It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UC Berkeley’s library buildings are open! Learn more.
The Dictionary of Islamic Architectureprovides the fullest range of artistic, technical, archaeological, cultural and biographical data for the entire geographical and chronological spread of Islamic architecture - from West Africa through the Middle East to Indonesia, and from the seventh to the eighteenth centuries of the Common Era.
Gateway to art research and access point for Oxford art reference resources, including Grove Art Online, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Gateway to art research and access point for Oxford art reference resources, including Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Authoritative multidisciplinary research guides, including annotated bibliographies and encyclopedia entries, covering the humanities and social sciences.
Provides access to carefully selected articles and other reference sources in the following areas: African Studies, Anthropology, Atlantic History, Chinese Studies, Classics, Communication, Criminology, Education, Geography, International Law, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Linguistics, Medieval Studies, Military History, Music, Philosophy, Renaissance and Reformation, Social Work, Sociology, and Victorian Literature.
Contains authoritative, up-to-date biographical information on more than one million artists.
Contains authoritative, up-to-date biographical information on more than one million artists, A-Z, from antiquity to the present with world-wide coverage for painters, graphic artists, sculptors, architects, designers, photographers, video and installation artists, artisans, etc. Important historical sources Thieme-Becker/Vollmer, the Nurnberger Kunstlerlexikon and the Lexikon der Kunstlerinnen are also included. New articles are published immediately and the content is regularly updated and expanded. In addition to the biography, articles contain information on the artist's creative work, art historical significance, a selection of works with locations, exhibitions, and bibliographical references.
Covers the Islamic religion, and Islamic world in general.
Based on the 10-volume print encyclopedia and covers the Islamic religion and the Islamic world in general, both current and historical, including Iran, Central Asia, the Indian subcontinent, Indonesia, the Ottoman Empire and other Islamic countries. Includes articles on political and religious institutions, history, topography, and distinguished Muslims both past and present.
Multi-disciplinary reference work and research tool about Iranian history and civilization.
The disciplines represented include, but are not confined to, anthropology, archaeology, geography, art history, ethnology, sociology, economics, history of religion, philosophy, mysticism, history of science and medicine, Islamic history, botany, zoology, folklore, development of agriculture and industry, political science, international relations, and diplomatic history. Articles are in English with multilingual bibliographies. [Must use Internet Explorer to access.]
Scholarly online interdisciplinary, trans-historical, and global encyclopedia covering women and Islamic cultures in every region where there have been significant Muslim populations.
Includes critical essays on women, Muslim and non-Muslim and Islamic cultures in every region where there have been significant Muslim populations. Covers every topic for which there is significant research, examining these regions from the period just before the rise of Islam to the present. Online counterpart of the 6-volume print edition published by Brill in 2003.