Subjects: All, but subject-specific databases may have greater coverage and functionality.
Sources: Journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports.
Scholar Preferences can be set to show UC-eLinks in your results list:
- Click on Settings > Library Links
- Search for "berkeley"
- Choose "University of California Berkeley - UC-eLinks," then Save
Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover any given field more completely). Can be used with "Get it at UC" to access the full text of many articles.
Full-text access to over 1000 scholarly journals, including more than 2 million articles, from a wide range of disciplines. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR. [dates vary].
A multi-disciplinary database of scholarly and general interest journals, books, and reports. [1865 - present]
Articles from broad array of peer-reviewed journals, popular and trade magazines and news sources for nearly all areas of study; available in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese.
Find citations for journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and government publications in the agricultural and environmental sciences. [1960 - present].
AES incorporates the formerly titled "Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management" database - which includes Environmental Impact Statements - plus the databases AGRICOLA (1970-current) and TOXLINE (1999-current).
Indexes leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Allows cited reference searching. (ISI Web of Knowledge) [1900 - present]
Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present).
Get it at UC
Once you've searched an index to find articles, you may need to use Get it at UC to link to a PDF or html file if the full text is not immediately available. Each database is a bit different, but a good rule of thumb is:
When you see either icon, click on it to view your article access options (ex: full text, call number, Interlibrary Loan request, etc.)
to link to a PDF or html file if the full text is not immediately available. Each database is a bit different, but a good rule of thumb is: