Library Guides: Materials Science & Engineering: Articles

Find Articles

The databases listed below include journal articles, technical reports, and conference papers in the subject areas of materials science & engineering.

For a full list of article databases, see our Article Databases page.

Inspec Archive (Engineering Village)
All engineering topics.

Indexes scholarly journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and dissertations in physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computers and control, and information technology.
Scopus
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences and more.

Contains over 50 million records with more than half the content originating from outside North America. Indexes over 21,000 journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences, technology, medicine, arts, and humanities.
Web of Science
All science and engineering topics.

Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present).

MRS Online Proceedings Library
Peer-reviewed papers presented at Materials Research Society (MRS) Meetings. (Materials Research Society Proceedings Library)

The proceedings papers can be viewed by meeting or topic, and are fully searchable. Institutions and libraries which are not current customers may purchase a 12-month unlimited access package to all MRS proceedings volumes/papers that are available online.
SciFinder
Materials science, chemistry, chemical engineering.
More info about SciFinder | First-time users

Indexes over 9,000 journals, patents, conferences, books, technical reports and dissertations related to chemistry, chemical engineering, materials science and the biomedical sciences. Relates to the print equivalent Chemical Abstracts.
ASME Digital Library
Journal articles and conference papers from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. (American Society of Mechanical Engineers Digital Library)

Journal articles and conference papers from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.
Google Scholar
Search across many disciplines and sources including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover any given field more completely). Can be used with "Get it at UC" to access the full text of many articles.

Search Tips

Not happy with your results? Watch our video to learn how to:

expand your search if you are not finding enough results.
refine your search if you are finding too many results.

Get it at UC

Once you've searched an index to find articles, you may need to use Get it at UC to link to a PDF or html file if the full text is not immediately available. Each database is a bit different, but a good rule of thumb is:

When you see either icon, click on it to view your article access options (ex: full text, call number, Interlibrary Loan request, etc.)

Primary vs. Secondary Sources in the Physical Sciences

Primary sources in the physical sciences are documents that provide a description of the original research. They haven't been filtered by a second party (other than peer review) and they tend to come first in the publication cycle. A secondary source will contain commentary on or discussion of a primary source.

Secondary menu

Materials Science & Engineering

Find Articles

Search Tips

Get it at UC

Primary vs. Secondary Sources in the Physical Sciences