It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Moffitt Library is opening Aug. 22. Other libraries will have updated services and hours. Learn more.
Listings (may include abstracts or full text) of articles in newspapers, newsmagazines, broadcast news transcripts or wire services. Also includes web sites of these media, or directories of such sites.
Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources. Offers strong regional coverage, indexing more than California newspapers such as Contra Costa Times (1995-current), Sacramento Bee (1984-current), San Francisco Chronicle (1985-current), and San Jose Mercury News (1985-current). Search categories include: California newspapers (121 titles), Greater Los Angeles (54 titles), major metropolitan titles (13 titles), Spanish-language news sources (48 titles), the World (almost 2000 titles), US (855 titles).
Provides open access to more than 15 million digital objects, including film material, photos, paintings, sounds, maps, manuscripts, books, newspapers and archival papers from more than 1500 European institutions. Europeana -- the European digital library, museum and archive -- launched in 2008 and is funded by the European Commission and its member states. This current prototype is one of many parallel projects of The European Library.
FactivaThis link opens in a new windowText mining of this database is prohibited. Access limited to 49 simultaneous users Provides general and business news and information from more than 9,000 sources in 22 languages, including influential local, national and international newspapers, leading business magazines, trade publications, and news wires.
Includes the exclusive combination of The Wall Street Journal (1979-present), the Financial Times, Dow Jones and Reuters newswires and the Associated Press, as well as Reuters Fundamentals, and Bureau van Dijk company profiles.
A database of more than 20,000 newspaper titles from over 150 countries dating back over 350 years. A useful source for identifying the titles of newspapers from a region during a given time period. (The source does not link to full text.)
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to international, national, local newspapers, and wire services, as well as radio and television transcripts. Database also includes business, medical, industry, and legislative magazines, journals, and newsletters. Also includes laws from the U.S., all 50 states, and law reviews. Wide geographic coverage and translations from foreign-language sources, as well as news services like the Associated Press, Agence France Press, El Pai.
Nexis Uni allows users to set up personal accounts to personalize your research experience. Nexis Uni has replaced LexiNexis Academic. [dates vary]
Le Monde diplomatique stands out in an increasingly uniform media landscape for its critical vision, in-depth analysis of world issues and reportages that illuminate the state of the planet. In 1996, it won editorial and financial independence by forming its own company. Le Monde owns 51%; the Friends of Le Monde diplomatique and Gunter Holzmann Association, comprising the paper’s staff, together own 49%.
Brief English translations of Arabic, Kurdish, and Persian news articles from Arab countries, Iran and the Diaspora. (Mideast Wire Service) [2005 - present]
Subjects covered are Middle East and North African politics, culture, economy, and opinion pieces appearing in the print, radio, and television media of these countries, with links to the original sources. Note: Restricted to VPN access only (not available via Proxy and UCB campus IP addresses.
Listen to Cecile Alduy, associate professor of French literature at Stanford University, Jack Citrin, Professor of professor of political science and director of the Institute of Governmental Studies at UC Berkeley, and others discuss the Paris attacks on The Forumwith Michael Krasny.