Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Update: Moffitt Library is closed for seismic work, but most other libraries are open. Learn more.

Temporary Free Resources for Chinese Studies: Home

Temporary Free Resources for Chinese Studies during COVID-19

Thanks to the generous support of many vendors, the library is able to provide temporary access to a variety of e-resources during COVID-19 shutdown through September 2020.  This list of databases will be updated when new free access is offered. Databases are organized by subject/category.

Please make sure to connect through campus VPN. Google Chrome has better compatibility with accessing databases. Please contact Susan Xue at sxue@berkeley.edu if you have questions.

Reference

COVID-19 Studies

eBooks

Statistics

Journals, Theses, Dissertations, Proceedings

  • Chinese Periodical of Modern China - Literature Collection 中国近代中文期刊全文数据库-文学专题 1872-1949
  • The Late Qing Full-text Database 晚清期刊全文数据库 1833-1911
  • Chinese Periodical Full-text Database 中文期刊全文数据库 1911-1949
  • Chinese Serial Full-text Database 《遐迩贯珍》 1853-1856
  • Dian-shi-zhai Pictorial Full-text Database 《点石斋画报》1884-1898
  • The North-China Daily News & Herald Newspapers and Hong Lists 《字林洋行》1850-1951
  • Sin Wan Pao 《新闻报》1893-1949
  • The Eastern Times 《时报》1904-1939
  • The China Press 《大陆报》1911-1949
  • The Tabloids《小报》1897-1949
  • The Shanghai Times 《上海泰晤士报》1925-1943
  • The Shanghai Evening Post & Mercury 《大美晚报》1929-1949
  • The Shanghai Evening Courier《上海晚邮》1869-1874
  • Shanghai Courier & China Gazette 《中华快报》1876-1878
  • Shanghai Courier 《上海差报》1876-1878
  • The Republican Daily《民国日报》1916-1949
  • Central Daily News《中央日报》1928-1949
  • Yi Shih Pao《益世报》1915-1949
  • Ta Kung Pao《大公报》1902-1949/1952