Skip to main content

Need a book from the UC Berkeley Library during the shelter-in-place order? Check here first.

Music: Listen & Watch Online

Quick Links & Pages Describing Resources Used in Music Research

Streaming Audio & Video Collections

The streaming databases listed below are available to the UC Berkeley community by subscription. Remote or off-campus access is restricted to UCB students, faculty, and staff. 

NB. When you finish using Naxos Music Library and Naxos Jazz please click the LOGOUT button at the upper right corner of the screen. This will help allow access for another UCB listener.

Music and Performing Arts Online, a cross-search (combined search) of several streaming audio databases by Alexander Street Press available at UC Berkeley, includes the following components: 

  • Contemporary World Music
    Contemporary World Music delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent. The database will contain important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more. protests, and more. Part of Alexander Street Press's Music and Performing Arts Online
  • Ethnographic Sound Archives Online
    Ethnographic Sound Archives Online brings together 2,000 hours of audio recordings from field expeditions around the world, particularly from the 1960s through the 1980s—the dawn of ethnomusicology as a codified discipline. Building on their predecessors’ early sound collecting methods, ethnomusicologists began to fill in gaps on the world music map, traveling to field sites to record and document music in its broader cultural context. These collectors’ bodies of work contain some of the most comprehensive surveys of regional music on record, including Mark Slobin’s survey of Afghan music, Nazir Jairazbhoy’s survey of classical Indian music, and Hugh Tracey’s survey of southern and central African music. Part of Alexander Street Press's Music and Performing Arts Online

Historical Recordings, Open Access

Copyright © 2014-2019 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.