It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UC Berkeley’s library buildings are open! Learn more.
There are many independent websites available to the general public that contain resources. Here are few, for more specific resources related to African American and African Diaspora Studies, Asian American and Asian Diaspora Studies, Comparative Ethnic Studies, and Native American Studies, please visit those specific library guides by going to the Home page of this guide.
Art by Chip Thomas and Jess X Snow
Websites for Asian American and Asian Diaspora Studies
This website features the Asian American Movement 40th Anniversary collection from the archives of the Asian Community Center (once located on Kearny St. in San Francisco). The collection focuses on 1968 because that year was the beginning point for the Asian American movement. 1968 witnessed world changing events and many Asian Americans responded to make the world a better place for humanity. This project is sponsored by the Asian Community Center History Group.
This tool invites us to see both the specificity of group-differentiated oppressions and their relationships to one another within racial capitalism. The importance of studying Asian American history in this way lies in the urgent need to work toward democracy amid rising forms of authoritarianism and nationalism. These dangers are the products of American empire, which has accumulated power and wealth for the few by producing and leveraging divisions among the many. True democracy will depend on our ability to imagine new ways of being that reject racial subjugation and supremacy in favor of “a new society based more on human values,” as the great Grace Lee Boggs put it so well.
A digital archive of Berkeley's transformation in the late-1960s & 1970s. The site features projects that document different social movements including the Third World Liberation Front providing archival sources and timelines.
FoundSF is a wiki that invites history buffs, community leaders, and San Francisco citizens of all kinds to share their unique stories, images, and videos from past and present. There are over 1,800 articles here presenting primary sources, essays, and images from history.
The Freedom Archives contains over 12,000 hours of audio and video recordings as well as print materials dating primarily from the late-1960s to the mid-90s. These collections chronicle the progressive history of the Bay Area, the United States, and international movements for liberation and social justice.
This Portal is a gateway to Plateau peoples' cultural materials held in multiple repositories including WSU's Manuscripts, Archives and Special Collections, the Northwest Museum of Art and Culture, the National Anthropological Archives and the National Museum of the American Indian at the Smithsonian Institution. The materials in the Portal have been chosen and curated by tribal representatives
This is a gateway to publicly-accessible data and images for all objects held at the Phoebe A. Hearst Museum of Anthropology, University of California, Berkeley. We invite you to explore and discover our collections. Please note that the information provided herein comes from a variety of sources and represents our best effort to provide accurate information. Records for many objects include their original catalog cards, which often date to the early 1900s. These cards may include tribal names and terminology that are today considered unacceptable or offensive, or that may prove inaccurate with further analysis. They have been included to illustrate the information that originally accompanied the objects.