Library Guides: Dissertations in Art History : A Guide: Databases

Databases

ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of the current literature of modern and contemporary art, photography and design. [1974 - present]
Indexes journals, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews. Coverage extends from artists and movements beginning with Impressionism in the late 19th century, up to the most recent works and trends in the late 20th century. Photography is covered from its invention in 1839 to the present.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) This link opens in a new window
The Bibliography of the History of Art and Repertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA) are citation databases searchable together, and cover material published between 1975 and 2007, primarily covering European and American art.
Includes articles from over 1,200 journals. For material published after 2007, see the International Bibliography of Art (IBA).
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
Index and full text of graduate dissertations and theses from North American and European schools and universities, including the University of California. (Dissertations & Theses - Proquest Digital Dissertations and Theses (PQDT) - Dissertation Abstracts - ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global) [1861 - present]
Indexes graduate dissertations from over 1,000 North American, and selected European, graduate schools and universities. Dissertations published since 1980, and master's theses since 1988, include brief abstracts written by the authors. Offers full text of most of the dissertations added since 1997 . It is possible to search a subset of dissertations produced by UC students by going to Dissertations and Theses @ University of California (available in full text).
PASCAL and FRANCIS Archive This link opens in a new window
Both bibliographic databases ceased in 2015 but are freely available through INIST-CNRS. FRANCIS indexes over 3,000 journals, books, dissertations, and other European sources covering the humanities and social sciences (1972-2015). PASCAL offers bibliographic indexing of core scientific literature, and provides multidisciplinary and multilingual coverage for science, technology, and medicine with special emphasis on European content (1984-2015).
The PASCAL-FRANCIS Archive will become progressively enriched with other document types and with records of partners having previously cooperated with PASCAL and FRANCIS.
International Bibliography of Art (IBA) This link opens in a new window
A successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA). (2008 - present)
This database covers international scholarship in European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945. Visual arts in all media are covered: painting, sculpture, drawing, video, installations, new media, decorative and applied arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology, folk art and material culture, classical studies, antiques, architectural history. Over 500 core journals are indexed, as well as monographs, essays, conference proceedings, and exhibition catalogs.
WorldCat Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
Dissertations and master theses in thousands of libraries worldwide. (WorldCatDissertations)
Lists over 5 million dissertations and master's theses found in the WorldCat database. Also lists some published materials based on dissertations or theses. Coverage includes some items published prior to 1861.

Secondary menu

Dissertations in Art History : A Guide: Databases

Databases