Sugar strike, Crockett. Congress of Industrial Organization pickets in front of C & H sugar refinery
Photographer: Bray, Clifton L
Date: 1938-03-18
Fang family San Francisco Examiner Photograph Archive Negative Files
BANC PIC 2006.029--NEG box 678, sleeve 096047_07
http://digicoll.lib.berkeley.edu/record/132248
Cottrell Laurence Dellums papers, 1920-1971.
Cottrell Laurence Dellums worked for the Pullman Company as a sleeping car porter. He joined the Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters and became a union organizer and an International Vice President for the organization.
Contains the organization's records, including correspondence, Executive Board meeting minutes, district administrative papers, agreements with railroad companies, convention proceedings, financial reports, porters' grievance cases and claims, membership information, publicity, and publications.
Arthur Dupuy Eggleston papers, circa 1935-1941.
Papers relating primarily to Eggleston's career as labor editor on the San Francisco Chronicle. Included are letters from union officials and others interested in the labor scene; scrapbooks containing clippings of his column; miscellaneous clippings and magazines containing articles written by him.
James Giambruno papers, circa 1916-1969.
James Giambruno built a career as a union organizer and storekeeper in El Dorado County, California. He served as Secretary and organizer for the Western Federation of Mines from 1911 to 1935 and was Vice-President of the California State Federation of Labor for twelve years.
Contains correspondence and other files relating to the Hetch-Hetchy Miners' and Tunnel Workers' Union no. 45 and their 1920-1921 strike. Also documented are the International Union of Mine, Mill, and Smelter Workers, the Tunnel and Aqueduct Workers Union, and the Amador County strike of 1916.
Emil J. Kern letters, 1909-1912.
Letters relate to Kern’s activities as socialist and labor union organizer, mainly in San Francisco and Vallejo.
Walter Macarthur papers, 1883-1944 (bulk 1913-1944)
Walter Macarthur started his sailing career at age 14, working his way up to able seaman by 1881. He ceased being an active seaman in 1891, when he became the business manager of The Coast Seaman's Journal. He assumed the editorship of that publication in 1895 and made the paper into a strong voice for seamen's rights as well as for labor rights more generally.
Collection contains printed matter and internal documents from the Sailors' Union of the Pacific and its umbrella organization, the International Union of American Seamen.
Selden Osborne papers, 1933-1988.
Selden Osborne was a long-time member of the International Longshoremen's and Warehousemen's Union.
Contains meeting minutes, newsletters, newspaper clippings, election materials, correspondence and other miscellaneous items from various labor organizations. Also included are personal writings and newspaper clippings and a scrapbook pertaining to Harry Bridges court trials.
Frank Roney Papers
Frank Roney, a foundry worker by trade, helped form and participated in many labor groups in San Francisco, including the Federated Trades Council, the Iron Trades Council, the League of Deliverance, the Iron Molders' Union, the Knights of Labor, Representative Assembly of Trades and Labor Unions of the Pacific Coast and the Workingmen's Party of California.
Contains correspondence, writings, materials relating to Roney's activities with labor organizations in San Francisco, clippings and ephemera.
Paul Scharrenberg papers, 1893-1960.
Paul Scharrenberg was a seaman and labor activist.
Correspondence and papers relating primarily to Scharrenberg's career in the labor movement and his other positions. Includes letters to and from Scharrenberg; subject files containing committee reports, memoranda, correspondence, notes, printed material, clippings, etc.; scrapbooks containing newspaper clippings, photographs, notices and programs of meetings, correspondence etc.
California Labor School miscellany, circa 1943-1956.
Founded in 1942 in San Francisco as the Tom Mooney Labor School, was sponsored by 72 trade unions. It offered courses on a wide variety of subjects including labor organization, journalism, music, drama, history, women's studies, economics and industrial arts. Consists chiefly of printed ephemera, including catalogs, fliers, newsletters. Also includes press releases and curricula.
Carpenters strikes scrapbooks: San Francisco, Calif., 1926-1929
Contains clippings from San Francisco area newspapers concerning carpenters strikes, starting with the strike in 1926 through 1929.
Collection of labor and political activism ephemera, approximately 1908-1940.
Contains a wide variety of printed ephemera related to progressive and radical political organizations concerned with worker's rights and other political issues including an I.L.G.W.U. song book and the International Labor Defense 5th annual convention proceedings report (October 8-9, 1932).
Mary E. Gallagher collection on the I.W.W. and various labor and Socialist leaders, approximately 1919-1955.
Primarily articles, clippings and photographs relating to Eugene V. Debs, Lena Morrow Lewis, Honore J. Jaxon, Workers' Defense League, Byron Kitto, Douglas Robson, and others; a collection of labor songs; I.W.W. pamphlets; issues of various labor magazines.
Stuart Marshall Jamieson collection on Labor unionism in American agriculture, 1913-1945 (bulk 1938-1941).
Includes field notes, interview transcripts, newspaper clippings, research studies, and labor publications used by Jamieson in authoring his doctoral dissertation, "Labor Unionism in American Agriculture, 1941-1943."
Edgar F. Kaiser papers, 1886-1981.
Series 3: Shipbuilding during World War II, Portland and Vancouver, 1941-1981; Series 4: Automobile manufacturing, Willow Run and Toledo, 1943-1963 and undated
The bulk of the papers were transferred to The Bancroft Library by Kaiser Aluminum and Chemical Corp. and consist primarily of corporate files from Kaiser's tenure as president and chairman of the board of Kaiser Industries Corporation. Also included are records from his earlier career as vice president and general manager of Oregon Shipbuilding Corp. and Kaiser Company, Inc., followed by those from his tenure as president of Kaiser Motors Corp. and general manager of Kaiser-Frazer Corporation's automobile plant at Willow Run, Mich. Also included are personal papers given by Kaiser's family.
Materials relating to I.L.W.U. case, Longshoremen - B List, 1963-1984.
Material relates to a suit against I.L.W.U., San Francisco and the Pacific Maritime Association over deregistration of longshoremen (San Francisco, 1963-64).
Includes background documentation, transcripts of interviews with longshoremen, and clippings. Also information on Harry Bridges, the Longshore Jobs Defense Committee, and the Pacific Maritime Association.
San Francisco waterfront strikes scrapbooks, 1934-1948.
Contains broadsides and labor union publications on various waterfront strikes in San Francisco, Calif. Unions represented include: International Seamen's Union of America; Marine Workers Industrial Union; Waterfront Employers Union; Longshoremen's Association of San Francisco; International Longshoremen's Association; Maritime Federation of the Pacific Coast.
San Francisco, Calif. labor movement collection, 1938-1941.
Contains correspondence, membership lists, minutes, resolutions, and publications and other ephemera dealing with the labor movement and unions of the late 1930's, in San Francisco, Calif. Most documents are from the Federation of Architects, Engineers, Chemists & Technicians union.
Paul Schuster Taylor papers, 1660-1997 (bulk 1895-1984).
Paul Schuster Taylor was a progressive agricultural economist. The bulk of the collection concerns Taylor's research in the field of agriculture, and includes segments on Mexicans in the United States., migrant workers, the farm worker strikes of the 1930s and 1960s.
[Scrapbooks of newspaper clippings relating to San Francisco and California labor from 1934-Mar. 1938; covering the maritime strikes and other Pacific Coast and California labor disputes; also agricultural labor in California, July 1936-Jan.1937.]
Scrapbooks cover the following: Maritime strikes - 1934, 1936-37; Maritime industry and other California and Pacific Coast labor disputes includes Communism in Unions and ILS elections; Maritime and ferry-boat labor news, Pacific Coast (Misc.), 1938; and Agricultural labor in Calif., 1936- 1937.
West Coast maritime strike publicity scrapbook, 1948.
Contains pamphlets, broadsides, press releases and bulletins relating to the West Coast Maritime Strike of 1948. Bulletins include those of the Joint Action Committee of the Port of San Francisco, Joint Maritime Strike Committee, Portland Area and the International Longshoremen's and Warehousemen's Union, Local 13 San Pedro, Calif.