Library Guides: Vernacular Architecture and Landscape Architecture Resource Guide: Journals and Indexes

Journals

Periodical or journal articles are excellent sources for detailed and specific information about vernacular architecture and current issues of scholarly concern.

Below is a very selective list of journals that have extensive materials on vernacular architecture. Be sure to use the periodical indexes to identify a more comprehensive listing.

Organizations and journals

The Association for Industrial Archaeology
This is the British version of the Society for Industrial Archaeology. They publish The Industrial Archaeology Review.
International Association for the Study of Traditional Environments (IASTE)
IASTE is a nonprofit organization concerned with the comparative and cross-cultural understanding of traditional habitat as an expression of informal cultural conventions. IASTE's purpose is to serve as an umbrella association for all scholars studying vernacular, indigenous, popular and traditional environments. They publish Traditional Dwellings and Settlements Review and Traditional dwellings and settlements working paper series.
Society for Industrial Archaeology
International organization that promotes the study and preservation of landscapes, structures, and equipment of significance in the history of technology, engineering and industry. They publish the SIA Newsletter, IA, and Industrial Archaeology.
Vernacular Architecture Forum
This scholarly group formed in 1979 to encourage the study and preservation of North American vernacular architecture. It sponsors conferences and workshops, Vernacular architecture newsletter, VAN, Buildings & landscapes and Perspectives in vernacular architecture.
The Vernacular Architecture Group
An international group whose focus is primarily on the British Isles. It publishes Vernacular Architecture.

Indexes and Abstracts

America: History and Life
Access to this resource will be discontinued effective 6/30/23 due to library budget cuts. Please use Google Scholar or BASE as alternatives. Includes all key English-language historical journals; selected historical journals from major countries, state, and local history journals; and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities.
Index of journals on the history of the US and Canada from prehistory to the present.

American house designs: an index to popular and trade periodicals, 1850-1915
(Print Resource) compiled by Margaret Culbertson. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1994.

Anthropological Index of the Royal Anthropological Institute This link opens in a new window
Anthropological literature based on the holdings of the anthropology Library at the British Library. [1957 - present]
Free version of the the Anthropolgical Literature based on the holdings of the Anthropology Library at the British Library. This database is also part of the Anthropology Plus database.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Citations for articles, reports, and obituaries covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. (AnthroLit - Tozzer file - Anthropological Index - Anthropological Literature) [Late 19th century - present]
Indexes journal articles, essays, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology as well as ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture. This database combines the resources of Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature.

RIBA British Architectural Library online catalogue
Online catalog of the British Architectural Library. (API Online - Architectural Publications Index) [1984 - present]

Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Covers 750 art journals including 470 peer reviewed journals, dissertations, reviews, and over 200 books related to art and architecture topics. Includes coverage from 1929 to present, including the complete former contents of Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective databases. Some full text.
Formerly titled Art Source or Art Full Text
Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Indexes publications in the fields of archaeology, architecture, art history, city planning, computer graphics, crafts, film, folk art, graphic arts, industrial design, interior design, landscape architecture, museology, painting, photography, sculpture, television, textiles, and video. [1929-1984]
Includes citations to art reproductions. Provides citations from Volumes 1-32 of the print counterpart, Art Index. (Art Index Retro - Art Index)
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly and professional journals covering architecture, architectural design, environmental design, furniture and decoration, interior design, historic preservation, history of architecture, landscape architecture, and urban design. [1860s - present]
Can limit to articles containing plans, sections, elevations and other graphic attributes. Most citations are from articles published since 1930 (with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s).
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) This link opens in a new window
The Bibliography of the History of Art and Repertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA) are citation databases searchable together, and cover material published between 1975 and 2007, primarily covering European and American art.
Includes articles from over 1,200 journals. For material published after 2007, see the International Bibliography of Art (IBA).
Historical Abstracts
Access to this resource will be discontinued effective 06/30/23 due to library budget cuts. Please use Google Scholar or BASE as alternatives. Indexes over 2,000 journals, as well as historical book reviews and dissertations, published worldwide about all aspects of world history.
Excludes US and Canada. Covers from 1450 to the present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 1000 scholarly journals, including more than 2 million articles, from a wide range of disciplines. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR. [dates vary].
For more sophisticated search capabilities, go directly to JSTOR advanced search.
Periodicals Index Online (formerly PCI) This link opens in a new window
Index of thousands of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences. (Periodicals Contents Index) [1802 - 1995]
Indexes millions of articles published in over 4,700 periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. A sister database, Periodicals Archive Online, provides a full-text archive of over 700 journals published between 1802 and 2005.
Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Indexes American magazines and journals published between 1890 to 1982.
EBSCOhost (formerly WilsonWeb) (EBSCO)

Secondary menu

Vernacular Architecture and Landscape Architecture Resource Guide: Journals and Indexes

Journals

Indexes and Abstracts