Library Guides: Library Licensed Datasets Catalog: Dataset Focused Databases

-A-

The Arabidopsis Information Resource (TAIR) This link opens in a new window
Genetic and molecular biology data for the model higher plant Arabidopsis thaliana.
The Arabidopsis Information Resource (TAIR) is a database of genetic and molecular biology data for the model higher plant Arabidopsis thaliana. Data available from TAIR includes the complete genome sequence along with gene structure, gene product information, gene expression, DNA and seed stocks, genome maps, genetic and physical markers, publications, and information about the Arabidopsis research community.
ArcGIS Online This link opens in a new window
User-friendly, powerful cloud-based mapping software for creating web maps and performing analysis. Includes access to ArcGIS Living Atlas of the World and premium content, including demographic, environmental, and imagery data.
ArcGIS Online enables users to build interactive maps, create web-based apps, and perform spatial analysis in browser-based software. UC Berkeley users have access to a wide range of content including imagery, basemaps, demographics and lifestyle, landscape, boundaries and places, transportation, earth observations, urban systems, oceans, and historical maps that can be combined with users' own data to create maps, scenes, and apps and perform analysis. ArcGIS Online also includes tools for geocoding, geoenrichment, network analysis, and spatial analysis. UC Berkeley affiliates may log in with their Calnet credentials for full access at https://cal.maps.arcgis.com
Jstor Images (formerly ARTstor) This link opens in a new window
A repository of more than 1 million high resolution art, architecture, and design images with associated catalog data.
A repository of more than 1 million digital images and associated catalog data. The collection is designed to be used by students and faculty for teaching and research in art history, as well as many other disciplines. Includes several collections such as: The Mellon International Dunhuang Archive; Native American Art and Culture from the Smithsonian; the Hartill Archive of Architecture and Allied Arts, etc. Short instructional videos are available online. See: Intro to the new ARTstor, Downloading images to PowerPoint, Batch download tool, and Making an image group.
ASM Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Provides data and background information on materials properties, processes, performance, and selection. Covers metals as well as engineered materials such as composites, ceramics, and plastics.

-B-

BioCyc This link opens in a new window
Genomes and predicted metabolic pathways for thousands of organisms, together with a suite of software tools for analysis and visualization. Login to a free personal account is required after 10 searches.
Pathway/Genome Databases (PGDBs) are generated by software that predict the metabolic pathways of completely sequenced organisms, predict which genes code for missing enzymes in metabolic pathways, and predict operons. BioCyc also integrates information from other bioinformatics databases, such as protein feature and Gene Ontology information from UniProt. The BioCyc website provides a suite of software tools for database searching and visualization, for omics data analysis, and for comparative genomics and comparative pathway questions.
Birds of the World This link opens in a new window
A reference guide to bird species breeding around the world. Includes life histories, photos, videos, audio files, data tables and distribution maps. (BNA Online) (Formerly titled Birds of North America)
"Birds of the World is a powerful resource that brings deep, scholarly content from four celebrated works of ornithology into a single platform where biologists and birders can find comprehensive life history information on birds."
Brain Mapping: An Encyclopedic Reference This link opens in a new window
A collection of in-depth articles covering neuroimaging methods, brain anatomy and physiology, cognitive neuroscience, and clinical applications.
Data sets and fully annotated color images are included.
BuildingGreen.com This link opens in a new window
A suite of information resources on sustainable design. Includes news, policy, data on products and materials, and case studies related to green building. (Building Green)
A suite of information resources on sustainable design. Includes news, policy, data on products and materials all related to green building.

-C-

Cambridge Structural Database System (CSDS) This link opens in a new window
A repository for small small-molecule organic and metal-organic crystal structures containing the results of x-ray and neutron diffraction analyses
The Cambridge Structural Database (CSD) System comprises the database itself, and accompanying software for database creation (PreQuest), search and information retrieval (ConQuest), structure visualisation (Mercury), statistical analysis (VISTA) and the knowledge bases IsoStar and Mogul.. The database contains published crystallographic data on organic, organometallic, and metal complex structures
CEIC Global Database This link opens in a new window
Macroeconomic, industrial, and financial data for countries world wide. Click Guest Access for immediate access. Registration is free for UC Berkeley students staff and faculty and offers enhanced features.
Provides detailed macroeconomic data with more than one million time series for 121 countries, including National Accounts, Balance of Payments, Production, Sales,& Inventory, Banking, Construction, Interest and Foreign Exchange Rates, Government Finance, Investment, Demographics and Labor Markets, Economic & Household Surveys, Tourism, Inflation, Transport and Telecommunication, and Domestic & International Trade. Sources include International Organizations and National Statistics Offices.
China Data Online This link opens in a new window
Economic statistics of China, arranged by regions and categories. Includes monthly and yearly reports on China's macroeconomic development, statistical databases about China's population and economy at the county and city level, and financial indicators of industrial branches. (All China Data Center)
Also includes statistical yearbooks, census data, industrial and marketing surveys, and an atlas of China. Includes link to China Data Center at the University of Michigan.
China Digital Library 中华数字书苑 This link opens in a new window
A large collection of reference books, newspapers, images and statistical data, covering various subjects in Chinese studies.
China Geo-Explorer II This link opens in a new window
Demographic and business data, maps and reports for Mainland China at various administrative levels, and access to efficient data integration for spatial and non-spatial data (custom radii, administrative units, spatial boundaries).
China Geo-Explorer II provides access to demographic and business data, maps and reports for Mainland China at various administrative levels, and access to efficient data integration for spatial and non-spatial data (custom radii, administrative units, spatial boundaries). It is a tool for quick and accurate location analysis and spatial assessment, and a tool for identifying spatial patterns and trends. The database can generate easy-to-use and customized reports, dynamic charts, tables and maps. Data can be exported to PDF, Excel, Word, or Shape files.
Chinese New Local Gazetteers 中国新方志库 This link opens in a new window
More than 62,000 volumes of Chinese gazetteer books, covering 31 provinces and autonomous regions, and providing historical records of provinces, prefectures, cities, and smaller district administration units. [1949 - ]
The collection covers historical as well as contemporary facts related to the geographical areas, economy, public finance, governance, public security, urban and rural development, agriculture, industry, transportation, business, natural science, social science, education, culture and sports, public health, etc.
Chinese Studies Online (CSO) from Wanfang This link opens in a new window
Full-text Chinese journal articles, conference papers, dissertations, legislation and law from the PRC, in a wide range of subject areas and dating from 1997 to the present. (Wanfang Data)
Includes five databases:

China Online Journals (COJ);

Dissertations of China (DOC);

Academic Conferences in China;

Chinese Companies and Products;

Policies and Laws of China (PLOC). (In Chinese.)
CINDAS Aerospace and High Performance Alloys Database (AHAD) This link opens in a new window
Contains data curves on alloys used in the aerospace and other industries, with some of the same interactive features as the TPMD and MPMD. Updated annually. The AHAD merged the HPAD and ASMD into a powerful combined database with alloys of importance in all industries requiring high-performance alloy data.
Contains approximately 80,000 data curves on over 220 alloys used in the aerospace and other industries. It has some of the same interactive features as the TPMD and MPMD. It is updated annually with carefully selected new alloys.
CINDAS Cryogenic and Low Temperature Database (CLTD) This link opens in a new window
Contains material characteristics in the cryogenic and low temperature ranges. It consists of thermophysical, mechanical, electrical, and other properties of over 2000 materials in the temperature ranges from 0 K to 273 K.
Initial data is from both NIST data resources as well as CINDAS data. Searchable by material name or property name.
CINDAS Damage Tolerant Design Handbook (DTDH) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive compilation of fracture and crack growth data for high strength alloys. Each alloy section contains a data summary, fracture toughness data, and crack growth resistance data.
Comprehensive compilation of fracture and crack growth data for high strength alloys. Each alloy section contains a data summary, fracture toughness data, and crack growth resistance data. The five-volume, 3600 page set was compiled by the Materials Directorate of Wright Patterson Air Force Base. It is available in PDF format.
CINDAS Microelectronics and Composite Materials Database (MCMD) This link opens in a new window
Contains data on thermal, mechanical, electrical and physical properties of electronics packaging materials, including over 750 materials and over 15,000 data curves. Dynamic graphing capabilities allow users to compare the same property of multiple materials, change scale ranges, and export data.
Contains data on thermal, mechanical, electrical and physical properties of electronics packaging materials, including over 750 materials and over 15,000 data curves. Dynamic graphing capabilities allow users to compare the same property of multiple materials, change scale ranges, and export data.
CINDAS Structural Alloys Handbook (SAH) This link opens in a new window
Characterization data for the more common metals and alloys important to construction, machine tool, heavy equipment, automotive, and general manufacturing industries.
Handbook that originated to assist designers in the metals and alloys selection process, draws on a database of well-defined test results and metals properties information. It includes representative, detailed characterization data for the more common metals and alloys important to construction, machine tool, heavy equipment, automotive, and general manufacturing industries. The SAH covers wrought steel, cast iron, wrought stainless steel, cast steel, wrought and cast aluminum, copper brass, bronze, magnesium, and titanium. This handbook consists of three volumes, 2,500 pages. It is available in PDF format.
CINDAS Thermophysical Properties of Matter Database (TPMD) This link opens in a new window
Contains thermophysical properties of over 5,000 materials with approximately 50,000 data curves. Searchable by material name, by property, or by string (partial name). Dynamic graphing capabilities allow users to compare the same property of multiple materials, change scale ranges, and export data.
Searchable by material name, by property, or by string (partial name).
Combined Chemical Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Find descriptive and numerical data and literature references on the chemical, physical and biological properties of compounds
Describes over 456,000 chemical substances.
Comprehensive Chemometrics 2e: Chemical and Biochemical Data Analysis This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive Chemometrics, Second Edition features updates in the fields of multidimensional and megavariate data analysis, omics data analysis, big chemical and biochemical data analysis, data fusion and sparse methods.
Comprehensive Foodomics This link opens in a new window
Collection of over 150 articles relating to food quality and safety and their links to human health and nutrition.
Topics include: transcriptomics, proteomics, metabolomics, genomics, green foodomics, epigenetics and noncoding RNA, food safety, food bioactivity and health, food quality and traceability, data treatment and systems biology.
Cost of Living Index This link opens in a new window
Cost-of-living data at the MSA, county, and city level. Updated quarterly.
"Published since 1968, the Cost of Living Index, published by the Council for Community and Economic Research (C2ER), has been the most consistent source of city-to-city cost comparisons available. Published quarterly, using over 60 goods and services collected at the local level from over 300 independent researchers, COLI is the only local level cost of living index available for the US. Items on which the Index is based have been carefully chosen to reflect the different categories of consumer expenditures. "
CQ California Political Almanac This link opens in a new window
Profiles and analysis of California's political leaders. Biographies, voting records, and district descriptions for members of the Assembly, Senate, and Congress, as well as constitutional officers. Also includes state budget information, district maps, and election data.
Profiles of state legislators (Senate and Assembly), constitutional officers, state Supreme Court and appellate court justices, and representatives to the U.S. Congress. Overviews and essays on major players and events influencing the state's branches of government, including lobbyists and the media. Also includes: information on the state budget; maps of assembly, Board of Equalization, and Congressional and Senate districts; tables of state data, including gubernatorial elections, economics, and the history office holders. Part of the CQ Electronic Library collection. (California Political Almanac)
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window
Find critically evaluated data in chemistry and physics
84th edition which includes the revised Physical Constants of Organic Compounds table, new data on chemical carcinogens, an expanded Critical constants table, and more.
Cross National Time Series Data Archive This link opens in a new window
A single longitudinal nation-level data series spanning 200 years and over 200 countries covering a variety of demographic, social, political, and economic topics. This is a licensed resource that may only be used at UC Berkeley. [1815-2015]
In addition to a wide range of broad social, economic, and political data, the archive contains a variety of hard-to-find indicators. Examples include measures of domestic conflict events such as assassinations, general strikes, guerrilla warfare, purges, revolutions, and anti-government demonstrations as well as a legislative process and political indicators such as legislative effectiveness, party legitimacy, constitutional changes and numbers of coups d'etat.

-D-

Sage Data This link opens in a new window
Provides easy access to a wide variety of economic, social, political, and marketing indicators. (DataPlanet - Data-Planet - Statistical Datasets)
Offers easy access to over 5,550 data sets from over 65 source providers and 16 subject categories, including banking, criminal justice, education,energy, food and agriculture, government, health, housing and construction,industry and commerce, labor and employment, natural resources and environment, income, cost of living, stocks, transportation, and more. Sources of data include federal, local, state and international governments and organizations. Allows for customization of the data by selecting subjects, and the ability to view your data in side-by-side tables, charts and maps.
Digital Scholar Lab (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Build textual content sets from Gale primary source collections for data visualization and text data mining. Users will need to click Sign In and login with their @berkeley.edu account
Primary source collections include: American Fiction
17th and 18th Century Burney Collection, American Civil Liberties Union Papers, 1912-1990, American Fiction, Archives Unbound, Archives of Sexuality & Gender, British Library Newspapers, The Economist Historical Archive, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Indigenous Peoples: North America, The Making of Modern Law, The Making of the Modern World, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers, Sabin Americana, 1500-1926, The Times Digital Archive, The Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, U.S. Declassified Documents Online
Enverus This link opens in a new window
Data on U.S. oil drilling, including current and historical data on oil well construction, production, leases, permits, etc. Password Required. Inquire at the Earth Sciences Library or DLab for login details.

-E-

e-EROS This link opens in a new window
Find information on reagents and catalysts for organic syntheses. (Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis)
Highlights the various uses, characteristics, physical data, solubility, forms, purification, and preparative methods of around 58,000 reactions and 3,800 reagents.
eMarketer
This resource will be cancelled on 6/14/24. Market research reports and data on insights and trends related to digital marketing/advertising, mobile, retail & ecommerce, social media, and more.
Provides professional-level market research on the e-commerce, online media, and internet marketing industries.
Encyclopedia of Bioinformatics and Computational Biology This link opens in a new window
Theory, background, and methods for the computational analysis of biological data.
Includes coverage of Systems Biology, phylogeny, translational bioinformatics, cheminformatics, and environmental informatics.
Enhanced Electronic Grammars This link opens in a new window
Enhanced Electronic Grammars (EEG) features comprehensive descriptions of languages from around the world.
Enhanced Electronic Grammars (EEG) features comprehensive descriptions of languages from around the world. Through this unique online resource, full grammars are made available together in an interlinked and semantically-annotated format, allowing granular access to the grammatical data and enabling cross-language research of several grammars at the same time. In addition to cross-linguistic queries, each grammar can also be read and researched individually.
EPS China Data This link opens in a new window
EPS China Statistics presents the most comprehensive collection of data on China. It provides yearly, quarterly and monthly data for indicators covering national, county and city statistics. [1949-present]
It is a one-stop service platform for data retrieval, processing, analysis and forecasting, visualization display and data export. The database is in both English and Chinese version.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Topics covered include all levels of education and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. [1966 - present]
Indexes books, journals, reports, proceedings, statistical data, tests, dissertations, audiovisual materials, and ERIC documents on education research and practice.
Euromonitor Passport This link opens in a new window
International market intelligence on industries, countries, and consumers.
Note: Current UCB students, staff and faculty have access to Euromonitor.
Two dozen consumer products and services, including food and beverage, beauty and personal care, consumer appliances and electronics, pet care, toys and games, luxury goods, consumer finance, travel and tourism, and more.

-F-

FAOSTAT This link opens in a new window
Time-series and cross sectional data relating to food and agriculture for most countries in the world
Provides international time series data on food production, agricultural trade, forest products, and fisheries from the FAO.
FIAF: International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Index offering in-depth coverage of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals from 1972 to the present day. [1972 - present]
Indexes scholarly and popular journals, books, book reviews, and proceedings worldwide on a wide range of topics within the fields of film and television studies. Includes complete data from all volumes of the Index to Film Periodicals, Treasures from Film Archives, Documentation Collections, and FIAF Affiliates' Publications.

-G-

GeoData@UC Berkeley This link opens in a new window
Geospatial data in both vector and raster formats including GIS data and scanned maps.
GeoData@UC Berkeley is the library's geoportal. It allows users to search for and download geospatial data collected by the UC Berkeley Library and partner institutions for a wide range of topics including transportation, land use, boundaries, demographics, agriculture, natural resources, and more. The geoportal includes vector and raster GIS data and scanned maps. Users can search both geographically and using a text-based search. Some data is restricted to UC Berkeley access only.
Global Financial Data (GFD) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive economic and financial time-series database covering 150 countries and 6,500 different data series.
Contains long runs of historical data (over 6,000 series) on security markets and macroeconomic trends for over 150 countries. Includes Long-term Financial, Interest Rate, United States Daily Stock Market, Global Stock Market, Total Return, Annual Data, and Dow Jones Industrial Average Intraday. Includes online encyclopedias that describe each database.
GuideStar Pro This link opens in a new window
Freely available to search. Free indivdual account required to download data; account creation restricted to campus IP addresses. Get profiles, data and general information on Nonprofit organizations. [1960s to present]
Includes information on 1.8 IRS-recognized tax-exempt organization and thousands of faith-based non-profits. Data provided by 990 forms, other IRS sources and data provided by the nonprofits themselves.

-H-

Historical Annual Reports This link opens in a new window
Companies' annual reports (1844-current) available through searchable PDF images.
Includes over 800 companies' annual reports available as searchable pdf images. Includes financial data, Fortune 500 ranking, industry classification, key people, geographic location, and more.
Historical Statistics of the United States (HSUS): Millennial Edition This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive statistics and quantitative facts on US history. (Statistical Abstract of the United States)
Coverage includes population, work and welfare, economics structure and economic sectors, and governance and international relations. Date coverage varies by subject with some data going back to 1790. Allows users to download tables in Excel or CSV; also download entire groups of tables as a zip file; create custom tables; merge columns from multiple tables to create custom tables, which can also be downloaded, printed, or graphed.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes thousands of journals, books and other published sources from around the world, with full text of many journals. (International Humanities Index - American Humanities Index) [1927 - present]
Includes all data from Humanities International Index. Subjects covered include archaeology, literature, religion, art, dance, theater, folklore, history, African-American studies, law, women's studies, and more.

-I-

i3 Connect
Access to this resource will be discontinued effective 4/30/24 due to library budget cuts. Please use Pitchbook as an alternative resource. Insights into cleantech companies, investors, and markets.
The i3 platform provides profiles of Cleantech companies, VC investment and M&A data, and research on the Cleantech industry.
IBISWorld Industry Market Research This link opens in a new window
Industry research reports and profiles for hundreds of United States industries.
Also includes reports on global industries as well as industries in China. Data include market size, market share, major players, and industry trend analysis.
IMF eLibrary This link opens in a new window
Full text of reports, books, and journals from the International Monetary Fund (IMF). (International Monetary Fund eLibrary) [1975 - ]
Provides access to the IMF periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and statistical publications. Includes information about macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, and poverty reduction
Indiastat This link opens in a new window
Statistical data from Indian government and private sources
Statistical data from Indian government and private sources: finance, agriculture, health, housing, transportation, and many other areas. Data is derived from documents, reports and policies from the states and national government of India. Information is classified into 30 major sections and includes census data.

Note: Click login at the top of the page and then select "Through IP Login" to access. Please click logout when finished.
Inorganic Crystal Structure Database This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database on fully determined inorganic crystal structures with structural and bibliographic data. (ICSD-for-WWW)
Searchable database of more than 93,000 inorganic structures, including pure elements, minerals, metals, and intermetallic compounds. Search by fields such as element(s), citation information (author/journal/title/years), chemical/mineral name, crystal system, space group, minimum distance, cell size/mass, and Pearson Symbol.
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new window
ICPSR receives, processes, and distributes data on social phenomena in countries across the world. ICPSR maintains a data archive of on topics in the social and behavioral sciences, including specialized collections in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. Includes survey data, census records, election returns, economic data, and legislative records.
Direct download access to data sets requires the creation of a personal account. In addition, analysis of ICPSR data sets requires the use of specialized software. For more information on this process, please consult the ICPSR Get Help page or schedule an appointment with the Library Data Lab.
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Online bibliography of materials indexed by the Theatre Research Data Center.
Contains the full text of journals, monographs and reference books. Includes indexing of academic journals, magazines, newspapers, dissertations, and monographs from over 125 countries. (International Bibliography of Theatre)
International Tables for Crystallography This link opens in a new window
Find articles and numerous tables of data on crystallographic methods in all sciences concerned with the structure and properties of materials.
Contains articles and tables of data relevant to crystallographic research and to applications of crystallographic methods in all sciences concerned with the structure and properties of materials. Emphasis is given to symmetry, diffraction methods and techniques of crystal structure determination, and the physical and chemical properties of crystals. The series is planned, edited and maintained by the International Union of Crystallography (IUCr).
International Trade Centre Market Analysis Tools This link opens in a new window
Detailed monthly, quarterly, and annual trade data for 220 countries and territories covering 5300 products using the six digit Harmonized System (HS). [2001-present, varies by country, monthly, quarterly, and annually].
Note: Free individual account registered to a berkeley.edu email address required to create country and product groups, and to use Market Price Information tool.
Includes other related tools providing data on market access and investment, sustainability, market prices, export companies, trade competitiveness and more.

-J-

Journal Citation Reports (JCR) This link opens in a new window
Provides an annual analysis of scholarly journals in the social sciences. Attempts to show the relationship between citing and cited journals in order to determine the relative importance of journals within their subject categories.
Provides citation data drawn from over 8,400 scholarly and technical journals worldwide. Provides data on highest impact and most frequently used journals. Consists of two editions: the Science Edition which contains data from roughly 5,000 journals in the areas of science and technology and the Social Sciences Edition which contains data from roughly 1,500 journals in the social sciences.

-L-

LandScan Global This link opens in a new window
Fine resolution global population distribution data. Finer resolution data available for select countries. Data can be used within the web application or downloaded for use in GIS software. [2000-]
Produced by Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL), LandScan is the finest resolution global population distribution data available. The LandScan algorithm uses spatial data and imagery analysis technologies and a multi-variable dasymetric modeling approach to disaggregate census counts within an administrative boundary. The resource provides population data in a raster format. LandScan USA and LandScan HD datasets are produced at a finer resolution than the LandScan Global dataset. Data can be used within the web application (Web App) or downloaded for use in GIS software.
Latinobarómetro This link opens in a new window
Annual public opinion survey conducted since 1995 by Latinobarómetro Corporation, a non-profit NGO based in Santiago, Chile
An annual public opinion survey that involves some 19,000 interviews in 18 Latin American countries, representing more than 400 million inhabitants. Data files are available for different years and in various formats and in both Spanish - the official language - and English.
LGBTQ+ Life This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracting of the world's literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender issues. [dates vary]
Indexes Gay Lesbian Bisexual Transgender (GLBT)-specific core periodicals and GLBT-specific core books and reference works. The product also contains data mined from priority periodicals and over a thousand select titles. Also provides references to grey literature, newsletters, case studies, speeches, etc. Disciplines covered include civil liberties, culture, employment, family, history, politics, psychology, religion, sociology and more. Will soon contain all relevant data from NISC's Sexual Diversity Studies.

-M-

Mass Observation Online This link opens in a new window
Digitized archive of the Mass-Observation Project, a "pioneering social research organization," documenting everyday life and ordinary people in Britain from 1937 to 1972.
The online archive of the Mass-Observation Project. This project, described as a "pioneering social research organization," documented everyday life or ordinary people in Britain from 1937 to 1972. The archive, which consists of diaries, personal writings, questionnaires, interview transcripts, empirical data, file reports, photographs, pamphlets and books, provides insights into British cultural and social history.
Merck Index This link opens in a new window
A source of reference information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals for the physical, life, and health sciences.
Includes more than 11,000 entries for single substances and related groups of compounds covering: chemical, generic, and brand names; CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service) registry numbers; physical data and literature references; structures and stereochemistry; toxicity information; and therapeutic uses. (Merck Index, Fifteenth edition)
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Corporate financial database that provides information on U.S. and international public companies
Provides financial information on U.S.and international companies. The database consists of the following components: U.S. and International Company Data, Archives, Annual Reports, Factsheets Plus, Factsheets Express, Institutional Holdings, Insider Trades, Expanded Long-Term Debt, Equity Portraits, and Corporate Bond Portraits.

-N-

National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) This link opens in a new window
Searchable online archive of downloadable economics working papers by the National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER). [1994 - present]
Provides access to NBER research results through the working paper series.The NBER is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. Their research is conducted by more than 600 university professors around the country, the leading scholars in their fields. NBER Data and Data links provide access to government economic information such as business cycle data.
Nielsen Marketing Data This link opens in a new window
Retail scanner and consumer panel data from Nielsen Research and the Marketing Data Center at Chicago Booth. The UCB campus license has a number of access restrictions. Please view the libguide link for more detailed information. [2004 - present]
The James M. Kilts Center for Marketing at Chicago Booth and the Nielsen Company have partnered to make two consumer marketing datasets available to US-based academic researchers. The Consumer Panel Data include longitudinal data beginning in 2004 with annual updates. These data track a panel of 40,000 - 60,000 US households and their purchases of consumer goods from a wide range of retail outlets across all US markets. Retail Scanner Data consist of weekly pricing, volume, and store environment information generated by point-of-sale systems from more than 90 participating retail chains across all US markets. Data begin in 2006 and include annual updates.
NIST Web Thermo Tables (WTT) This link opens in a new window
Find critically evaluated thermodynamic property data for pure compounds with a primary focus on organics
Access to this resource will be discontinued effective 2024 due to library budget cuts.

Web version of the TRC Thermodynamic Tables (Hydrocarbons and Non-Hydrocarbons). Contains critically evaluated thermodynamic property data, primarily for pure organic compounds. There are eight property groups in the WTT: (1) critical properties, (2) vapor pressure and boiling temperatures, (3) phase transition properties, (4) volumetric properties, (5) heat capacities and derived properties, (6) transport properties, (7) refraction, surface tension, and speed of sound, and (8) reaction state-change properties. Not all properties have been evaluated for all compounds. Various search options based on compound information (empirical formula, partial name, molecular weight) as well as specific property requests are provided.

-O-

OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Full-text publications and statistical data from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). Publications and data are open access since July 2024.
OECD publications are also Open Access on the OECD web site under "publications". Statistical data is also available at the new OECD data explorer https://data-explorer.oecd.org/
Full-text publications and statistical data from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), including country studies, forecasting publications, reports, and socioeconomic datasets and an interactive Health data database. The statistics section includes data in the areas of international trade, telecommunications, foreign aid, migration, and many other categories. Includes data from 1983 to the present. (source oecd)
Orbis This link opens in a new window
Orbis contains information on over 200 million companies worldwide, both private and public. Data is standardized for easy cross-border comparisons.
Orbis includes companies' financial accounts, credit scores from a number of independent providers, directorships, ownership structures, PEPs and sanctions information, and details of mergers and acquisitions activity.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Archaeology in the Near East This link opens in a new window
Focuses on three of the world’s religions- Judaism, Christianity, and Islam, and analyzes archaeological and linguistic data about the ancient Near East,
Explores the civilizations of Syria-Palestine, Mesopotamia, Anatolia, Iran, Arabia, Cyprus, Egypt, and the coastal regions of North and East Africa. Entries include detailed articles on all aspects of the period from the fifth to the fifteenth century covering art, architecture, religion, law, science, language, philosophy, and theology, as well as cultural, religious, intellectual, social and political history.

-P-

PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
An easy-to-use mapping program that includes over 15,000 US demographic and socioeconomic data indicators from the neighborhood census block to national levels. Data may be downloaded to csv.
PolicyMap is an easy-to-use mapping program that includes over 15,000 US demographic and socioeconomic data indicators from the neighborhood census block to national levels. Data about demographics, neighborhood conditions, real estate markets, income, jobs and economy, education, crime, and health can be presented as maps, tables, charts and reports.
Powder Diffraction File (PDF-4/full file) This link opens in a new window
Database of powder diffraction patterns from the International Centre for Diffraction Data (ICDD).
Note:Access provided onsite at the Engineering Library.
Each data set contains diffraction, crystallographic and bibliographic data, as well as experimental, instrument and sampling conditions, and select physical properties in a common standardized format.
Properties of Organic Compounds This link opens in a new window
Find physical data, spectral data, and structures of common organic compounds.
Contains the physical data, spectral data and structures of over 29,000 organic compounds. Chemical names or CAS numbers, as well as physical and spectral data, can be found.
Prowessdx This link opens in a new window
Detailed fundamentals data for all listed companies in India. Both private and public companies are included. [2013 - present]. Note: Registration required from a UC Berkeley IP.
Also contains data on ownership, governance, and mergers & acquisitions. Produced by Centre for the Monitoring of the Indian Economy (CMIE).
PRS Group Country Data This link opens in a new window
Data on political risk and macroeconomics at a country level.
Includes international country risk group (ICRG) political risk data for 140 countries, monthly from 1980, as well as macroeconomic data and Political Risk Services (PRS) forecasting. The ICRG risk data include measures of bureaucracy, corruption, civil disorders, ethnic tensions, poverty, inflation, terrorism, and other metrics. The political risk forecasting section (PRS) provides country ratings on debt, investment risk, exchange controls, tariff barriers, trade restrictions, domestic economic problems and other risk factors. Information on the methodology used for calculating ratings and forecasts is available.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts in the fields of biomedicine and health, as well as portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.

PubMed includes MEDLINE, PubMed Central (PMC), other biomedical and life science journals, and the NCBI Bookshelf. PubMed also provides links to other NCBI molecular biology resources, including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system.
Note: The link above goes to a specially configured version of PubMed for UC Berkeley users that will display the Get It at UC button for full text article access. To use the free public version, please click here.

-R-

Reaxys This link opens in a new window
Find property, reaction, synthesis, and bibliographic information for chemicals.
A web-based interface for three chemical information databases, Beilstein, Gmelin and the Patent Chemistry Database (PCD). Structure, reaction and citation searching are possible. Reaxys is a key resource for locating information on how to synthesis organic, inorganic and organometallic compounds. It is also a good source for critically evaluated data on on physical, chemical, spectral, bioactivity, or toxicological properties of chemical compounds.
Repbase This link opens in a new window
A database of prototypic sequences representing repetitive DNA from different eukaryotic species, together with analytical software.
Used in genome sequencing projects such as RepeatMasker or CENSOR as a reference collection for masking and annotation of repetitive DNA.
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research This link opens in a new window
US and international polling and public opinion survey data.
Contains domestic and international survey data. The Center's Public Opinion Location Library (iPOLL) gives online access to a database including poll questions asked in US from 1936 to present.
Russia/NIS Statistical Publications (UDB-STAT) This link opens in a new window
Russian and English-language publications.
Also includes reports and data sets from State Committee of the Russian Federation on Statistics and the Interstate Statistical Committee of the Commonwealth of Independed States. Coverage includes national and regional level socioeconomic indicators, statistical yearbooks and monthly analytical reports, annual statistical abstracts on national accounts, population, labor, public health, transportation, industrial output, and related socioeconomic measures. Also included is an on-line version of the 2002 All-Russia Census. (UNDB-STAT)

-S-

Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods is the essential online resource for anyone doing research or learning how to do research. With more than 800 books, reference works, and journal articles from SAGE’s world-renowned research methods list, SAGE Research Methods provides information on writing a research question, conducting a literature review, choosing a research method, collecting and analyzing data, and writing up the findings.
SAGE Research Methods’ coverage spans the full range of research methods used in the social and behavioral sciences, plus a wide range of methods commonly used in science, technology, medicine, and the humanities.
Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials This link opens in a new window
Contains data on toxicology, flammability, reactivity, explosive potential, and regularity information for more than 25,000 substances used in commerce.
Contains data on toxicology, flammability, reactivity, explosive potential, and regularity information for about 26,000 substances used in commerce.
Shen Bao 申报 This link opens in a new window
The first major newspaper in China. A national coverage spanning from 1872 to 1949.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
A web-based data analysis and mapping application that allows users to create custom thematic maps, tables, and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States. Note: Access limited to 10 simultaneous users. To increase the limit temporarily for use in classes or workshops, please send your request to eart-library@berkeley.edu a minimum of 5 business days in advance.
A web-based data analysis and mapping application that allows users to create custom thematic maps, tables and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States. Includes over 70,000 data variables related to demographics, employment, real estate & housing, crime, businesses, consumer spending, and points of interest data from the US Census, historical US Census data (2000), SimmonsLOCAL data from Experian, and Nielsen Claritas PRIZM data.
Sixth National Population Census of China Database This link opens in a new window
Official data released by the Statistics Bureau of China following the sixth decennial census in 2010, including population data for the whole country, 31 provinces and centrally administered municipalities, and 2872 counties.
Data include gender, age, nationality, permanent residence registration, education level, industry, occupation, social security, marriage, fertility, death, housing, and migration. The release of the database was authorized by the China Statistics Press, the publishing arm of the Statistics Bureau of China. Data may be exported into Excel or Word. (National Population Census of China)
Smithsonian Physical Tables This link opens in a new window
Find common physical and chemical data relevant to scientists and engineers
Contains tables of common physical and chemical data of general interest to scientists and engineers. Based on 9th revised edition published in 1954.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Data and interactive thematic maps from the U.S. Census from 1790-present.
Provides access to current and historical United States census data, including all historic decennial censuses and American Community Surveys, as well as other demographic information, such as religious organizations. Census data is current to 2010 and historical back to 1790. In addition to being a data resource, the web interface lets users create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change.
SpringerMaterials: The Landolt-Bornstein Database This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database that covers the physical and chemical properties in materials science.
Collection of fully evaluated data from all fields of physics, physical chemistry, geophysics, astronomy, biophysics and materials science & engineering.
Statista This link opens in a new window
A statistics portal that integrates data from reliable sources on thousands of topics
Categorized into market sectors, Statista provides access to quantitative facts on media, business, politics, and other areas. Sources of information include market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government sources. Data may be downloaded into spreadsheets and presentations. Also includes industry reports.
Statistical Abstracts of the World This link opens in a new window
A collection of the statistical abstracts from many countries. (ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the World)
These statistical abstracts are generally issued by the national statistical offices of foreign governments and contain country-level data not easily found elsewhere. Global and regional statistical compendia issued by international organizations are included.

-T-

TDM Studio This link opens in a new window
TDM Studio provides a virtual environment in which you can run text data mining analyses on large datasets curated from library-subscribed ProQuest content. The virtual environment uses Jupyter notebooks. TDM Studio is offered by the Library.

TDM Studio supports two paths to new discoveries. TDM Studio Workbench is designed for experienced researchers who use their own coding methodologies. TDM Studio Visualization is designed for users of all levels to quickly spot trends and generate insights. Content available in TDM Studio include current and historical newspapers, dissertations and theses, scholarly articles, and primary source material that the Library has subscribed to through ProQuest. You must first request an account through Proquest using your @berkeley.edu email address. Read more documentation.
Thomas Register of American Manufacturers This link opens in a new window
Online industrial buying source. Pre-drawn mechanical and electrical parts and data can be downloaded into CAD systems.
Online industrial buying source. Search by product/service, company or brand. Browseable categories include: adhesives/sealants, electrical components, engineering contractors and consultants, and other products and equipment. Also download pre-drawn mechanical and electrical parts and data that can be downloaded into CAD systems.

-U-

UN Comtrade This link opens in a new window
UC Berkeley subscribes to Comtrade Premium which provides a more powerful search interface and bulk downloads. To activate this feature, please register for an account using your Berkeley email. After account activation, login in the upper right corner using your UC Berkeley email and the password you create during registration.

For many countries, data go back to 1962. (Please note: Some users report problems using this database with Firefox.) Commodities are classified according to SITC (Rev.1 from 1962, Rev.2 from 1976 and Rev.3 from 1988) and the Harmonized System (HS) (from 1988 with revisions in 1996 and 2002). Currently most data are reported according to HS, version 1996. Data are in US dollars and quantities in metric units.
UNIDO Statistics Data Portal This link opens in a new window
Works best in Internet Explorer.
International statistical data on industries and mining from the United Nations Industrial Development Organization. (United Nations Industrial Development Organization International Industrial and Mining Statistics)
Includes INDSTAT 4, with data for the number of establishments, employees, wages, output, and female employees by detailed industry (4-digit level of the International Standard Industrial Classification of All Economic Activities (ISIC)) for more than 100 countries from 1990; and INDSTAT2 with the variables at the 2 digit level of ISIC for countries back to 1963. Also includes the IDSB database (with Import, Export, Output and Apparent Consumption) at the 4-digit ISIC level from 1990, and MINSTAT, a database of industrial statistics with similar variables for the mining sectors.

-V-

Vital Statistics on American Politics This link opens in a new window
Data, facts, and figures that offer a vivid and multifaceted portrait of the broad spectrum of United States politics and policies.
Students, professional researchers, and interested citizens will find chapters devoted to key subject areas such as elections and political parties, public opinion and voting, the media, the three branches of U.S. government, foreign, military, social and economic policy, and much more.

-W-

Wharton Research Data Services This link opens in a new window
Web-based data service from The Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania. Provides access to financial, economic, accounting, and marketing data. Current Berkeley students, staff, and faculty may request an account using a Berkeley email address. Please allow 7 days for account approval, and be prepared to describe how you plan to use WRDS in your academic research.
Wiley Digital Archives: British Association for the Advancement of Science Collection This link opens in a new window
The BAAS collection contains a broad collection of document types: reports, manuscript materials, newspaper clippings, photographs, brochures and catalogues; field reports and minutes; annual reports. [1831-1970s]
The BAAS collection documents the efforts of the British scientific community to establish science as a professional activity and make Britain into a globally competitive centre for science. WDA: BAAS includes reports; fieldnotes, correspondence and diaries; grey literature; photographs, artwork and illustrations; journal manuscripts; photographs; proceedings, lectures, and ephemera. The collection spans a wide variety of interdisciplinary research areas. Text data mining supported.
Wiley Digital Archives: Royal College of Physicians Collection This link opens in a new window
Papers of past fellows provide glimpses into the personal lives and social concerns of many distinguished physicians. Includes archive records defining the RCP’s changing role in setting standards in medical practice.
RCP members have always collected manuscripts and papers on a wide range of medical and non-medical topics. Available for text data mining. [14th-20th centuries]

Secondary menu

Library Licensed Datasets Catalog

Library Data Services Program

-A-

-B-

-C-

-D-

-E-

-F-

-G-

-H-

-I-

-J-

-L-

-M-

-N-

-O-

-P-

-R-

-S-

-T-

-U-

-V-

-W-