Contains authoritative, up-to-date biographical information on more than one million artists.
Contains authoritative, up-to-date biographical information on more than one million artists, A-Z, from antiquity to the present with world-wide coverage for painters, graphic artists, sculptors, architects, designers, photographers, video and installation artists, artisans, etc. Important historical sources Thieme-Becker/Vollmer, the Nurnberger Kunstlerlexikon and the Lexikon der Kunstlerinnen are also included. New articles are published immediately and the content is regularly updated and expanded. In addition to the biography, articles contain information on the artist's creative work, art historical significance, a selection of works with locations, exhibitions, and bibliographical references.
The MRLO contains over 4,000 entries and 200 plus illustrations covering pre-modern European history and culture.
The database includes complete coverage of four medieval studies encyclopedias: Encyclopedia of Medieval Chronicle, Encyclopedia of Medieval Dress and Textiles of the British Isles c. 450-1450, Encyclopedia of Medieval Pilgrimage, and Brill’s Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages. Searches can be performed across encyclopedias or limited to one title.
Full text online collection of over 750 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and other reference works covering a spectrum of topics from the arts to the sciences.
Essays and articles on major concepts, thinkers, and debates about the meaning, uses, and value of all the arts. (Oxford Encyclopedia of Aesthetics)
Surveys the full breadth of critical thought on art, culture, and society -- from classical philosophy to contemporary critical theory. Includes coverage of international aesthetics, modern aesthetics, new media like computer art, and areas like neuroaesthetics.
Gateway to art research and access point for Oxford art reference resources, including Grove Art Online, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Gateway to art research and access point for Oxford art reference resources, including Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Authoritative multidisciplinary research guides, including annotated bibliographies and encyclopedia entries, covering the humanities and social sciences.
Provides access to carefully selected articles and other reference sources in the following areas: African Studies, Anthropology, Atlantic History, Chinese Studies, Classics, Communication, Criminology, Education, Geography, International Law, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Linguistics, Medieval Studies, Military History, Music, Philosophy, Renaissance and Reformation, Social Work, Sociology, and Victorian Literature.
Over 6,700 entries. The most authoritative and accessible dictionary of its kind, this is an essential reference for both scholars and non-specialists with an interest in the classical era.
Entries cover major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world (Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman) from the Bronze Age to the 5th century CE and “its interpretation and influence in subsequent centuries.”
Leading Classical scholars in the field provide significant information about people, places, and historical events of classical antiquity in addition to intellectual and material culture. Broad subject areas include literature, history, archaeology, art, philosophy, science and religion.
