It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UC Berkeley’s library buildings are open! Learn more.
Enter similar KEYWORD terms in the catalog search box and then limit your results by format, language, availability, etc on the left side of the screen.
When you find a title in the catalog that you want, note its call number and location (Main stacks, NRLF, Music Library, etc).
Search here to find full-text journal articles as well as books in the library catalog.
Specific databases for articles and literature on music to explore include:
RILM (Abstracts of Music Literature)A bibliography of music literature providing international coverage of Western and Eastern classical, pop, folk, and jazz music, as well as interdisciplinary studies on music. Includes abstracts and citations drawn from articles, books, conference proceedings, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, Festschriften, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings, videos, and reviews. (Repertoire International de Litterature Musicale - International Repertory of Music Literature) [1967 - present]
Indexes journals, books, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, Festschriften, films and videos, iconographies, critical commentaries, ethnographic recordings, and conference proceedings in the field of music, including historical musicology, ethnomusicology, instruments, voice, performance practice and notation, theory and analysis, pedagogy, liturgy, criticism, dance, and music therapy. Items are included in the database from other fields as they relate to music, such as literature, dramatic arts, visual arts, acoustics, aesthetics, linguistics, mathematics, psychology, anthropology, sociology, philosophy, and physics. RILM has international coverage, with records in over 200 languages.
Music IndexIndexing and abstracts of articles about classical and popular music, musicians, and the music industry for hundreds of periodicals. (1979 - present)
Indexes over 650 international music journals and magazines covering every aspect of the classical and popular world of music including historiographic, ethnographic, and theoretical topics. Included are book reviews, record reviews, first performances, and obituaries.
Music Periodicals DatabaseIndexes over 350 international music periodicals from over 20 countries and feature music articles and obituaries appearing in The New York Times and The Washington Post. Covers nearly all aspects of the world of music, from scholarly studies to the latest crazes. [1874 - present]. Formerly known as the International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP).