Generous giving from donors has a long tradition in the Environmental Design Library. A gift from Phoebe Apperson Hearst created the Architecture Library in 1903, and the Beatrix Farrand Endowment Fund has helped build one of the best landscape architecture collections in the world. Since then many donors have made contributions of books and funds, enriching our collections and making possible our recent renovation.
Financial support is very important to the Environmental Design Library—contributions provide funding for expensive resources, specialized equipment, conservation of rare books, and exhibits or special projects. Financial gifts may be unrestricted or support a specific library program, service, or collection. In addition to cash, the Library welcomes securities and other real or tangible property.
- Endowments - Endowment funds may be established with a gift of $50,000 or more to support library collections, programs, projects or positions. These endowed funds provide the Environmental Design Library, in perpetuity, with an annual income that ensures our collections and programs remain strong and vital regardless of the strength of state and campus budgetary support. Donors may choose to support specific programs, projects, or library materials in a discipline (architecture, landscape architecture and environmental planning, or city and regional planning) of the donor's choice. We encourage interested donors to contact us or the Library Development Office to discuss possible endowment opportunities.
- Major Gifts - Contributions from alumni and friends to the Campaign for Wurster Hall made possible the recent renovation of the Library and other parts of the building. The College of Environmental Design and the Library express their gratitude for contributions to the Wurster Hall Renovation Fund by listing all major gift donors on a recognition plaque installed in Wurster Hall. Additionally, donors of significant gifts will be offered naming opportunities for improved areas subject to campus approval procedures.
- Memorial Gifts - Contributions given in memory or in honor of a person or to mark a special occasion are recognized with a bookplate and family members notified. For a gift of $1,000, a named memorial book fund can be established, and for gifts totaling $50,000 or more, a named memorial library endowment fund can be created.
- Matching Gifts - Some firms match their employee's gifts to higher education. Ask your company's Matching Gifts Coordinator, or call 510/642-9377, and we will provide you with a list of companies with matching gift programs.
- Planned Gifts - You may invest in the Library's future by including it in your estate plans without decreasing assets during your lifetime.
- Bequests - The simplest method for a planned gift is to include the Library in your will. Bequests can take the form of cash, securities, or other property, and may be a specific sum or a stated percentage of the estate.
- Trusts - A trust can be established to produce income for the donor or others during their lifetimes and ultimately provide future support for the Library. Cal's Gift Planning staff can provide assistance in determining an appropriate arrangement to meet your individual needs.
Donating Books or Journals
Gifts of scholarly and professional materials have historically represented a significant element in the development of our outstanding research collections. We welcome individual gifts of books and journals, but due to space and staff limitations, we must be judicious in accepting large contributions. Donors should be aware that the materials offered may be duplicates or outside the scope of the collection. In this case these materials may be sold in the Library's Book Sale Shop, and the proceeds used to purchase other materials for the collections. Information on appraisals and tax deductions is available.
Environmental Design Library Wish List
Please consider donating or underwriting the following items:
- 9 Cities One Artist, by Laura Davidson. [Boston, MA], 2009. 168 pp. $800.
- Jean Nouvel Complete Works, 1970-2008, edited by Philip Jodidio. Cologne: Taschen, 2008. 2 vols, signed, limited ed. (1000 copies) $700.
- Oscar Niemeyer, by Oscar Niemeyer and Matthieu Salvaing. New York, Assouline, 2009. 168 pp. $550.
Make a donation directly to the Environmental Design Library using the Elizabeth Byrne Fund for the Environmental Design Library form or the Library Fund Online Gift Form.
Contribute by Mail
Please make checks payable to UC Regents and specify that it is for the Environmental Design Library. Send along with any instructions regarding the donation to:
David Eifler, Interim Head
Environmental Design Library
University of California
210 Wurster Hall
Berkeley CA 94720-6000