Here is a comprehensive list of library databases of primary sources. Below are selections that seemed most relevant for this class, but you should search or browse for more.
Selected Online Primary Source Archives for LING 155AC
Contains a large variety of collections from the U.S. National Archives, a series of collections from the Chicago History Museum, as well as selected first-hand accounts on Indian Wars and westward migration. [1809-1971]
Also features a number of excellent collections on American Indians in the 19th Century, with a focus on the interaction among white settlers, the U.S. federal government, and Indian tribes.
"Includes approximately 4,000 databases including the U.S. Federal Census images & indexes from 1790 to 1940; historical maps; vital statistic records, military records, immigration records, Federal Slave Narratives, and much more."
Ancestry Library Edition provides almost all of the document reproductions and functionality available in the personal-subscription Ancestry.com product. However, some Ancestry.com materials are absent from Ancestry Library Edition, including e-books from the Families and Local Histories Collection, city directories, and historical newspapers.
Includes newsletters, organizational papers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, personal correspondence and more related to LGBTQ communities around the world. Topics include the gay rights, lesbian activism, the HIV/AIDS crisis, and more (Formerly titled Archives of Human Sexuality and Identity) [1940-present].
Border and Migration Studies Online is a collection that explores and provides historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; and others.
Featuring at completion 100,000 pages of text, 175 hours of video, and 1,000 images, the collection is organized around fundamental themes associated with border and migration issues.
Catalog and archive of the indigenous languages of California, western North America, and the Americas.
The archive includes thousands of audio clips in 90 languages collected in field recordings dating back to 1949. In addition to digital audio files, the archive contains scanned manuscript pages from the Department of Linguistics' Survey of California and Other Indian Languages research center. With a special focus on California, the archive also includes native languages from Alaska to South America and from the Pacific Ocean to the Atlantic. CLA is a collaboration between the Survey of California and Other Indian Languages and the Berkeley Language Center (BLC), both archives at UC Berkeley.
Digitized images including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts that reveal the diverse history and culture of California and its role in national and world history.
Gateway to digitized images from the libraries and museums of the University of California campuses, cultural heritage organizations in California, and UC-created websites and collections.
Incorporating 19 document types including illustrations, diaries, memoirs, and official papers, the database provides varying perspectives from politicians and diplomats to missionaries and tourists, documenting key events during the period.
The collection provides a wide variety of original source material detailing China's interaction with the West from Macartney's first Embassy to China in 1793, through to the Nixon/Heath visits to China in 1972-74. It is based on substantial collections of unique manuscript materials held at the library of the School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS) and the British Library, with additional sources from other major universities.
Online collection of newspapers, videos, texts and images that document the rise of a social movement around Disability. Includes material in many formats and from a wide range of disciplines.
A database of language endangerment levels with references to collections and recordings of oral literature that exist in archives around the world.
A free online portal from the World Oral Literature Project at the University of Cambridge. Using data on language endangerment drawn from three authoritative sources (Ethnologue, the UNESCO Atlas of the World's Languages in Danger, and the work of conservation biologist William Sutherland ), the database provides access to collections and recordings of oral literature that exist in archives around the world. (Oral literature "may include ritual texts, curative chants, epic poems, musical genres, folk tales, creation tales, songs, myths, spells, legends, proverbs, riddles, tongue-twisters, word games, recitations, life histories or historical narratives").
Includes thousands of audio field recordings and interviews, educational recordings, film footage, field notebooks, slides, correspondence and ephemera from over 60 fields of study.
Produced in collaboration with the UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive.
First-hand accounts from journals and diaries document the foundation of the East India Company and the independence of India.
The resource consists of the manuscript collections of the National Library of Scotland relating to South Asian history between 1615 and 1947 and cover material on India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, Malaysia, and Singapore. Types of resources include diaries, journals, private as well as official papers, letters, sketches, paintings, and other original documents related to Indian history and literature. Sources include the East India Company, government documents, and papers of British military officers and civil servants in India.
A rich variety of original manuscript collections from the American Jewish Historical Society in New York. [1654-1954]
The material is based on a rich variety of original manuscript collections from the unique holdings of the American Jewish Historical Society in New York. It provides access to twenty-four collections of personal papers and six major organizational collections, including: Papers of the Industrial Removal Office (1899-1922), Papers of the Jewish Immigration Information Bureau (1901-1920), Records relating to the American Jewish Historical Exhibition (1901-1902), Papers relating to the American Jewish Tercentenary in 1954 (1949-1956), Records of the Baron de Hirsch Fund (1819-1991), and Records of the Board Delegates of American Israelites (1859-1881).
Includes the NAACP's papers from the Scottsboro case, its anti-lynching investigative and legislative files, and records documenting discrimination in the criminal justice system.
The focus of this module is on the efforts of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) to combat lynching, mob violence, discrimination in the criminal justice system, and white resistance to civil rights efforts. A particularly rich set of records in this module is the NAACP file on one of the most celebrated criminal trials of the 20th century--the case of the Scottsboro Boys. These files are supplemented by materials on segregation and discrimination complaints regarding public accommodations and recreational facilities sent to and investigated by the NAACP, and records on discrimination in employment.
Brings together the riches of America's libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.
It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America's heritage, to the efforts and data of science. DPLA aims to expand this crucial realm of openly available materials, and make those riches more easily discovered and more widely usable and used.
Access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California including the 10 UC campuses.
A searchable and browseable resource that brings together historical materials from a variety of California institutions, including museums, historical societies, and archives. Contains over 120,000 images; 50,000 pages of documents, letters, and oral histories; and 8,000 guides to collections. Images are organized into thematic and institutional collections, such as historical topics, nature, places, and technology.
A collection of original archival material from libraries in Britain and America covering issues such as youth culture, student protest movements, civil rights, women's rights, the Vietnam War, and nuclear disarmament. [1950 -1975]
A collection of original archival material from libraries in Britain and America covering issues such as youth culture, student protest movements, civil rights, women's rights, the Vietnam War, nuclear disarmament and popular culture in Britain and America from 1950 to 1975.
Digitized archive of primary documents of key events, trends, and movements in 1960s America. Includes letters, diaries, oral histories, posters, broadsides, pamphlets, advertisements, and rare audio and video materials. [1960 - 1974]
Documents the key events, trends, and movements in 1960s America. Includes 70,000 pages of letters, diaries, and oral histories; more than 30,000 pages of posters, broadsides, pamphlets, advertisements, and rare audio and video materials. Enhanced by dozens of scholarly document projects, featuring annotated primary-source content that is analyzed and contextualized through interpretive essays by historians.
Individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and hours of special news-related programming.
Holding more than 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989. These special reports and periodic news broadcasts cover presidential press conferences and political campaign coverage, and national and international events.
Collects and analyzes documents, images and other primary resources on the history of women and social movements in the United States. Also includes links to other websites and a dictionary of social movements and organizations.
Contains 110 document projects and archives with almost 4,200 documents, more than 1,000 images, with more than 2,200 primary authors. Collects and analyzes documents and almost images on the history of women and social movements in the United States between 1600 and 2000. Also includes links to other websites and a dictionary of social movements and organizations.
Archive of women's interest magazines including Good Housekeeping, Ladies' Home Journal, Parents, Seventeen and Essence. Topics include family life, fashion, and fitness. Date coverage varies but in some cases goes back to the 19th century. [19th - 21st century (varies)]
A newspaper digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for significant newspapers dating back to the 18th Century. Every issue of each title includes the complete paper-cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images. (New York Times - San Francisco Chronicle - Wall Street Journal - Washington Post - Chicago Defender - Chicago Tribune - Los Angeles Times) [1849 - 2003]
A newspaper digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for significant US newspapers. Our subscription includes access to Chicago Defender (1910-1975); Chicago Tribune (1849-1990); Los Angeles Times (1881-1990); The New York Times (1851-2010) with Index (1851-1993); San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922); The Wall Street Journal (1889-1996); and The Washington Post (1877-1997).
African American Historical Newspapers provides researchers with unprecedented access to perspectives and information that was excluded or marginalized in mainstream sources. Use this link to search across a range of newspapers significant to African American history.
Access includes: Atlanta Daily World (1931 - 2003), The Baltimore Afro-American (1893 - 1988), Chicago Defender (1909 - 1975), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934 - 2005), New York Amsterdam News (1922 - 1993), Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916 - 2003), Pittsburgh Courier (1911 - 2002) .
This collection represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. [1808-1980]
South China Morning Post, The Times of India, The Irish Times and The Weekly Irish Times (1859 - 2016), The Jerusalem Post (1932 - 2008), The Korea Times (1956 - 2016), The Guardian and The Observer (1791 - 2003), The Scotsman (1817 - 1950), Chinese Newspaper Collection (1832 - 1953)
Searchable full text database of 25 newspapers written and produced by Japanese Americans interned during World War II.
"Although subject to censorship the newspapers document the day to day life of the internees. Titles includes: Rohwer Outpost, Poston Chronicle, Gila News Courier, Tulean Dispatch, Granada Pioneer, Minndoka Irrigator, Topaz Times, Manzanar Free Press, Denson Tribune, and Heart Mountain Sentinel. (1942-1945)"
Rafu Shimpo began in 1903 and is the longest running Japanese American newspaper in the U. S. During WWII, it was suspended from 1942-1945, and was revived in 1946. The digital archive contains all obtainable issues from 1914 through 2018.
The Arizona Republican (1890 - 2007), The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984), The Austin American Statesman (1871 - 1978), The Baltimore Sun (1837 - 1992), The Boston Globe (1872-1986), The Christian Science Monitor (1908 - 2004), The Cincinnati Enquirer (1841 - 2009), Dayton Daily News (1898 - 1922), Detroit Free Press (1831 - 1999), Hartford Courant (1764 - 1992), Indianapolis Star (1903 - 2004), Louisville Courier Journal, Minneapolis Star Tribune (1867 - 2001), The Nashville Tennessean (1812 - 2002), Newsday (1940 - 1989), New York Tribune / Herald Tribune (1841 - 1962), The Philadelphia Inquirer (1860 - 2001), Pittsburgh Post-Gazete (1786 - 2003), St. Louis Post Dispatch (1874 - 2003)
Contains historical newspapers throughout the Western United States. Note: The contents in this database are being added through 2021.
Titles include: The Desert Sun (Palm Springs, CA) [1934-2011], Reno Gazette-Journal (Reno, NV) [1876-2008], The Salinas Californian (Salinas, CA) [2001-2012], San Francisco Examiner (San Francisco, CA) [1865-2007], The Spectrum (St. George, UT) [1973-2011], Spokesman-Review (Spokane, WA) [1881-2009], Statesman Journal (Salem, OR) [1869-2008], Tulare Advance-Register (Visalia, CA) [2001-2007], Visalia Times-Delta (Visalia, CA) [2001-2014].
Search across all Proquest History Vault collections here. ProQuest History Vault unlocks a wealth of key archival materials with a single search. Researchers can access digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and many more primary source materials taken from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collections.
