Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

Education: Citations & Bibliographic Software (Zotero)

Resources for research in education and related fields

http://guides.lib.berkeley.edu/education

Using APA Style

The once familiar APA 6th style has been replaced, as of 2020, with a 7th edition [Emergency temporary access available for this title]. The new style manual includes some significant changes to formatting papers and has attempted to make language more inclusive and bias free. Among some of the new changes:

  • DOIs are now formatted as URLs
  • Authors no longer need to include the phrase "Retrieved from" before a URL
  • The singular "they" is now endorsed by APA as a gender-neutral pronoun
  • The running head on the title page no longer includes the phrase "RUNNING HEAD" and is no longer needed in student papers at all
  • Use only one space after a period at the end of a sentence
  • For more, see APA Guide: Summary of Changes from the University of Texas Arlington libraries
  • Also consult the online Concise APA Handbook (2021) by Lida, Reugg, and de Boer

The cheat sheet from Purdue now reflects APA 7 but the Harvard guide still refers to APA 6. Also take a look at:

Zotero (Before you get started)

Go to http://www.zotero.org

  1. Register/Login
  2. Download Zotero 5.0 (for Windows, macOS, Linux)
  3. Install Browser Connector (for any browser - Firefox, IE, Chrome, etc.)
  4. Sync your account (Preferences > Sync with username/password - see Step 1)

Pro-tip: Use Zotero Standalone which means you have to download the software to your computer.

Zotero (Managing your bibliography)

  1. Doing your research using Zotero
    • Set preferences
      • automatically attach PDFs (Preferences > General)
      • automatically retrieve metadata for PDFs (Preferences > General)
      • etc.
    • Create folders (called "Collections")
    • Add items from a database
    • Make notes
    • Upload PDFs to your Zotero account
  2. Write your research paper (using Word or Google Docs)
    • Add footnotes, endnotes or in-text citations
    • Create a bibliography

Zotero Basics - online tutorial

For better visibility, click the Full Screen icon (second icon from right on the bottom of the screen).