Library Guides: ESPM C167/PH C160 Environmental Health and Development: Find Articles

In-class Exercise, February 25

Link to In-class Exercise

Top Research Databases for Environmental Health & Development

Use one or more of these databases to find articles and other material relevant to research on environmental health and development.

Environmental health and development are multidisciplinary subject areas and you may need to explore more than one database. If you are unsure which database(s) to use, please ask a librarian.

To get to the full article from a database citation, click Get it at UC

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts in the fields of biomedicine and health, as well as portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.

PubMed includes MEDLINE, PubMed Central (PMC), other biomedical and life science journals, and the NCBI Bookshelf. PubMed also provides links to other NCBI molecular biology resources, including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system.
Note: The link above goes to a specially configured version of PubMed for UC Berkeley users that will display the Get It at UC button for full text article access. To use the free public version, please click here.

To learn how to use PubMed most effectively, see the library's PubMed guide.

Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
Find citations for journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and government publications in the agricultural and environmental sciences. [1960 - present].
AES incorporates the formerly titled "Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management" database - which includes Environmental Impact Statements - plus the databases AGRICOLA (1970-current) and TOXLINE (1999-current).
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Citations for articles and reports in social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology as well as ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture.
Indexes journal articles, essays, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology as well as ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture. This database combines the resources of Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database of scholarly and general interest journals, books, and reports. [1865 - present]
Articles from broad array of peer-reviewed journals, popular and trade magazines and news sources for nearly all areas of study; available in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Citations to, plus some full text for, journal articles and books on a wide variety of environmental topics. [1888 - present]
Subjects include agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, environmental technology, geography, marine & freshwater science, natural resources, pollution & waste management, public policy, renewable energy sources, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Contains millions of records from over 2,500 U.S. and international titles, plus full text of over 1,100 journals and nearly 200 monographs.
Global Health Archive This link opens in a new window
1911- 1983. Indexes journals, books, reports, and more on the topics such as environmental and occupational health, food safety and hygiene, infectious diseases, medical microbiology, nutrition, public health, toxicology, and zoonoses.
Global Index Medicus This link opens in a new window
Access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low-middle income countries; full text available for nearly half of the citations in this database.
"Search all of WHO's Regional Indexes Medici together. The contents of the Global Index Medicus (GIM) come from the Regional Indexes Medici, coordinated by each WHO Regional Office:
African Index Medicus
Scientific and Technical Literature of Latin America and the Caribbean
Index Medicus for Eastern Mediterranean Region
Index Medicus for South-East Asia Region
Western Pacific Region Index Medicus "
PAIS International This link opens in a new window
Indexes books, journals, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, and web sources related to public policy, politics, economics, and social issues worldwide. (Public Affairs Information Service) [1915 - present]
Includes publications from over 120 countries. Some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. The Archive covers English-language material only.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences and more.
Contains over 50 million records with more than half the content originating from outside North America. Indexes over 21,000 journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences, technology, medicine, arts, and humanities.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Allows cited reference searching. (ISI Web of Knowledge) [1900 - present]
Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present).
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across many disciplines and sources including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover any given field more completely). Can be used with "Get it at UC" to access the full text of many articles.

Use these instructions to set up access to full-text via UCB subscriptions.

And here's a friendly reminder:

Conditions of Use for Electronic Resources

Get Connected

Connecting from Off Campus
Set up the VPN (pick the Library Access and Full Tunnel option) or add the proxy bookmarklet to your browser to access Library e-resources from off-campus.
On-campus Wifi
You will need to use the Eduroam wifi network to connect to Library e-resources while on campus.
Student Tech Support
Get help with your technology at several campus locations or via Zoom, phone, or email.
Student Technology Equity Program
Need-based loans of technology hardware to grad and undergrad students.
Software @ Berkeley
Campus licensed software

What is Peer Review?

Database Top Tips, when searching any database

Combine terms with AND or OR
Search for your term as a word in the title or title or abstract (You may need to use Advanced Search; in PubMed you can also use Field Tags)
Use the Similar Articles link, once you find a set of relevant citations (sometimes it is labelled Related Citations, Similar Records, etc.)
Use Filters (sometimes called Facets) (eg, Ages, Article types, Languages, etc.; some databases have a "Peer Reviewed" or "Scholarly" filter!)
Use Thesaurus Terms (sometimes called Descriptors; in PubMed they are called MeSH: Medical Subject Headings)
Always keep in mind the question you are trying to answer when creating a search strategy and when reviewing the articles you find

Secondary menu

ESPM C167/PH C160 Environmental Health and Development: Find Articles

In-class Exercise, February 25

Top Research Databases for Environmental Health & Development

Get Connected

What is Peer Review?

Database Top Tips, when searching any database