Zotero: Zutilo

1. Download the Zutilo zutilo.xpi file from Zutilo's GitHub releases page.
2. In the Zotero application, go to Tools > Pluginss.
3. Click on the gear icon and choose "Install Plugin from file"
4.  Locate your downloaded xpi file and click Open

If you are blocked from downloading the .xpi file, try right-clicking on the link and choose to save link as a file.

Access Zutilo preferences under Settings. Under Menu items you can choose which commands you want available to you. Choose whether you want the commands to appear in the Zotero context menu or the Zutilo context menu.

In Zotero, you can only add tags to one item at a time. Zutilo allows you to add tags to multiple items at once if you have added the "Copy tags" and "Paste tags" commands to your menu.

1. Select an item in your library and add tags.
2. Right-click on the item and from the context menu, choose "Copy tags to clipboard."
3. Select which items you want the tags added to.
4. Right-click and choose "Paste tags from clipboard."

In Zotero, you can relate items to one another. With Zutilo, you can relate multiple items if you have added the "Relate items" command to your menu.

You may want to use this if you have included in your library references for multiple chapters of a book and a reference for the book itself. Or if you have a reference for a book and also references for reviews of that book. 

Select the items you want to relate, right-click, and choose "Relate selected items." They will be listed under the Related tab.section of the Item Details pane.

For bulk-editing, you should add to your menu these commands:

• Copy item fields
• Paste into empty item fields
• Paste non-empty item fields

To add information to empty fields. For example, if you have created a collection for items you added from a manuscript collection and want to add the archive information to each of the items.

1. Manually create an item in the collection using any item type that includes the Archive field and enter the information.
   
2. Right click on the new item and choose "Copy item fields". 
3. Select the other items in the collection.
4. Right-click and choose "Paste into empy item fields."  The content you added to the Archive field will be added to all of the other records in the collection.

To add information to non-empty fields. For example, you have created a collection of books in a series by adding the records from the Library catalog. Because the cataloging was inconsistent, the series title is not the same in each record. 

1. Manually create an item in the collection using any item type that includes the Series field. Enter the series title as you want it to appear.
2. Right-click on the item and choose "Copy item fields." 
3. Select the other items in the collection.
4. Right-click and choose "Paste into non-empty item fields." This will overwrite the incorrect series titles.

These techniques work if you have discreet collections of items.  You can create a collection of items so that you can apply the changes and then Delete the collection afterwards. The corrected items will remain in your library.

If you have a large library it may be difficult to locate all the items you want to bulk edit. For example, over time you have added items published in Washington, D.C. which appear in your library as Washington, D.C., Washington, DC, Washington D. C., Washington (D.C.) and you want to edit these all to appear as Washington, D.C.

1. Select My Library.
2. Click on the search icon and select Advanced Search.
3. Change Match "all" to Match "any"
4. Change Title to Place (located under More in the context menu)
5. Type in the name of the city -- all the variations that appear in your library will be listed. Add them one by one to your search.

As you add them, the matching records will appear at the bottom of the window. 

6. Click on search.
7. Click on Save Search and then name the search. The results of the search will now appear in your list of collections. 

8. In the collection, select an item, and choose "Copy item fields".
9. Open a text document and paste the fields into the document.
10. Edit them so that you have only the following remaining in the text document.  Enter the place information as you want it to appear in all your search results. 

{
  "itemType: "book",
  "place": "Washington, D.C."
}

11. Copy this text. 
12. Back in Zotero, select the items in the collection, right-click, and choose "Paste non-empty item fields." As the items are updated they will be removed from the collection. If they are not removed, wait a moment and then check to see if the changes have been made.
13. Delete the saved search. If items remain in the search window, they will not be deleted.