It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UC Berkeley’s library buildings are open! Learn more.
Chemical price information can be difficult to find since there is no single, authoritative resource. However, based on the type of pricing information you need, we recommend a variety of different sources:
Suppliers - current price information for purchasing chemicals. Find price information directly from chemical supply companies.
Trade/Business Literature - current information about chemical industries. Search business-related research article and news databases for particular chemicals and chemical industries.
Journal Archives and Encyclopedias - historical chemical price information. Find historical pricing by searching archives of relevant publications and consulting chemistry encyclopedias.
Top Resources for Finding Chemical Suppliers
These resources provide current price information from chemical suppliers. For more information about these resources and additional recommendations, visit the Chemical Suppliers page.
Comprehensive source of references, substances, and reactions in chemistry and related sciences. Search for a substance then click on the Get Commercial Sources link to see a list of suppliers.
Indexes over 9,000 journals, patents, conferences, books, technical reports and dissertations related to chemistry, chemical engineering, materials science and the biomedical sciences. Relates to the print equivalent Chemical Abstracts. Note: SciFinder-n is the next generation SciFinder platform. You can choose to use either until the old version is phased out, but SciFinder-n includes an updated search algorithm and enhanced features, including synthesis planning
Find property, reaction, synthesis, and bibliographic information for chemicals. Search for a substance then click on the shopping cart in a record to view substance availability from commercial sources.
A web-based interface for three chemical information databases, Beilstein, Gmelin and the Patent Chemistry Database (PCD). Structure, reaction and citation searching are possible. Reaxys is a key resource for locating information on how to synthesis organic, inorganic and organometallic compounds. It is also a good source for critically evaluated data on on physical, chemical, spectral, bioactivity, or toxicological properties of chemical compounds.
Organic and inorganic chemicals including chemical synthesis, materials science, biochemistry, custom chemistry services, and solvents and inorganics. (Formerly EMD Millipore and Sigma-Aldrich)
Top Resources for Finding Chemical Industry Information
These resources provide access to trade publications, business journal articles, and industry reports. For more information about these resources and additional recommendations, visit the Chemical Industry Information page.
The Chemical Week journal follows developments in industries such as chemicals and petrochemicals, drugs and cosmetics, fertilizer and agricultural chemicals, petroleum refining and coal, plastics, metallurgical and metal products and rubber products, among others. [1994-present]
This database provides full-text for more than 7000 scholarly journals and other sources, including nearly 1100 peer-reviewed business publications. Offers information in nearly every area of business including management, economics, finance, and accounting. [1965-present]
Indexing, abstracts, and (in many cases) the full text of articles for the most important scholarly business journals as well as popular and trade magazines and newsletters.
This database provides general and business news and information from more than 9,000 sources in 22 languages, including influential local, national and international newspapers, leading business magazines, trade publications, and news wires.
Includes the exclusive combination of The Wall Street Journal (1979-present), the Financial Times, Dow Jones and Reuters newswires and the Associated Press, as well as Reuters Fundamentals, and Bureau van Dijk company profiles.
Top Resources for Historical Chemical Pricing
These resources provide access to historical pricing information. For more information about these resources, visit the Historical Chemical Pricing page.
This encyclopedia presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering.
This encyclopedia covers inorganic and organic chemicals, advanced materials, pharmaceuticals, polymers and plastics, metals and alloys, biotechnology and biotechnological products, food chemistry, process engineering and unit operations, analytical methods, environmental protection, and much more.