Skip to Main Content

Cal Athletics Records at The Bancroft Library: Overview of Bancroft Collections

Cal Athletics Records at Bancroft

Image citation: [Oski mascot costumes], CU-224

The Bancroft Library holds a rich collection of sports and athletics related material, documenting the beginnings of the California Golden Bears varsity athletic programs and various club teams from the 1880s to the present day. Collections consist of photographs, manuscripts, ephemera, publications, audiovisual materials, and realia.

The Bancroft Library is usually unable to provide access to unprocessed University Archives collections. Completion of this form allows the Library to track interest in specific unprocessed collections and helps staff prioritize future processing.

General sports collections

Image citation: Views of miscellaneous men's sports and physical education classes, University of California, Berkeley, UARC PIC 12Y

Student papers on University of California, Berkeley, sports and other subjects related to athletics, 1968-1973., CU-67.1
Art work for University of California, Berkeley sports publications, 1925-1927, CU-416
[Oski mascot costumes], CU-224
Walter Edmund Magee scrapbooks of clippings and writings on physical culture, 1887-1914, CU-285.2
Scrapbooks on University of California, Berkeley, athletics,1924-1929, CU-285.3
[University of California memorabilia], 1877-2005, CU-400
[Clothing associated with the University of California], approximately 1898-approximately 2010, CU-426
University of California, Berkeley, Department of Physical Education records, 1915-1980, CU-543
Scrapbook documenting the basketball career of Joseph Kintana, approximately 1930-1932, CU-285.1
Scrapbooks documenting the United States rugby team at the Olympic Games of 1920 and 1924, CU-506
University of California Cricket Club records, 1964-1974, CU-547

Football collections

Image citation: C.J. Bauer collection of football programs and memorabilia, CU-501.1

General football collections

Footballs from various University of California, Berkeley games, 1921-56, CU-472
The Thomas Whitesides collection of football programs, 1895-1997, CU-501
C.J. Bauer Collection of football programs and memorabilia, 1916-1930, CU-501.1
California Memorial Stadium ephemera, 2012, CU-591
University of California football records, 1949, 308if.f.B86.uc

Coach Lynn "Pappy" Waldorf materials

Pappy Waldorf scrapbooks, 1947-1956, CU-285.5
Pappy's Boys records, 1987-2022, CU-616

Big Game material

Diagrams of play for Big Game of 1898, approximately 1898, f 308if.f.H178
Scrapbooks on the Big Game of 1982 between the University of California, Berkeley, and Stanford University, 1982, CU-285.4
Big Game programs, 1893-1932, 308if.f.bg
Official scorebook of the football game between Leland Stanford Jr. University and University of California, Thanksgiving day, 1893, F870.A96 O3

Sports for People with Disabilities/ Adaptive Sports

Image citation: Bay Area Outreach & Recreation Program newsletter, GV183.5 .B39

G. Lawrence Rarick papers, 1965 - 1992, BANC MSS 2005/266 c
Bay Area Outreach & Recreation Program newsletter, 1989, GV183.5 .B39
Susan Sygall, Cofounder and director of Berkeley Outreach Recreation Program and Mobility International USA, advocate for women's issues : oral history, 2000, BANC MSS 2001/34 c
Indoor Sports Club records, 1950-2007, BANC MSS 2005/271 c

Oral History

Oral Histories on the Management of Intercollegiate Athletics at UC Berkeley: 1960-2014

Sports represented in our collections

Image citation: Colleen Galloway and opponents from View's of women's basketball, University of California, Berkeley, UARC PIC 12A

Sports represented in our collections include:

Archery
Baseball
Basketball
Cross country
Football
Field hockey
Golf
Gymnastics
Lacrosse
Rugby
Rowing
Soccer
Swimming
Softball
Tennis
Track and field
Water polo
Volleyball

Football audiovisual and pictorial collections

Image citation: Football and college life at the University of California, Berkeley, UARC Album 21

Football audiovisual collections

Motion picture films of University of California, Berkeley football games, 1931-1971, CU-451
Motion pictures films of University of California Marching Band, 1954-1979, CU-203.5
Perry Thomas Tompkins reminiscences [sound recording] 1953, BANC CD 661, Includes radio broadcast of Cal-Stanford football game, Nov. 21, 1959.
Video recordings of University of California, Berkeley football games, 1979-1999, CU-451.1

Football pictorial collections

Views of football, University of California, Berkeley, 1895-ongoing, UARC PIC 12F
Album of scenes of student life, including football at the University of California, ca. 1897-ca. 1904, UARC Album 01
Student activities and football at the University of California, ca. 1926- ca. 1927, UARC Album 08
Football and college life at the University of California, Berkeley, 1898, UARC Album 21

Women's sports collections

Image citation: Women's Athletic Association records, CU-283

Women's Athletic Association records, 1921-1981, CU-283
University of California, Berkeley, Department of Women's Intercollegiate Athletics records, 1970 - 1989, CU-566
A celebration of excellence : 25 years of Cal women’s athletics, 2001, UC Archives Folio 308m.p415.c.2001
Album presented to P.A. Hearst, 1915, 308m.p4.v 1915
Photographs of women's physical education activities, approximately 1920-1980, UARC PIC 28A

Pictorial collections

Image: Portraits of UC individuals and groups, UARC PIC 13 Image: Views of men's gymnastics, UARC PIC 12V Image: Portraits of UC individuals and groups, UARC PIC 13

Views of Hearst Gymnasium, University of California, Berkeley, 1925-ongoing, UARC PIC 11T
Views of Harmon Gymnasium, rebuilt steel and concrete structure, University of California, Berkeley, 1933-1997, UARC PIC 11U
Views of women's basketball, University of California, Berkeley, 1899-ongoing, UARC PIC 12A
Views of men's basketball, University of California, Berkeley, 1957-ongoing, UARC PIC 12B
Views of track and field events, University of California, Berkeley, 1895-ongoing, UARC PIC 12D
Views of rugby, University of California, Berkeley, 1977-ongoing, UARC PIC 12E
Views of golf, University of California, Berkeley, 1948-ongoing, UARC PIC 12G
Views of fencing, University of California, Berkeley, 1914-ongoing, UARC PIC 12H
Views of women's rowing crew, University of California, Berkeley, 1978-ongoing, UARC PIC 12I
Views of men’s swimming, University of California, Berkeley, 1977-ongoing, UARC PIC 12J
Views of women’s swimming, University of California, Berkeley, 1977-ongoing, UARC PIC 12K
Views of tennis, University of California, Berkeley, 1912-ongoing, UARC PIC 12L
Views of women’s track and field, University of California, Berkeley, 1978-ongoing, UARC PIC 12M
Views of women’s field hockey, University of California, Berkeley, 1960-ongoing, UARC PIC 12N
Views of soccer, University of California, Berkeley, 1914-ongoing, UARC PIC 12P
Views of cross country running, University of California, Berkeley, 1977-ongoing, UARC PIC 12Q
Views of men’s volleyball, University of California, Berkeley, 1977-ongoing, UARC PIC 12R
Views of women’s volleyball, University of California, Berkeley, 1977-ongoing, UARC PIC 12S
Views of water polo, University of California, Berkeley, 1977-ongoing, UARC PIC 12T
Views of wrestling, University of California, Berkeley,1977-ongoing, UARC PIC 12U
Views of men’s gymnastics, University of California, Berkeley, 1977-ongoing, UARC PIC 12V
Views of women’s gymnastics, University of California, Berkeley, 1977-ongoing, UARC PIC 12W
Views of miscellaneous women's sports, University of California, Berkeley, 1915-ongoing, UARC PIC 12X
Views of miscellaneous men's sports and physical education classes, University of California, Berkeley, 1892-ongoing, UARC PIC 12Y
Photographs of men's physical education classes and activities, approximately 1915-1960, UARC PIC 28C
Sports and student activities at the University of California, 1925, UARC Album 07
Cal Football and Basketball Posters, ca. 1920-ca. 1940, UARC PIC 30C