On the Same Page 2017: Hamilton: An American Musical: The Time Period
On the Same Page gives new students (and everyone else!) at Cal something to talk about. This year, we're all on the same page listening to the cast recording of Hamilton
from the Journal of the American Revolution (online)
Library Databases for Finding More
America: History and Life
Access to this resource will be discontinued effective 6/30/23 due to library budget cuts. Please use Google Scholar or BASE as alternatives. Includes all key English-language historical journals; selected historical journals from major countries, state, and local history journals; and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities.
Index of journals on the history of the US and Canada from prehistory to the present.
A collection of government publications including congressional and Executive Department materials. [1789-1838]
Search or browse legislative and executive documents of the first 14 U.S. Congresses (1789-1838) illuminating key moments in early American history such as Lewis and Clark's Expedition, Burr's conspiracy and arrest, the Treaty of the Creek Indians made by Andrew Jackson and much more. These papers cover the following broad subject areas: foreign relations, Indian affairs, commerce and navigation, military and naval affairs, the post-office department, and more. (Archive of Americana allows cross-searching of several databases: Early American Imprints , Series I and II; Early American Newspapers; American State Papers; US Congressional Serial Set.)
Full-text of legislative records and acts from the founding of the nation to 1875, including Journals of the Continental Congress, Letters of Delegates to Congress, House and Senate Journals, American State Papers, the Annals of Congress, Register of Debates and other sources for floor debates, bills, resolutions, and statutes. (American Memory - A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates, 1774-1875)
Full-text and/or index searching of the available legislative records and acts from the founding of the nation to 1875, including Journals of the Continental Congress, Letters of Delegates to Congress, House and Senate Journals, American State Papers, the Annals of Congress, Register of Debates and other sources for floor debates, bills, resolutions, and statutes.
Digitized collection of primary documents and images of American life from 1639-1800. (Evans Digital Editions - Readex Digital Collections - Archive of Americana)
Indexes items and images offering insight into every aspect of American life in the 17th and 18th centuries such as agriculture, auctions, foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, and witchcraft. Provides online access to the print and microform counterparts American Bibliography by Charles Evans, and Supplement to Evans' American Bibliography by Roger Bristol. (Archive of Americana allows cross-searching of several databases: Early American Imprints , Series I and II; Early American Newspapers; American State Papers; US Congressional Serial Set.)
Digitized collection of primary documents and images of American life from 1801-1819. (Readex Digital Collections - Shaw-Shoemaker - Archive of Americana)
Indexes books, pamphlets, broadsides, state papers and other print genres published from 1801-1819. Covers all aspects of American life including taxation, public health and diseases, slavery, military law, Indians, Christianity, cosmology, etiquette, and much more. Based on the American Bibliography of Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker. (Archive of Americana allows cross-searching of several databases: Early American Imprints , Series I and II; Early American Newspapers; American State Papers; US Congressional Serial Set.)
