Skip to main content

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

Classics Resources: Indexes and Full Text Databases

~

Accessing Classics Publications in the Age of Coronavirus
 

Access to the UC Berkeley Library's print collection is currently suspended due to COVID-19.  However, the Library's online resources remain accessible: Some of the most important Classics subscription databases and open access resources may be reached through the guide on this page, and additional resources in Classics and related fields may be located through the Library's "A-Z Databases" directory.  The Library's e-books and online journal subscriptions, and all subscription databases, may be found in OskiCat, and are most easily discovered by searching for the ISBN/ISSN or the title while limiting the search to "Available Online" rather than "Entire Collection".

 
Of course, many print books have not previously been available in digital form.  Fortunately, in addition to older books in the public domain that have long been available on HathiTrust, it is now possible to access scanned copies of some UC Library publications that are not in the public domain through HathiTrust's Emergency Temporary Access Service.  In order to use this service, UC Berkeley students, staff, and faculty should log on to CalNet through the button in the upper right hand corner of the HathiTrust website.
 
Some publishers have made portions of their e-book catalogs freely available during the crisis.  The German Archaeological Institute has compiled a list of publishers offering free archaeologically oriented content along with additional open access resources; another online resource list is focused on the archaeology of Greece.  More broadly, a group of librarians and others is continually updating this list of publishers across disciplines which are offering some of their publications freely online in response to COVID-19.     
 
In case you are unable to locate the Classics research materials you need online, please contact the Classics Librarian, Jeremy Ott, for assistance. 

Indexes & Full Text Databases

For Library help in Classics

Jeremy Ott
Classics and Germanic Studies Librarian
jott@berkeley.edu