented groups are presented alongside government records and mainstream media to showcase the key social, cultural, and political concerns of the decade. Materials are sourced from archival collections housed across the United States, United Kingdom, Australia, and Canada.

Canadiana
In 2018, CRKN merged with Canadiana.org, an organization dedicated to the preservation and access of Canada’s documentary heritage since 1978. As a merged organization, CRKN continues its core licensing activities for scholarly journal content, while expanding support for the digitization and preservation of, and access to, Canadian heritage content.

Empire Online This link opens in a new window
Digitized collection of original manuscript and printed documents from around the world to support research in the field of colonial and empire studies. [1492-1962]
Includes 70,000 images of original manuscript and printed documents to support study and research in the field of colonial and empire studies. Five sections include: Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969; Empire Writing and the Literature of Empire; The Visible Empire; Religion and Empire; and Race, Class, Imperialism and Colonialism, c. 1607-1969. In addition to original documents, this database contains scholarly essays and analysis.

Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 This link opens in a new window
Digital collection of books, periodicals, pamphlets, political tracts, legislation, sermons, and other documents published in Europe and the Americas on the history and civilizations of North, Central, and South America and the West Indies.
Based on the 29-volume bibliography, Bibliotheca Americana: A Dictionary of Books Relating to America From its Discovery to the Present Time, by Thomas Sabin, the resource includes over 65,000 titles.