Library Guides: L2 Voter Data: Electoral Data Options

Election Data Sources

Atlas of the U.S. Presidential elections (Dave Leip's Atlas of the U.S. Presidential Elections)
Provides election results for the major and minor candidates for the U.S. President through 2020. Individual year pages include candidates, parties, popular and electoral vote totals, in excel and csv format. UCB ONLY
House election data (Dave Leip)
This dataset provides United States election data for House elections by county and congressional district. UCB ONLY
Senate election data (Dave Leip)
Detailed general election data for U.S. Senate. Each election year's dataset includes national, state, and county level spreadsheets. Some maps and graphs. UCB ONLY
American local government elections database
Database of election returns from about 78,000 unique candidates in about 57,000 contests in 1,747 cities, counties, and school districts from 1989–2021. Includes information about elections for mayors, city councils, county executives, county legislatures, sheriffs, prosecutors, and school boards. It also includes a host of supplemental data, including estimates of candidate partisanship, gender, race/ethnicity, and incumbency status. For many elections, it also includes information on the political characteristics of constituencies, such as their ideology and presidential voting patterns.

Sage Data This link opens in a new window
Provides easy access to a wide variety of economic, social, political, and marketing indicators. (DataPlanet - Data-Planet - Statistical Datasets)
Offers easy access to over 5,550 data sets from over 65 source providers and 16 subject categories, including banking, criminal justice, education,energy, food and agriculture, government, health, housing and construction,industry and commerce, labor and employment, natural resources and environment, income, cost of living, stocks, transportation, and more. Sources of data include federal, local, state and international governments and organizations. Allows for customization of the data by selecting subjects, and the ability to view your data in side-by-side tables, charts and maps.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Data and interactive thematic maps from the U.S. Census from 1790-present.
Provides access to current and historical United States census data, including all historic decennial censuses and American Community Surveys, as well as other demographic information, such as religious organizations. Census data is current to 2010 and historical back to 1790. In addition to being a data resource, the web interface lets users create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change.
Voting America: United States Politics, 1840-2008 This link opens in a new window
Offers a wide spectrum of animated and interactive visualizations of how Americans voted in elections over the past years. You can also find expert analysis and commentary videos that discuss some of the most interesting and significant trends in American political history.
Provides cinematic and interactive maps, and analysis, of the Presidential elections in the US from 1840-2004. Focuses on election data to the county level (rather than state). Allows users to compare elections as well as recognize the significance of individual elections by geographic region, political party, voter turnout, voter demographics, and more.

ICPSR

ICPSR provides a wealth of data on numerous social science topics. Data can be downloaded into many statistical packages (R, Stata, SPSS, etc). You need to create a user/name and password using your berkeley.edu email address to download the data. Below are some of their election data sources.

Electoral Data for Counties in the United States: Presidential and Congressional Races, 1840-1972 (ICPSR 8611)
County-level election results from 1840-1972. UCB ONLY.
State-Level Presidential Election Data for the United States, 1824-1972 (ICPSR 19)
State level election data for 1824-1972. UCB ONLY
General Election Data for the United States, 1950-1990 (ICPSR 13)
Data for 1950-1990. UCB ONLY
State-Level Congressional, Gubernatorial and Senatorial Election Data for the United States, 1824-1972 (ICPSR 75)
Data from 1824-1972. UCB ONLY
Candidate Name and Constituency Totals, 1788-1990 (ICPSR 2)
Names of candidates, political party name and ICPSR party ID code, and the number of votes received by each candidate in elections between 1788 and 1990. UCB ONLY
United States Congressional District Data Books, 1961-1965 (ICPSR 10)
Contains district level election data for 1961-65, data for the House of Representatives elections from 1952-1962, and presidential elections from 1952-1960. Also provides population and housing characteristics for each district.

Related Guides & Resources

California Specific

The Redistricting Database for the State of California
Responsible for collecting and processing data for California's decennial redistricting. Publish voter registration and voting reports at the precinct level. Create digitized precinct boundary files and data conversion tables.

Secondary menu

L2 Voter Data: Electoral Data Options

Easier Access Options for Electoral Data

Election Data Sources

ICPSR

Related Guides & Resources

California Specific