It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Based on the 12th edition of Le Grand Robert de la langue francaise (2001), it is the most complete French dictionary. Contains more than 100,000 entries, 325,000 quotations, and millions of synonyms and cross-references to related sources such as Petit Robert des noms propres (2004) and the bibliographie generale du Grand Robert. Advanced exploratory features for usage, derivation, variation, and etymologies of individual words.
The principal Dictionnaire Francais permits cross-searching across Un Dictionnaire de francais, Un Dictionnaire des synonymes et contraires, Un Dictionnaire des expressions, Un Dictionnaire des homonymes, and Un Dictionnaire des citations.
Online versions of the following titles: Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary, Oxford-Duden German Dictionary, Oxford-Paravia Italian Dictionary, Oxford Spanish Dictionary, and the Oxford Russian Dictionary.
Freely available electronic version of the Tresor de la langue francaise: dictionnaire de la langue de XIX et du XX Siecle(1789-1960), a 16-volume etymological and historical dictionary of 19th and 20th century French. Comprises over 100,000 words with their history, 270,000 definitions, 430,000 examples, and three different search interfaces. Each entry supplies pronunciation in the International Phonetic Alphabet, definition, orthography, etymology with sources, and history.
Contains biographical information on approximately 500,000 individuals from antiquity to the present. Contains the full text of well-known biographical resources like Current Biography, the World Authors Series, Nobel Prize Winners, World Artists, World Film Directors and many other sources.
Gateway to art research and access point for Oxford art reference resources, including Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Indexes the complete contents of 38 microfiche sets of biographical archives, providing short biographies on more than 3.6 million persons from all periods, countries and regions worldwide. Based on K. G. Saur's microfiche Biographical Archives, which consolidates biographical articles from a wide variety of printed reference works published from the 16th to the 20th century. UCB owns virtually all the microfiche sets which the WBIS indexes.
The Guide presents a comprehensive historical survey of literary theory and criticism, providing entries on critical schools and movements, critics and theorists, and terms, along with references and bibliographies for further research.
Geographical encyclopedia of names, descriptions, and characteristics of more than 165,000 places in the world. Entries include: demography; physical geography; political boundaries; industry, trade, and service activities; agriculture; cultural, historical, and archeological points of interest; transportation lines; longitude, latitude, and elevations; distance to relevant places; pronunciations; official local government place-names and changed or variant names and spellings.
Contains to date over 8,000 maps online and focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North and South America cartographic history materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia and Africa are also represented. [Note: This collection is also part of the UC Image Service and can be viewed in two ways: the Insight Browser allows users to view the collection using a web browser; the Luna Insight software provides greater functionality but must be downloaded.]
Online factual information, including maps, on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for hundreds of world entities.
Provides fundamental and factual reference material on a country or issue including current economic statistics and indicators by country including population, GDP, external debt and birth and death rates. Includes maps.
Web sites and subject-specific search engines available without restriction. See also Canadian Libraries and Archives under the Research Tools tab.