Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
3 libraries are now open
UC Library Search is here!
Log in to your Library account
Hours and Maps
Connect from Off Campus
UC Berkeley Home
Search this Guide
Disability Studies: Primary Sources
This website will help you find the best library databases, search tools, and reference sources for Disability Studies.
Film & Media
Encyclopedias & More
Disability in the Modern World: History of a Social Movement
Online collection of newspapers, videos, texts and images that document the rise of a social movement around Disability. Includes material in many formats and from a wide range of disciplines.
A vast collections of resources from a variety of institutions, including many from UC Berkeley, are searchable through the
Online Archive of California
. Some are online, such as photographs from the
Disabled Students Program Photographic Collections, 1970's-1992
. Others, like the
Disability Rights Leadership Archive Video Collections
Disability Rights Education and Defense Fund Records, 1970-2000
can be located online, but need to be used onsite.
The Disability Rights and Independent Living Movement
is a rich collection of primary sources exploring the social and political history of the disability movement from the 1960's to the present, including oral histories and archival papers.
Collections such as the
Southern California Rainbow Society of the Deaf Record
show the importance of intersectionality -- also note that "disability" does not retrieve this collection, search instead for Deaf.
is a gateway to digital collections across the ten UC campuses and a number of educational and cultural heritage institutions across California.
Disabled Students Program UCB
Judy Taylor and Billy Barner, ca. 1969
Film & Media >>
Apr 28, 2021 9:22 AM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.