"The University of East London’s Library at Docklands has been the home of the Refugee Council Archive for over a decade.... The Refugee Council Archive now includes a rich documentary heritage including over fifty years’ worth of materials collected by the Refugee Council, now supplemented by additional archival collections including the Council for Assisting At-Risk Academics (CARA), the Northern Refugee Centre Archive, an audio-visual collection from the London Office of the UNHCR, Charter 87 and the Cambridge Refugee Support Group archives. We have also just received an archival collection from the Information Centre on Archives and Refugees, (ICAR)."
Photo: Unpacked Refugee Baggage
"UNPACKED: Refugee Baggage seeks to humanize the word “refugee.” Created during the summer of 2017, this multi-media installation is the work of Syrian-born, New Haven CT artist and architect Mohamad Hafez and Iraqi-born writer and speaker Ahmed Badr.
For UNPACKED: Refugee Baggage Hafez sculpturally re-creates rooms, homes, buildings and landscapes that have suffered the ravages of war. Each is embedded with the voices and stories of real people — from Afghanistan, Congo, Syria, Iraq and Sudan — who have escaped those same rooms and buildings to build a new life in America."
United States Holocaust Memorial Museum Online Exhibits
Image: United States Holocaust Museum
"May 8, 1945, marked the end of hostilities and a turn toward peace for war-ravaged Europe. For those who had survived the Nazi Holocaust, however, the end of the war brought the beginning of a long and arduous period of rebirth. Following the defeat of Nazi Germany in the spring of 1945, as many as 100,000 Jewish survivors found themselves among the seven million uprooted and homeless people classified as displaced persons (DPs)."
Image: United States Holocaust Museum
"Following the German invasion of Poland on September 1, 1939, hundreds of thousands of Jews and countless other Polish citizens fled eastward ahead of the German advance. On September 17, under a secret agreement with Germany, Soviet troops occupied eastern Poland, where an estimated 300,000 Jewish refugees accepted Soviet rule as the lesser of two evils and stayed. Some 40,000 Jews continued south into Romania and Hungary or northeast into Lithuania, fearing arrest by either the Nazis or the Soviets, or hoping to emigrate abroad from unoccupied territory."
Interwoven: Rufugee Murals Across Borders
