Library Guides: Research Justice: RJ Communities & Archives

Research Justice Communities of Practice

Center for Disability Research Justice
Multi-disciplinary hub for faculty, staff, students, and community members working to advance disability justice at Cal State East Bay and in the broader community.
Community Health Access Initiative (CHAI)
To support and improve LGBTQ+ young people’s health and well-being in inclusive and affirming ways by bolstering their resilience and increasing access to health care through provider education and training.
Public Science Project
We believe social science can play an important role in the struggle for social justice. Participatory Action Research (PAR) provides a critical framework for making science – systematic inquiry and analysis – a public enterprise.
Research Justice institute
The Research Justice Institute (RJI) is housed at the Coalition of Communities of Color (CCC). We support and advance research and data in our region through our work with BIPOC serving community-based organizations and dominant institutions.
Solidarity Research Center
We are a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization that builds solidarity economy ecosystems using data science, story-based strategy, and action research. We work at the intersection of racial justice and solidarity economies.
TM Health Justice: LA
Led by a core team and volunteers comprised of trans health organizers, researchers, educators, cultural workers, policy advocates, activists, and artists working across Los Angeles County. TMHJ:LA is part of a broader strategy within Gender Justice Los Angeles and includes research and community organizing by and for trans people to advance health justice in California.

Community Archive Publications

Community Archives, Community Spaces by Bastian, Jeannette A. This book traces the trajectory of the community archives movement, expanding the definition of community archives to include sites such as historical societies, social movement organisations and community centres. It also explores new definitions of what community archives might encompass, particularly in relation to disciplines outside the archives.
ISBN: 1783303522
Publication Date: 2019
Participatory Heritage by Roued-Cunliffe, Henriette This new book provides a wide range of international guidance and perspectives on the issues surrounding the preservation of local cultural heritage, ranging from formal cultural heritage institutions to individual community members in the associated processes of creation, organization, access, use and preservation
ISBN: 1783301252
Publication Date: 2017

Community Archives

UCB Ethnic Studies Library
The library was established in 1997 by merging the Asian American Studies Library, the Chicano Studies Library and the Native American Studies Library. In the late 1960s, the collections of these founding libraries grew from student interest in collecting and preserving a perspective that was lacking in other campus libraries. The specialized ethnic studies books and serials, archival collections, posters, and audio collections from those three libraries live on in a centralized space on the ground floor of Stephens Hall.
Louise Lawrence Transgender Archive
The goal of the Louise Lawrence Transgender Archive (LLTA or simply Louise) is to increase the understanding of transgender people and encourage new scholarship by making transgender historical materials available to students, scholars and the public.
Labriola National American Indian Data Center
an Indigenous-led library center where students and community members can celebrate and critically engage with American Indian and Indigenous scholarly works and creative writing. Its staff provides culturally relevant information and research support, and the center is a culturally safe learning space for Indigenous library users.
Southern California Library
Documents and makes accessible histories of struggles that challenge racism and other systems of oppression so we can all imagine and sustain possibilities for freedom
La Historia Museum
Our organization aims to make lasting contributions to the cultural identity of Mexican American lives in El Monte & South El Monte by preserving the legacy of its communities.
Chinese Historical Society of Southern California
To pursue, preserve and communicate knowledge of this history, and to promote the heritage of the Chinese and Chinese American community in support of a better appreciation of the rich, multicultural society of the United States.

Secondary menu

Research Justice: RJ Communities & Archives

RJ Communities and Archives

Research Justice Communities of Practice

Community Archive Publications

Community Archives