Library Guides: MBA/EWMBA 280: Real Estate Investment & Market Analysis: Home

Industry and Company Research

Capital IQ Real Estate
Step by step instructions for accessing Capital IQ's Real estate module and screening for REITs.

Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
Available to currently enrolled UCB students, faculty, and staff.
Public company financials and filings, private company information and investment details, M&A, industry surveys, screening and charting.
Replaces UC Berkeley's NetAdvantage subscription. If this link takes you to NetAdvantage instead of a login page for S&P, try restarting your browser, clearing your cache, or opening in an incognito browser.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Global business news source. The Industry tab on the Search page allows you to restrict your information search by industry. Type real estate into the industry search box and select from the real estate sub industry groupings to restrict your searches to a specific data set.
Includes the exclusive combination of The Wall Street Journal (1979-present), the Financial Times, Dow Jones and Reuters newswires and the Associated Press, as well as Reuters Fundamentals, and Bureau van Dijk company profiles.
FitchConnect This link opens in a new window
Reports on Real Estate, Infrastructure, Retail and other major industries for 55 countries.
Provides quarterly, updated market forecast reports on 14 industry sectors in 55 countries. Industries covered include: Automotives, Chemicals, Banking, Defence and Security, Retail Food and Drink, Freight Transport, IT, Infrastructure, Insurance, Oil and Gas, Petrochemicals, Pharmaceuticals, Telecommunications and Media, and Tourism. There is also a database of 65,000 multinational company subsidiaries and company profiles.
IBISWorld Industry Market Research This link opens in a new window
Full industry reports available for many industries including REITS and its supporting industries such as Real Estate Sales, Apartment Rentals, Commercial Leasing, Land Leasing, Banking, Lending, and more. Each report is linked to Key Economic Drivers for the industry such as 10 year Treasury note yields, vacany rates, unemployment rates and more.
Each report provides an overview of an industry and details on industry performance, industry outlook, supply chain, demand determinants, concentrations by geography, cost structure benchmarks,capital intensity, etc.
Reports are generally for the US, some global reports are available, and there are good reports for China.
Also includes reports on global industries as well as industries in China. Data include market size, market share, major players, and industry trend analysis.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Provides financial information and analyst reports on U.S.and international companies. The database consists of the following components: U.S. and International Company Data, Archives, Annual Reports, Factsheets Plus, Factsheets Express, Institutional Holdings, Insider Trades, Expanded Long-Term Debt, Equity Portraits, and Corporate Bond Portraits. For analyst reports, go to the Investext tab.
Provides financial information on U.S.and international companies. The database consists of the following components: U.S. and International Company Data, Archives, Annual Reports, Factsheets Plus, Factsheets Express, Institutional Holdings, Insider Trades, Expanded Long-Term Debt, Equity Portraits, and Corporate Bond Portraits.
NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Standard & Poor's Industry Survey of REITs are comprehensive industry reports with an industry overview, trends, how the industry operates, how to analyze a company in the industry, industry jargon, and include financials of top REITs by sub-industry. Available are industry surveys for various real estate industries.
Select Research tab. Go to Advanced Search page. Select Industries. Select Real Estate.
Provides proprietary reports about companies and industries, including industry and company profiles, stock, bond, and mutual fund analysis, and economic forecasts. Regularly updated publications include S and P's Industry Surveys, The Outlook, Credit Week, and directories of private companies, executives, and security dealers.
PitchBook This link opens in a new window
Note:UCB Access. Available to currently enrolled UCB students, faculty, and staff. Select "Log in with SSO" and use your @berkeley.edu address for access.

Bloomberg is available on dedicated terminals inside the Business Library and is open to Haas graduate students and faculty. This resource is managed by Haas and requests for access need to go to helpdesk@haas.berkeley.edu, It pulls financial information from many sources into a dashboard to allow financial analysis of markets, individual companies and industries. Global in scope, both provide breaking news, financial indices, economic statistics, and other information that impacts investment such as interest rates, deal flow, availability of capital. See Cornell University's guide to using Bloomberg. You can get a Factset web account - please use your Berkeley email address to sign up. Factset has a learning module built into it that you can train yourself on as well as good online help.

Data

Sage Data This link opens in a new window
Easy access to historical and current data with source information and detail for each economic series. Economic Indicators include unemployment rates, 30 year fixed mortgage rates, new construction and other economic indicators. Banking and Finance sections of interest are Consumer credit, Flow of Funds, Freddie Mac rates, Home Mortgages and Interest Rates. Housing and Construction has data on vacancy rates, new homes sales and prices, and much more.
Offers easy access to over 5,550 data sets from over 65 source providers and 16 subject categories, including banking, criminal justice, education,energy, food and agriculture, government, health, housing and construction,industry and commerce, labor and employment, natural resources and environment, income, cost of living, stocks, transportation, and more. Sources of data include federal, local, state and international governments and organizations. Allows for customization of the data by selecting subjects, and the ability to view your data in side-by-side tables, charts and maps.
Global Financial Data (GFD) This link opens in a new window
You can login anonymously each time or you can create an account. The Real Estate databases has several data series with historical and current data on many different real estate series globally. House prices, land prices, vacancy rates and much more data is available for specific cities in the US and the world.
Contains long runs of historical data (over 6,000 series) on security markets and macroeconomic trends for over 150 countries. Includes Long-term Financial, Interest Rate, United States Daily Stock Market, Global Stock Market, Total Return, Annual Data, and Dow Jones Industrial Average Intraday. Includes online encyclopedias that describe each database.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Map and create reports that analyze social change based on data from the US Census and American Community
Survey - data is available for all years. Tables include demographic characteristics of an area down to the Census tract or zip code level. Age, sex, race, income, family structure, marital status, education, housing, house value, labor force, occupations, travel time to work, transportation.
Provides access to current and historical United States census data, including all historic decennial censuses and American Community Surveys, as well as other demographic information, such as religious organizations. Census data is current to 2010 and historical back to 1790. In addition to being a data resource, the web interface lets users create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change.
QuickFacts This link opens in a new window
Demographic, economic and business data for cities, counties, states. Allows comparison of variables for cities, counties, states.
From the U.S. Census Bureau. Quick, easy access to facts about people, business and geography.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Data from many statistics gathering organizations on a broad range of topics.
Categorized into market sectors, Statista provides access to quantitative facts on media, business, politics, and other areas. Sources of information include market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government sources. Data may be downloaded into spreadsheets and presentations. Also includes industry reports.

California and Bay Area real estate

California Association of Realtors' produce reports about California real estate - forecasts, county summaries, California affordability index and much more. Much of their content is freely available, while some is for members only.

Local realtors associations publish details about their territories. Search the internet for realtors associations for desired area.

Association of Bay Area Governments and Metropolitan Transportation Commission for the Bay area - see their easy to use Vital Signs for the Bay area by county. Contact the MTC-ABAG library for any regional transportation and regional growth planning resources.

Southern California Association of Governments Forecasts and Local Area reports for the more urban Southern California counties. The association is responsible for formulating priorities for housing and economic development in their area.

Business Times and regional Book of Lists are available online for major US economic areas. For the Bay area there are East Bay, San Francisco and Silicon Valley editions of the Book of Lists which list the top companies in various fields and includes data on the largest properties and other relevant data for real estate developers or investors. Book of Lists is available in the online Business Times package.

Market Research

Urban Land Institute is a major land use and development advocacy and research organization and publishes area-specific real estate trends.

List of useful associations in the real estate field - member based, they publish trade journals and reports that provide news, trends and statistics about their industries. They host conferences, advocate for and educate about their industry.

NAOIP publishes research reports for commercial real estate developers and hosts conferences. US focused.
NAR (National Association of Realtors) hosts conventions, advocates, educates and publishes monthly reports on national real estate markets - see Research and statistics. US focused.
NAREIT - research and statistics on REITs.

Reports by real estate firms:

Cushman and Wakefield's reports on commercial and industrial real estate for cities and states in the US (and globally.)
Knight Frank is a UK firm that publishes high level reports on real estate for all areas of the world.
Jones Lang LaSalle has research on global markets.

Income/expense analysis: Office buildings by Institute of Real Estate Management of the National Association of Realtors
Call Number: Environmental Design Library HD1394 .I38
In dollars per square foot by type of building and US metropolitan area.
Revenue, expense, and vacancy trends,
energy consumption analysis, operating ratios and leasing commissions.
Includes medical office buildings.
Building construction costs with RSMeans data.
Call Number: Mathematics/Statistics Library Reference- TH435 .B84
ISBN: 00683531
Detailed building costs by area. Aimed at the building trades.

ENR: Construction economics
Construction and building cost indices for metropolitan areas published monthly.
Select the Business Source Complete online access link. In ENR, search for title: Construction Economics. Select pdf to view.

Business & Information Studies Librarian

Hilary Schiraldi

Email Me

Contact:

Business Library
S350 Haas School of Business

Secondary menu

MBA/EWMBA 280: Real Estate Investment & Market Analysis: Home

Introduction to Resource Guide

Industry and Company Research

Data

California and Bay Area real estate

Market Research

Business & Information Studies Librarian