Library Guides: College Writing R4B: Performances of Protest: Articles & More

Find Background Information

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Online encyclopedia of philosophical concepts and philosophers written by leading scholars in the field.
A dynamic reference work in which each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field.
Oxford Reference Online - Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
Basic online encylopedias from Oxford University Press, including the World Encyclopedia, World Flags, World Maps and more.
Access to Oxford University Press encyclopedias including: World Encyclopedia, World Flags, World Maps and more.
Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
Collection of full-text encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources.
A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources. Titles include: the History of Dispute series, Encyclopedia of Modern China, Encyclopedia of Religion, the Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography and many more resources. (Formerly titled Gale Virtual Reference Library)

Scholarly article databases

All Topics

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database of scholarly and general interest journals, books, and reports. [1865 - present]
Articles from broad array of peer-reviewed journals, popular and trade magazines and news sources for nearly all areas of study; available in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 1000 scholarly journals, including more than 2 million articles, from a wide range of disciplines. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR. [dates vary].
For more sophisticated search capabilities, go directly to JSTOR advanced search.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Several hundred digitized scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. [1993 - present]
Topics include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Books are available in PDF format, searchable and retrievable to the chapter level, with no restrictions on downloading or printing.

Theater and Performance

Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Index of performing arts periodicals. (formerly known as International Index to the Performing Arts) [1864 - present]
Indexes and abstracts scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals, documents, biographical profiles, conference papers, obituaries, interviews, discographies, and reviews. Covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry including dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, broadcast arts, circus performance, comedy, storytelling, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic and more.
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Online bibliography of materials indexed by the Theatre Research Data Center.
Contains the full text of journals, monographs and reference books. Includes indexing of academic journals, magazines, newspapers, dissertations, and monographs from over 125 countries. (International Bibliography of Theatre)
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles and other literature supporting critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. (Modern Languages Association Bibliography) [1926 - present]
Sponsored by the Modern Language Association.

Newspapers and Magazines

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Full-text information and perspectives from U.S. and international news sources. (America's newspapers - NewsBank - global newsbank)
Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources. Offers strong regional coverage, indexing more than California newspapers such as Contra Costa Times (1995-current), Sacramento Bee (1984-current), San Francisco Chronicle (1985-current), and San Jose Mercury News (1985-current). Search categories include: California newspapers (121 titles), Greater Los Angeles (54 titles), major metropolitan titles (13 titles), Spanish-language news sources (48 titles), the World (almost 2000 titles), US (855 titles).
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to international, national, local newspapers, and wire services, as well as radio and television transcripts. Database also includes business, medical, industry, and legislative magazines, journals, and newsletters. Also includes laws from the U.S., all 50 states, and law reviews. Wide geographic coverage and translations from foreign-language sources, as well as news services like the Associated Press, Agence France Press, El Pai.
Nexis Uni allows users to set up personal accounts to personalize your research experience. Nexis Uni has replaced LexiNexis Academic. [dates vary]
ProQuest Major Daily Newspapers (Historic & Current) This link opens in a new window
Access to national and regional newspapers from across the U.S.
Includes New York Times (full text, Historical, 1881-1985, with Index, 1851-1993 + 1980-current). Los Angeles Times (full text, Historical, 1881-2010 + 1985-current). Wall Street Journal (full text, Historical, 1889-1995 + 1984-current). Chicago Tribune (full text, Historical 1849-2010 + 1895- current). The Washington Post (full text, Historical, 1877-2002, 1987-current). Also indexes the New York Times Magazine (indexed from 1986-current, full text from 1997), the New York Times Book Review (indexed from 1986-current, full text from 1997), and the WSJ: the Wall Street Journal Magazine (full text from 2011-present).

Lists of Databases by Subject Area

Identify Search Terms

How to identify the best terms for relevant search results.

More information:
MIT Libraries "Database Search Tips: Boolean operators"

Use Keywords to Get Results

Google Scholar Preferences

Google Scholar is an easy way to do interdisciplinary research, and with some settings changes can become even more useful. You need a Google account to use some of these features. To make Google display links to full text of articles that Berkeley subscribes to: Open Scholar and click on the in the upper corner, then click Settings, then click Library Links. Once in Library Links, enter the word Berkeley and click search (if you are connected to the internet via the campus, Google Scholar will have the correct boxes selected for you). In the list of options that appears, check the boxes for

Open WorldCat - Library Search
University of California Berkeley - Get it at UC
University of California Berkeley - ProQuest FullText

If you see UC e-links, ignore this as it will go away by Nov 2021. Click save and then you can start searching.

Secondary menu

College Writing R4B: Performances of Protest: Articles & More

Access Library Resources from Off Campus

Find Background Information

Scholarly article databases

Identify Search Terms

Use Keywords to Get Results

Google Scholar Preferences