It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You can still access the UC Berkeley Library's services and resources. Here's how.
The Library buys and subscribes to both individual eBook titles and collections of eBooks available to campus-affiliated users and members of the public using public-access computers in the Library. Those eBooks appear on various platforms--such as Springer, ebrary, EBSCO, and Safari--but you can find eBook titles using the Library's main search tools:
Start Your Searchon the Library homepage includes nearly all of our eBooks and is probably the best place to start your search.
Browse our full list of eBook databases. If you want to search for eBooks in a specific discipline, or those published in a particular time period or place, you might want to search a specific eBook database directly.
Search EBSCO Discovery Service (Start your Search) for eBooks
Campus-affiliated users and members of the public on library public-access computers can often download some version or portion of library-licensed eBooks, but access varies by platform*. Those users can almost always read the entire book online, and can often download single chapters or a limited number of pages. Sometimes users can download an entire book without restrictions, and other times you can "check out" the eBook for a limited period of time (though the latter may be limited to campus-affiliated users). Many eBook platforms offer PDF downloads, and others require the use of free eBook viewing/reading software.
Use the tabs above to explore how to access eBook content from a few popular platforms. The following platforms offer full downloads (check-outs) of at least some eBooks in their collections:
From OskiCat's Quick Search, change the dropdown to the right of the search box from "Entire Collection" to "Available Online" and enter your search terms.
To access an eBook from the OskiCat search results, first select the link to a particular title.
Access the eBook via the link in the Link to online version(s) box. NOTE: The link will include the name of the database, not the eBook title, and often includes a notice such as "Restricted to UC campuses."