Browse through all of the maps in this collection on the UC Berkeley Library Digital Collections site.
Use the list of digital maps & indexes on this page for a quick overview of what maps are currently available.
Sign up for our mailing list! We anticipate infrequent messages (~2-4/year) with updates about the UC Berkeley project, as well as other news related to World War II captured maps.
Email us at epslibs@berkeley.edu with questions and comments about the collection.
Cartography is a rich visual tradition that evolved over thousands of years, a way of seeing and making sense of the physical and social world. It is a data-driven exercise.
But all maps lie, even the good ones, argues geographer Mark Monmonier in How to Lie with Maps (3rd edition, 2018). In his introduction Monmonier famously writes that “a single map is but one of an indefinitely large number of maps that might have been produced for the same situation or from the same data.” Mapmakers use cartographic license. That involves distorting reality: It is impossible to faithfully project a three-dimensional world on a flat surface. All maps only convey information selectively--not every detail of the real world can actually be shown.
Cataloging cartographic resources also is a data-driven exercise, maybe more so than cataloging on the book format. Recording relief, coverage area, scale information, projection data, all that necessitates unique data fields that are specific to the exercise of cataloging cartographic resources. Map data sets can be really large and complex. Variation often plays a role, as sheets are updated and reissued in new editions. Note fields therefore are the friends of map catalogers. Descriptive cataloging records details about the prime meridian, marginal data, sheet numbering, etc. In many ways that is the bread and butter of map cataloging.
One important goal for UC Berkeley’s German World War II Captured Maps digitization project was the creation of quality map metadata. We believe map series cataloging records matter, because they provide access to large cartographic data sets. That warrants the work that is necessary to create rich map series cataloging records.
An important part of our work was providing adequate authority control, recording all corporate bodies that appear on these maps. That includes local administrative offices and specific military mapping and surveying units which were involved in producing these map series.
In the 1950s the U.S. Army Map Service deposited German World War II maps in U.S. research libraries. Today, German World War II maps thus form important legacy collections in some larger U.S. map libraries. That is also true in Canada and Great Britain.
In the decades after World War II British and subsequently American map catalogers produced rudimentary record stubs for these German military map sets. Instead of recording the names of the corporate bodies which appear on the map sheets some assigned responsibility by using ubiquitous phrases like “German General Staff.”
Some British and American map librarians have argued in the past that the German World War II military map series, and more specifically those covering the British Isles, represent purely derivative work. They argued that German military cartographers just republished map data which appeared on Ordnance Survey maps and British Admiralty charts. This explains in part why Anglo-American map catalogers and map librarians for so long ignored these map series, even though they represent an important hidden collection in North American and British research libraries.
The most recent restatement of that argument came from Rob C. Wheeler in an article titled “German maps of England of World War II and associated publications,” which appeared in the December 2003 issue of Sheetlines. This article elicited a response from John L. Cruickshank who exploded that myth in three noteworthy articles which likewise appeared in Sheetlines during the years 2004 and 2005. Those articles also provide a first-rate comparative analysis of the work done by the Ordnance Survey and the Reichsamt für Landesaufnahme.
Where did this map data originally come from? One of our goals was to add information about the source maps and related issuing bodies. Often a variety of source map sets was used to produce German military map series, sometimes updated by aerial photography and field work. Source map notes were generally extensive, and reflect that complexity. Already in the interwar period German geodesists worked at integrating larger physical spaces. Military grids used on some of these maps reflect that geodetic work.
In many ways these map series also document the complexity of German history, both persistence and abrupt change. The federal structure of the German Empire and the Weimar Republic adds complexity to the history of the German military and civilian mapping effort. A multitude of different state agency names appears on older maps as issuing bodies. That complexity only came to an end with the seizure of power by the Nazi regime in 1933 which subsequently destroyed the federal structure of the German government.
But institutional changes in the map world do not always neatly line up with political changes: The celebrated Übersichtskarte von Mitteleuropa 1:300 000 was first issued from 1893 to 1918 by the Preussische Landesaufnahme, a military mapping agency of the State of Prussia, between 1866 and 1933 the largest and politically dominant German state. After the collapse of the German Empire in the November Revolution of 1918, the government of the Weimar Republic sought to establish a truly national civilian mapping agency, the Reichsamt für Landesaufnahme. The new mapping agency absorbed staff of the old Preussische Landesaufnahme, and gradually incorporated some other state mapping agencies. It issued new sheets of the Übersichtskarte von Mitteleuropa beginning in 1921. Reichsamt für Landesaufnahme cartographers made substantial changes. The new sheets emphasized roads and had outdoor recreation features. Car owners and tourists emerged as an important map-buying audience.
After World War II two German states emerged in 1949. In West Germany state governments established mapping agencies. Very few Übersichtskarte sheets were issued in the decade after World War II but in 1955 the West German government established the Institut für Angewandte Geodäsie as new national civilian mapping agency. It continued to issue Übersichtskarte sheets until about 1966.
The Übersichtskarte von Mitteleuropa changed substantially between 1893 and 1966. It was issued by three vastly different mapping agencies. The coverage area of this map series expanded during World War I and again dramatically during World War II, but in the 1950s and 1960s it contracted to German territory. Key map features also changed.
After some discussion we decided those changes were significant enough to warrant dividing our set of Übersichtskarte von Mitteleuropa sheets into 3 sets. The reason for that was in part pragmatic. It conveniently allowed us to separate the sheets we wanted to digitize from those which the Berkeley Library bought in the 1950s and 1960s. But it also allowed us to trace the varied history of the Übersichtskarte von Mitteleuropa in some detail and shed light on the significant changes that took place during the more than 70 years of its publishing history.
A good place to start exploring the history of these German military map series is Wolfgang Scharfe’s paper presented at the 21st International Cartographic Conference in 2003. Scharfe discusses the complex production and publication history of a single German military map series, Spanien 1:50 000. He was able to interview Colonel Theo Müller, a retired military officer who had served as a military surveyor and cartographer during World War II and later in the West German military. That allowed Scharfe to gain insights into the production and publication process which would have otherwise remained obscure.
Corporate body: Germany. Reichsamt für Landesaufnahme. Hauptvermessungsabteilung XIV, Wien
ARN 11894274
010 no2019041803
040 CU ǂb eng ǂe rda ǂc CU
046 ǂs 1938 ǂt 1945 ǂ2 edtf
1101 Germany. ǂb Reichsamt für Landesaufnahme. ǂb Hauptvermessungsabteilung XIV, Wien
368 Map drawing ǂa Map publishing ǂ2 lcsh
370 ǂe Vienna (Austria) ǂ2 naf
372 Cartography ǂa Surveying ǂa Map publishing ǂ2 lcsh
377 ger
4101 Germany. ǂb Reichsamt für Landesaufnahme. ǂb HVA XIV, Wien
670 Austria. Kartographisches Institut. Österreichische Karte 1:25,000, 1919-1945: ǂb map recto (Reichsamt für Landesaufnahme, Hauptvermessungsabteilung XIV, Wien)
670 Reichsamt für Landesaufnahme, German-language Wikipedia, accessed March 7, 2019 ǂb (Reichsamt für Landesaufnahme, Hauptvermessungsabteilung XIV; seat: Vienna; one of 16 regional surveying departments of the Reichsamt für Landesaufnahme; established in 1938 after the Nazi annexation of Austria; also known as HVA XIV; responsible for the administrative district Alpen- und Donaugaue, the former Austria) ǂu https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/
670 K.u.k. Militärgeographisches Institut, German-language Wikipedia, accessed March 7, 2019 ǂb (Austria's Kartographisches Institut; successor to the K.u.K. Militärgeographisches Institut of the Austro-Hungarian Empire; was merged 1938 with parts of the Bundesamt für Eich- und Vermessungswesen (BAfEuV) to form Hauptvermessungsabteilung XIV of the Reichsamt für Landesaufnahme. In 1945 BAfEuV was reconstituted and within it a reorganized Landesaufnahme) ǂu https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/
Corporate body: Germany. Heer. Vermessungs- und Karten-Abteilung 624
ARN 12616142
010 no2019180911
040 CU ǂb eng ǂe rda ǂc CU ǂd CU
046 ǂs 1939-08-26 ǂt 1944-12 ǂ2 edtf
1101 Germany. ǂb Heer. ǂb Vermessungs- und Karten-Abteilung 624
370 ǂc Germany ǂc Norway ǂ2 naf
372 Military topography ǂa Cartography ǂa Photogrammetry ǂa Map printing ǂa Military planning ǂ2 lcsh
373 Germany. Heer. Generalstab. Chef des Kriegskarten- und Vermessungswesens ǂ2 naf
377 ger
4101 Germany. ǂb Heer. ǂb Vermessungs- und Kartenabteilung 624
670 Norwegen 1:50 000, 1943-1945: ǂb map recto (Bearbeitung und Druck: Verm Kart Abt 624)
670 Lexikon der Wehrmacht, accessed Dec. 3, 2019 ǂb (Vermessungs- und Karten-Abteilung 624; an army formation; established on Aug. 26, 1939 as Vermessungs-Abteilung 624 in the German military district Wehrkreis VI (Münster, Westphalia); renamed Vermessungs- und Karten-Abteilung 624 on May 2, 1941; from 1942 subordinate to Army High Command Norway (AOK Norwegen); disbanded in Dec. 1944 when AOK Norwegen was disbanded; the mapping section was reorganized in Norway as independent Karten-Batterie 624; the staff section was demobilized in Gross-Born, Pommerania) ǂu http://www.lexikon-der-wehrmacht.de/Gliederungen/VermAbteilungen/VermAbt624.htm
Corporate body: Germany. Heer. Kartenstelle (mot.) 464
ARN 12632600
010 no2019184469
040 CU ǂb eng ǂe rda ǂc CU ǂd CU
1101 Germany. ǂb Heer. ǂb Kartenstelle (mot.) 464
370 ǂc Germany ǂc Finland ǂc Norway ǂe Rovaniemi (Finland) ǂ2 naf
372 Military topography ǂa Cartography ǂa Photogrammetry ǂa Map printing ǂa Military planning ǂ2 lcsh
373 Germany. Heer. Generalstab. Chef des Kriegskarten- und Vermessungswesens ǂ2 naf
377 ger
4102 Armee-Kartenstelle (mot.) 464 (Germany)
670 Norwegen/Finnland 1:50 000, 1943-1944: ǂb map recto (A.K.St. (mot.) 464)
670 Kalevin historiasivut, accessed Dec. 12, 2019 ǂb (Kalevi's history page for Rovaniemi and Lapland history; maintained by Kalevi Mikkonen, Finland; Armee-Kartenstelle 464, established a base at Lager Neuer Kolonnenhof, a military camp of about 60-70 barracks in Rovaniemi, Finland, on January 15, 1942; the unit occupied a headquarters building, two garages for trucks, a workshop, a gas station and other barracks built in 1942-1943; consisted of 53 soldiers in 1942; Armee-Kartenstelle 464 worked on mapping assignments in support of German military units fighting in Lapland against Soviet forces; was the 20th Mountain Army's own mapping unit, responsible for mapping, map printing, and the constant updating of geospatial information; compiled maps of northern Finland and adjacent areas in Norway and the Soviet Union utilized Finnish, Norwegian and Soviet maps and aerial photographs of the Luftwaffe; unit was motorized and equipped with trucks and half a trailer with the mapping and map printing equipment installed; maps were chiefly printed in color; as the frontlines approached the barracks were destroyed in October 1944 and the unit moved to Norway)
Cataloging record for German map series: Karte des Deutschen Reiches 1:100 000 (1-cm-Karte)
OCLC # 21695365
007 a ǂb j ǂd c ǂe a ǂf n ǂg z ǂh n
040 CUY ǂb eng ǂe rda ǂc CUY ǂd OCL ǂd OCLCQ ǂd OKU ǂd CUY ǂd OCLCQ ǂd OCLCF ǂd OCLCO ǂd OCLCQ ǂd OCLCO ǂd OCL ǂd OCLCO ǂd CUY ǂd OCLCO
034 1 a ǂb 100000 ǂd E0055000 ǂe E0225000 ǂf N0560000 ǂg N0471500 ǂ2 bound
043 e-gx---
050 4G6080 s100 ǂb .P7
052 6080
090 ǂb
049 CUYM
110 1 Prussia (Germany). ǂb Landesaufnahme, ǂe cartographer, ǂe issuing body.
245 10 Karte des Deutschen Reiches 1:100 000 (1-cm-Karte) / ǂc herausgegeben von der Preussischen Landesaufnahme ; bearbeitet vom Reichsamt für Landesaufnahme, der Zweigstelle Landesaufnahme Sachsen, dem Bayerischen Topographischen Büro, und dem Württembergischen Statistischen Landesamt.
246 3 Karte des Deutschen Reiches (Generalstabskarte)
246 3 KDR-100 (German General Staff map)
255 Scale 1:100,000. 1 cm der Karte = 1 km der Natur ; ǂb polyhedral projection ǂc (E 5°50ʹ00ʺ--E 22°50ʹ00ʺ/N 56°00ʹ00ʺ--N 47°15ʹ00ʺ).
264 1 Berlin: ǂb Preussische Landesaufnahme, ǂc 1878-1945.
300 maps : ǂb some color ; ǂc 30 x 33 cm, or smaller.
336 cartographic image ǂb cri ǂ2 rdacontent
337 unmediated ǂb n ǂ2 rdamedia
338 sheet ǂb nb ǂ2 rdacarrier
500 Relief shown by hachures and spot heights on most sheets. Relief is represented by shading or contours on some sheets.
500 Shows drainage, vegetation, roads, railroads, and cultural features.
500 Accompanied by 1-sheet guide to symbols used: Musterblatt und Zeichen-Erklärung für die Karte des Deutschen Reiches 1:100 000.
500 Set contains various editions. Some sheets are identified as Umdruckausgabe.
500 Issued in quadrangles of 15' of latitude by 30' of longitude.
500 In an agreement dated March 4, 1878, the German states of Prussia, Saxony, Bavaria, and Württemberg agreed to map Germany's territory on a 1:100,000 scale in a common topographic grid survey consisting of 674 sheets. Many features were modelled on the Preussische Generalstabskarte. The first sheets that were issued were largely redrawn from pre-existing military maps. A polyhedral projection was used. Prime meridian initially was Ferro, but was later switched to Greenwich.
520 German map series first issued by the Preussische Landesaufnahme and the mapping agencies of the German states of Bavaria, Saxony, and Württemberg. After 1919 most sheets were issued by the Reichsamt für Landesaufnahme. The map series is also known as KDR-100 (German General Staff map).
651 0 Germany ǂv Maps.
655 7 Topographic maps. ǂ2 lcgft
655 7 Quadrangle maps. ǂ2 lcgft
710 1 Germany. ǂb Reichsamt für Landesaufnahme, ǂe cartographer, ǂe issuing body.
710 1 Württemberg (Germany). ǂb Statistisches Landesamt, ǂe cartographer, ǂe issuing body.
710 1 Saxony (Germany). ǂb Landesaufnahme, ǂe cartographer, ǂe issuing body.
710 2 Bayerisches Topographisches Büro, ǂe cartographer, ǂe issuing body.
856 42ǂ3 Index map 1: ǂu https://www.lib.berkeley.edu/EART/indexes/G6080_s100_p7_index1.jpg
856 42ǂ3 Index map 2: ǂu https://www.lib.berkeley.edu/EART/indexes/G6080_s100_p7_index2.jpg
Cataloging record for German military map series: Norwegen 1:50 000
OCLC # 21822518
007 a ǂb j ǂd c ǂe a ǂf n ǂg z ǂh n
040 CUY ǂb eng ǂe rda ǂc CUY ǂd OCL ǂd OCLCQ ǂd OKU ǂd CUY ǂd OCLCA ǂd OCLCQ ǂd OCLCA ǂd OCLCF ǂd OCLCO ǂd OCLCQ ǂd OCLCO ǂd OCL ǂd OCLCA ǂd AZU ǂd OCL ǂd OCLCO ǂd CUY
034 1 a ǂb 50000 ǂd E0043000 ǂe E0310000 ǂf N0711000 ǂg N0575500 ǂ2 bound
043 e-no---
050 4 G6940 s50 ǂb .G4
052 6940
090 ǂb
049 CUYM
110 1 Germany. ǂb Heer. ǂb Vermessungs- und Karten-Abteilung 624, ǂe cartographer.
245 10 Norwegen 1:50 000 / ǂc herausgegeben vom OKH/GenStdH, Chef des Kriegskarten- und Vermessungswesens ; Bearbeitung u. Druck Verm Kart Abt 624.
246 3 Norwegen 1:50 000, Bildplankarte
246 3 Norwegen 1:50 000, Deutsche Heereskarte
255 Scale 1:50,000 ǂc (E 4°30ʹ00ʺ--E 31°00ʹ00ʺ/N 71°10ʹ00ʺ--N 57°55ʹ00ʺ).
264 1 [Berlin] : ǂb OKH/GenStdH, Chef des Kriegskarten- und Vermessungswesens, ǂc 1943-1945.
264 3 [Norway] : ǂb Verm Kart Abt 624, ǂc 1943-1944
300 maps : ǂb some color ; ǂc 77 x 86 cm or smaller
336 cartographic image ǂb cri ǂ2 rdacontent
337 unmediated ǂb n ǂ2 rdamedia
338 sheet ǂb nb ǂ2 rdacarrier
500 Relief shown by contours and spot heights.
500 Edition varies: Ausgabe Nr.1 -- Ausgabe Nr.2 -- Truppenausgabe Nr.1 -- Truppenausgabe Nr.2 -- Sonderausgabe.
500 Bildplankarte sheets are photo maps.
500 Maps are based on Norwegian and German source maps and German aerial photography.
500 Military grids: All sheets with Deutsches Heeresgitter. Some sheets overprinted in orange with Heeresmeldenetz grid.
500 "Grundmaterial: Passpunkttriangulation mit Luftbildkartiergerät auf Grund von Passpunkten und Zielpunkten der Artillerie. Luftbilder. Norwegische Karte 1:100 000"--On photomap.
500 "Ergänzungsmaterial: Norw. Amtskarte 1:200 000. Norw. Karte der Reichs- und Fylkesstr. 1:750 000. Waldkarte des südl. Norwegen 1:500 000. Mil. Geo. Unterlagen 1:100 000"--On photomap.
500 "Folien hergestellt: KrK uVermA 5. Druck: KrK uVermA 5"--At right foot of 1945 sheets.
520 German military map series produced by Armeekartenstelle (mot.) 624, a support unit of the German Armeeoberkommando Norwegen (AOK Norwegen). Some sheets are photomaps.
651 0 Norway ǂv Maps.
655 7 Remote-sensing maps. ǂ2 lcgft
655 7 Remote-sensing images. ǂ2 lcgft
655 7 Topographic maps. ǂ2 lcgft
655 7 Quadrangle maps. ǂ2 lcgft
710 1 Germany. ǂb Heer. ǂb Generalstab. ǂb Chef des Kriegskarten- und Vermessungswesens, ǂe issuing body.
856 42ǂ3 Index map ǂu https://www.lib.berkeley.edu/EART/indexes/G6940_s50_g4_index.jpg
Cataloging record for German military map series: Spanien 1:50 000
OCLC # 21752471
007 a ǂb j ǂd c ǂe a ǂf n ǂg z ǂh n
040 CUY ǂb eng ǂe rda ǂc CUY ǂd OCL ǂd OCLCQ ǂd CUY ǂd OCLCA ǂd OCLCQ ǂd OCLCA ǂd OCLCF ǂd OCLCO ǂd OCLCQ ǂd OCLCO ǂd OCL ǂd OCLCA ǂd CUY
034 1 a ǂb 50000 ǂd W0092500 ǂe E0042000 ǂf N0435000 ǂg N0360000 ǂ2 bound
041 0 ger ǂa spa ǂa fre
043 e-sp---
050 4 G6560 s50 ǂb .G4
052 6560
090 ǂb
049 CUYM
110 1 Germany. ǂb Heer. ǂb Abteilung für Kriegskarten- und Vermessungswesen, ǂe cartographer, ǂe issuing body.
245 10 Spanien 1:50 000 / ǂc hergestellt im Auftrage Gen St d H, Abt f Kr Kart u Verm W.
246 3 Deutsche Heereskarte Spanien 1:50 000
255 Scale 1:50,000. 2 cm der Karte = 1 km der Natur ǂc (W 9°25ʹ00ʺ--E 4°20ʹ00ʺ/N 43°50ʹ00ʺ--N 36°00ʹ00ʺ).
264 1 [Berlin] : ǂb Gen St d H Abt f Kr Kart u Verm W, ǂc 1940-1944.
300 maps : ǂb chiefly color ; ǂc 40 x 58 cm, on sheets 60 x 80 cm, or smaller
336 cartographic image ǂb cri ǂ2 rdacontent
337 unmediated ǂb n ǂ2 rdamedia
338 sheet ǂb nb ǂ2 rdacarrier
500 Relief shown variously by contours, shading, hachures, and spot heights. Depths shown by isolines on some sheets.
500 Includes 2 issues of many sheets. First Sonderausgabe sheets were issued 1940-1944, second Sonderausgabe sheets were chiefly issued 1941.
500 Second Sonderausgabe sheets include grid note and are overprinted with the Spanish Lambert grid.
500 Source maps: Mapa topográfico de España en escala de 1:50,000 issued by the Direccion general del Instituto Geográfico Catastral y de Estadı́stica.
500 Includes source map note, political boundary diagram, index to adjoining sheets, and extensive legend.
500 Each sheet individually titled and numbered: Blatt Nr. 12. Busto -- Blatt Nr. 87. Ochandiano.
500 Shows drainage, roads and trails, railways, vegetation, and other physical and cultural features.
546 Legend in German and Spanish; a few sheets with legend in German and French.
520 German military map series covering Spain. Most sheets were issued 1940-1941, likely because German military planners envisioned Spanish involvement in World War II during those years.
651 0 Spain ǂv Maps.
655 7 Topographic maps. ǂ2 lcgft
655 7 Quadrangle maps. ǂ2 lcgft
710 1 Germany. ǂb Heer. ǂb Abteilung für Kriegskarten- und Vermessungswesen II, ǂe cartographer.
710 2 Instituto Geográfico, Catastral y de Estadística (Spain), ǂe cartographer.
856 42ǂ3 Index map 1 ǂu https://www.lib.berkeley.edu/EART/indexes/G6560_s50_g4_index1.jpg
856 42ǂ3 Index map 2 ǂu https://www.lib.berkeley.edu/EART/indexes/G6560_s50_g4_index2.jpg
856 42ǂ3 Index map 3 ǂu https://www.lib.berkeley.edu/EART/indexes/G6560_s50_g4_index3.jpg
Cataloging record for German military map series: [Spezialkarte von Österreich, von Ungarn, und der Tschechoslowakei 1:75 000]
OCLC # 25890295
007 a ǂb j ǂd c ǂe a ǂf n ǂg z ǂh n
040 CUY ǂb eng ǂe rda ǂc CUY ǂd OCL ǂd OCLCQ ǂd OKU ǂd CUY ǂd OCLCQ ǂd OCLCA ǂd OCLCF ǂd OCLCO ǂd OCLCQ ǂd OCLCO ǂd OCL ǂd OCLCO ǂd OCLCQ ǂd OCLCA ǂd AZU ǂd CUY ǂd OCL ǂd ZCU ǂd CUY
019 551457648
034 1 a ǂb 75000 ǂd E0092000 ǂe E0244500 ǂf N0511000 ǂg N0453000 ǂ2 bound
041 0 ger ǂa cze ǂa hun
043 ec----- ǂa e-au--- ǂa e-cs--- ǂa e-hu---
050 4 G6480 s75 ǂb .G4
052 6480
052 6030
052 6490
052 6500
052 6510
052 6515
090 ǂb
049 CUYM
110 1 Germany. ǂb Heer. ǂb Abteilung für Kriegskarten- und Vermessungswesen, ǂe cartographer, ǂe issuing body.
245 10 [Spezialkarte von Österreich, von Ungarn, und der Tschechoslowakei 1:75 000] / ǂc hergestellt im Auftrage Gen St d H, Abt. f. Kr. K. u. Verm. W.
246 1 ǂi Index map title: ǂa Spezialkarte 1:75.000
246 1 ǂi Source map title: ǂa Spezialkarte von Österreich 1:75 000
246 1 ǂi Source map title: ǂa Spezialkarte der Tschechoslowakei 1:75 000
246 1 ǂi Source map title: ǂa Spezialkarte von Ungarn 1:75 000
246 3 Ungarn 1:75 000
246 3 Slowakei 1:75 000
246 3 Spezialkarte der Alpen- u. Donau-Reichsgaue
255 Scale 1:75,000. 1 1/2 cm der Karte = 1 km der Natur ǂc (E 9°20ʹ00ʺ--E 24°45ʹ00ʺ/N 51°10'00"--N 45°30'00").
264 1 [Berlin] : ǂb Gen St d H, Abt. f. Kr. K. u. Verm. W., ǂc 1935-1944.
300 maps : ǂb chiefly color ; ǂc 38 x 51 cm + ǂe 3 index maps
336 cartographic image ǂb cri ǂ2 rdacontent
337 unmediated ǂb n ǂ2 rdamedia
338 sheet ǂb nb ǂ2 rdacarrier
500 Relief shown by hachures on most sheets, by form lines and contours on some sheets.
500 Title devised by cataloger.
500 Title varies. Sheets covering Austria and northern Czechoslovakia lack titles.
500 Composite set with coordinated numbering system issued by the General Staff of the German Army, covering the territory of Austria, Czech Republic, Slovakia, and Hungary.
500 Prime meridians: Ferro and Greenwich. Some sheets with German Gauss-Krüger-Gitternetz grid.
500 Each sheet individually titled and numbered. Some sheets printed in black and white.
500 Includes administrative boundary diagram, index to adjoining sheets, and notes.
500 Sheets which cover southern Czechoslovakia and Hungary have legends in German and Czech or Hungarian. Some Czechoslovak and Austrian maps lack legends.
546 Legend in German, Czech or Hungarian.
520 German military map series published 1935-1944, conceptually based on the Austro-Hungarian Spezialkarte 1:75.000, first issued by K.u.K. Militärgeographisches Institut. Coverage is based on 1:75,000 source maps issued 1924-1939 by Kartographisches Institut, Hauptvermessungsabteilung XIV in Wien, Vojenský zeměpisný ústav, Magyar Királyi Állami Térképészet, and Topographische Zweigstelle des Bayerischen Landesvermessungsamts.
651 0 Europe, Central ǂv Maps.
651 0 Austria ǂv Maps.
651 0 Hungary ǂv Maps.
651 0 Slovakia ǂv Maps.
651 0 Czech Republic ǂv Maps.
655 7 Topographic maps. ǂ2 lcgft
655 7 Quadrangle maps. ǂ2 lcgft
710 1 Austria. ǂb Kartographisches Institut, ǂe cartographer.
710 1 Austro-Hungarian Monarchy. ǂb Militärgeographisches Institut, ǂe cartographer.
710 1 Germany. ǂb Reichsamt für Landesaufnahme. ǂb Hauptvermessungsabteilung XIV, Wien, ǂe cartographer.
710 2 Vojenský zeměpisný ústav (Prague, Czech Republic), ǂe cartographer.
710 1 Hungary. ǂb M. Kir. Állami Térképészet, ǂe cartographer.
710 2 Bayerisches Landesvermessungsamt, ǂe cartographer.
856 41ǂ3 Index map 1 ǂu https://www.lib.berkeley.edu/EART/indexes/G6480_s75_g4_index1.jpg
856 41ǂ3 Index map 2 ǂu https://www.lib.berkeley.edu/EART/indexes/G6480_s75_g4_index2.jpg
856 41ǂ3 Index map 3 ǂu https://www.lib.berkeley.edu/EART/indexes/G6480_s75_g4_index3.jpg
Additional map series records that we have created or upgraded as part of this project include:
Belgien 1:25 000.
OCLC # 28762510
Militärgeographische Einzelangaben über Frankreich / bearbeitet durch Militärbefehlshaber in Frankreich, 1a/Mil-Geo (Mil-Geo-Dienststelle Frankreich).
OCLC # 34666288
Norwegen 1:300 000 / herausgegeben vom OKH, Gen St.d.H., Chef des Kriegskarten- und Vermessungswesens.
OCLC # 28361487
Norwegen/Finnland 1:50 000 / herausgegeben vom OKH/GenStdH, Chef des Kriegskarten- und Vermessungswesens ; Folien hergestellt: A.K.St. (mot.) 464 ; Druck: A.K.St. (mot.) 464.
OCLC # 27246279
Spanien 1:400 000 / hergestellt im Auftrag Gen St d H, Abt f Kr Kart u Verm Wes (II).
OCLC # 24099388
Topogr. Karte v. Bayern 1:25 000 (4 cm-Karte) / Topograph. Zweigstelle d. Bayer. Landesvermessungsamts.
OCLC # 21749507
Übersichtskarte von Mitteleuropa 1:300 000 / bearbeitet in der Kartogr. Abteilung der Preuss. Landesaufnahme.
OCLC # 80819806
Übersichtskarte von Mitteleuropa 1:300 000 / Reichsamt für Landesaufnahme.
OCLC # 1046055696
Ungarn 1:50 000 (Eh 50) / herausgegeben vom OKH/Gen St d H, Chef des Kriegskarten- und Vermessungswesens ; Herstellung im Einvernehmen mit Höh.Offz. d. Kr.Kart.- u. Verm.Wes. Südost ; Folien, Hauptvermessungsabteilung XIV ; Druck, Hauptvermessungsabteilung XIV.
OCLC # 702939276
We are currently working on updating the existing cataloging and creating new records for map sets in this collection.
To view all of the records that we have updated thus far, you can search for the collection name in our library catalog: "German World War II captured maps collection"
We have used this opportunity to begin to identify maps and map series hiding in our collection that we suspect to be maps captured from Germany during World War II. Below is a partial inventory of these suspected (but not necessarily confirmed) maps and map sets.
