Library Guides: Venture Capital/Private Equity: Home

Firms/Funds/Deals

Preqin This link opens in a new window
Private equity/venture capital/hedge fund data..Overview of industry, news, funds, managers, portfolio companies. Find investors, buyers, funders.
Campus access courtesy of the Haas School of Business
PitchBook This link opens in a new window
Private equity and venture capital transactions. Screen for investments, firms, funds, portfolio companies, and individual investors.
Note:Available to currently enrolled UCB students, faculty, and staff. Select "Log in with SSO" and use your @berkeley.edu address for access.
Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
Note: Available to currently enrolled UCB students, faculty, and staff.
Select Screening->Transactions. Under General Transaction Details, select Primary Features->Private Placement type for VC/PE transactions. For buyers/investors, select Targeting Engine--> buyers/investors
Replaces UC Berkeley's NetAdvantage subscription. If this link takes you to NetAdvantage instead of a login page for S&P, try restarting your browser, clearing your cache, or opening in an incognito browser.
S&P Capital IQ Pro This link opens in a new window
Available to currently enrolled UCB students, faculty, and staff.
Berkeley subscribes to the Energy and Real Estate verticals, which provide financial information and research on companies' individual projects and investments. Formerly known as SNL and S&P Market Intelligence. A guide to Real Estate screening can be found at https://guides.lib.berkeley.edu/c.php?g=1189557
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Latest news. "Private Equity" and "Venture Capital" are industry headings in Factiva. "Private Fundraising" is a subject heading. Use subject heading "Press Release" to restrict search to companies' new fundraising announcements.
Includes the exclusive combination of The Wall Street Journal (1979-present), the Financial Times, Dow Jones and Reuters newswires and the Associated Press, as well as Reuters Fundamentals, and Bureau van Dijk company profiles.

Crunchbase : crowdsourced venture capital database has some freely available data.
SeedDB : list of accelerators/incubators

Overviews/Statistics

Statista This link opens in a new window
A statistics portal that integrates data from reliable sources on thousands of topics
Categorized into market sectors, Statista provides access to quantitative facts on media, business, politics, and other areas. Sources of information include market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government sources. Data may be downloaded into spreadsheets and presentations. Also includes industry reports.

Venture Capital Monitor - US VC industry analyses with data from Pitchbook.
Country Attractiveness Index for VC/PE – published ranking of countries by IESE Business School.

News/Blogs

Wall Street Journal has in-depth coverage of investment banking, trends in raising capital, and stories of private equity and venture capital.

DealBook: Private Equity and Venture Capital
New York Times blog about finance. Look here for real-time news about private equity and venture capital.

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Latest news. "Private Equity" and "Venture Capital" are industry headings in Factiva. "Private Fundraising" is a subject heading. Use subject heading "Press Release" to restrict search to companies' new fundraising announcements.
Includes the exclusive combination of The Wall Street Journal (1979-present), the Financial Times, Dow Jones and Reuters newswires and the Associated Press, as well as Reuters Fundamentals, and Bureau van Dijk company profiles.
Financial Times This link opens in a new window
UC Berkeley students, faculty and staff are eligible for free subscriptions to FT.com courtesy of the Haas School of Business. Enter your berkeley.edu email address at the sign-in page, then choose "SSO Sign-in".
London-based financial newspaper with global coverage of news about companies, markets, tech.
Haas School funded. Log in is via SSO, then we must sign up for FT.com accounts.

Some major consulting and strategy firms' reports on VC/PE/hedge funds:

PWC Private Equity Insights
PE trends. Deals. Overviews.
McKinsey PE/principal investor research articles
Bain & Company
Private equity overview articles
Ernst & Young Private Equity reports

Books and Journals

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
"Private Equity" and "Venture Capital" are subject headings in Business Source Complete. Restrict search to Academic Journals. "Venture Capital" And "Journal of Private Equity" are both indexed in Business Source Complete.
Indexing, abstracts, and (in many cases) the full text of articles for the most important scholarly business journals as well as popular and trade magazines and newsletters.

Search the library catalog for subjects: Private Equity, Venture Capital, Hedge Funds, Valuation, Strategic Alliances (Business), etc. For cases, search for subject: Venture Capital Case studies

Alternative Assets: A Primer for Investment Professionals
By Chartered Financial Anlalysts' Research Foundation. Published 2018.
Investor.gov
Consumer guide to investment products from Securities and Exchange Commission.
Look under Private Investment Funds (in left column) for Private Equity and Hedge Funds.

Subject Guide

Hilary Schiraldi

Email Me

Contact:

Business Library
S350 Haas School of Business

Secondary menu

Venture Capital/Private Equity: Home

Firms/Funds/Deals

Overviews/Statistics

News/Blogs

Books and Journals

Subject Guide