Physical and Chemical Properties: Search by Material

Search the world's most comprehensive source of references, substances, and reactions in chemistry and related sciences.
Note: Restricted to UC Berkeley students, faculty, and staff. Requires creation of a personal account from an @berkeley.edu email address.

Find property, reaction, synthesis, and bibliographic information for chemicals.

Provides data and background information on materials properties, processes, performance, and selection. Covers metals as well as engineered materials such as composites, ceramics, and plastics.

Covers all areas of materials science including structural materials, functional materials, structural phenomena, functional phenomena, polymers and materials chemistry.

Search the historical research literature in engineering with a focus on civil, environmental, industrial, mechanical, and structural engineering disciplines [1884-1969]. To search the current literature, we recommend Scopus.

A comprehensive database that covers the physical and chemical properties in materials science.

Provides access to an extensive collection of binary and ternary alloy phase diagrams as well as 995,000 physical properties and data sheets. Note: Access to the previous ASM Alloy Phase Diagrams platform will continue for a brief transition period.

Find technical information as well as analytical and search tools for the engineering community.

The 2023 Edition of DIPPR 801 is a renowned source of Evaluated Process Design Data of physical, thermodynamic, and transport properties for industrially important chemicals used in chemical process and equipment design. With newly added compounds, this latest Knovel version contains data for 34 constant properties and 49 thermophysical properties as well as molecular structure, SMILES, hazard and safety properties, physical constants, and critical properties, in 4 interactive tables. Compound data includes experimental data and, when necessary, estimated values that have been reviewed to ensure the greatest accuracy possible. Now with updated coefficient sets the Knovel interactive equation plotter applets deliver comprehensive data for 2263 of compounds in 15 temperature-dependent property tables.

This encyclopedia presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances, industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology, as well as fundamentals related to Chemistry.

Find properties for a very wide range of polymers, both synthetic and natural.

A reference work detailing the science and technology in all areas of industrial chemistry

A collection of chemical dictionaries and handbooks providing descriptions, properties and uses for various compounds and substances. (CRCnetBASE)

Free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 43 million structures from hundreds of data sources.

Pharos provides hazard, use, and exposure information on chemicals and building products. NOTE: You must first register for an account using the link here and your Berkeley email address.

Contains data on thermal, mechanical, electrical and physical properties of electronics packaging materials, including over 750 materials and over 15,000 data curves. Dynamic graphing capabilities allow users to compare the same property of multiple materials, change scale ranges, and export data.

Contains thermophysical properties of over 5,000 materials with approximately 50,000 data curves. Searchable by material name, by property, or by string (partial name). Dynamic graphing capabilities allow users to compare the same property of multiple materials, change scale ranges, and export data.

Find critical data for inorganic and organic compounds and pure substances including physical, thermodynamic, mechanical, and other key properties.

Computer program that provides thermophysical properties of pure fluids and mixtures over a wide range of fluid conditions including liquid, gas, and supercritical phases.
Note: Requires software download and installation. Version 10.0.

Database of powder diffraction patterns from the International Centre for Diffraction Data (ICDD). Note: Access to PDF-5+ (PDF-4+ and PDF-4/Organics) provided onsite at the Engineering & Mathematical Sciences Library.

Provides history, description, properties and uses of chemical elements

Find common physical and chemical data relevant to scientists and engineers