ES101A Social Science Research Methods (Spring 2025)

To the colonized, the term 'research' is conflated with European colonialism; the ways in which academic research has been implicated in the throes of imperialism remains a painful memory. This essential volume explores intersections of imperialism and research - specifically, the ways in which imperialism is embedded in disciplines of knowledge and tradition as 'regimes of truth.' Concepts such as 'discovery' and 'claiming' are discussed and an argument presented that the decolonization of research methods will help to reclaim control over indigenous ways of knowing and being. Now in its eagerly awaited third edition, this bestselling book includes a co-written introduction and features contributions from indigenous scholars on the book's continued relevance to current research. It also features a chapter with twenty-five indigenous projects and a collection of poetry.

Community-based participatory research (CBPR) emerged in response to the longstanding tradition of "top-down" research-studies in which social scientists observe social phenomena and community problems as outsiders, separate from the participants' daily lives. CBPR is more immersive, fosteringpartnerships between academic and community organizations that increase the value and consequence of the research for all partners. The current perspectives gleaned from this school of research have been wildly well-received, in no small part because they address the complexity of the humanexperience in their conclusions.Handbook of Community-Based Participatory Research codifies the methods and theories of this research approach and articulates an expansive vision of health that includes gender equality, safe and adequate housing, and freedom from violence. Topic-based chapters apply the theory and methods of CBPRto real world problems affecting women, ethnic and racial minorities, and immigrant communities such as sexual violence, exposure to environmental toxins, and lack of access to preventive care as well as suggesting future directions for effective, culturally sensitive research.Handbook of Community-Based Participatory Research is required reading for academics, policy makers, and students seeking meaningful social change through scholarship.

The Handbook of Critical and Indigenous Methodologies is the only handbook to make connections regarding many of the perspectives of the "new" critical theorists and emerging indigenous methodologies.Built on the foundation of the landmark SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research, the Handbook of Critical and Indigenous Methodologies extends beyond the investigation of qualitative inquiry itself to explore the indigenous and nonindigenous voices that inform research, policy, politics, and social justice. Editors Norman K. Denzin, Yvonna S. Lincoln, and Linda Tuhiwai Smith explore in depth some of the newer formulations of critical theories and many indigenous perspectives, and seek to make transparent the linkages between the two. Key Features- Contains global examples including South African, Hawaiian, Maori, Central African and Islamic ones.. Includes a "Who's Who" of educators and researchers in critical methodologies. . Provides a comprehensive body of work that represents the state of the art for critical methodologies and indigenous discourses . Covers the history of critical and indigenous theory and how it came to inform and impact qualitative research . Offers an historical representation of critical theory, critical pedagogy, and indigenous discourse. . Explores critical theory and action theory, and their hybrid discourses: PAR, feminism, action research, social constructivism, ethnodrama, community action research, poetics.. Presents a candid conversation between indigenous and nonindigenous discourses. This Handbook serves as a guide to help Western researchers understand the new and reconfigured territories they might wish to explore.

This second edition of Research as Resistance builds upon the resistance-based methods featured in the first edition and contributes to the recent resurgence of marginalized knowledges in social science research, drawing from Indigenous, feminist, and critical race scholarship. Bringing together the theory and practice of anti-oppressive research, this text emphasizes the importance of critical reflexivity and participatory methods. The contributors to this volume, including both emerging and established scholars, write from marginalized perspectives, explore a variety of methodologies, and address current theoretical issues in social justice research, discussing ontological and epistemological considerations within the field. This substantially revised and updated edition features new chapters that address narrative research, Foucauldian methods, community action research, queer theory, and insurgent Indigenous research. The text provides a solid foundation in specific methodologies while also highlighting their emancipatory potential. With a unique emphasis on both the theoretical foundations and practical applications of socially just research, this collection is an invaluable resource for senior undergraduate and graduate courses on anti-oppressive practice and research theory and methods in the social sciences.

Research Justice (RJ) is a strategic framework and methodological intervention that seeks to transform structural inequities in research. Research Justice: Methodologies for Social Change builds upon the methodological frameworks developed by the national non-profit organization, DataCenter Research for Justice and is the first book to take a radical approach to socially just, community centred research. Challenging traditional models for conducting social science research within marginalized populations, it examines the relationships and intersections between research, knowledge construction, and political power/legitimacy in society. Presenting a new and highly innovative concept of Collective Ceremonial Research Responsiveness, it envisions equal political power and legitimacy for different forms of knowledge including the cultural, spiritual and experiential. The book examines how the co-existence of these various forms of knowledge can lead to greater equality in public policies and laws that rely on data and research to produce social change. Offering a much-needed analysis of the intersections between Research Methods, Public Policy, Cultural Studies, Anthropology, and Sociology, this unique book will be of wide interest to researchers and students in a variety of disciplines