Skip to main content

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

European Union: Home

EU Depository Library

EU Depository Library

Campus Library Map

Select the image below to see the full campus library map.

See also:

EU News

Loading ...

EU Web Guides

There is a preponderance of  guides on European Union legal information.  For general guides covering additional aspects try these below. 

Duke University 
Princeton University
Cornell University
University of Exeter
University of Illinois
University of Iowa

European Union Information at UC Berkeley

The UC Berkeley libraries have been a depository for documents from the European Union since 1964 and house documents and publications from preceding institutions such as the European Coal and Steel Community.  Older documents can generally be found in Oskicat.  For current documents try the sources below. UC Berkeley is also an EU Center of Excellence and a recognized Eurostat Research Entity. 

EU Reference Books

Key European Union Databases

Catalog of Council Libraries. Online catalog of the European Council, with access to EU reports, documents and publications. 

Curia. General portal for the EU Court system. Includes information and case law for the following EU courts.

Debates of the European Parliament.  Verbatim reports of parliamentary proceedings.

EUROPA. Official web page of the EU with access to documents, links to EU institutions, and explanations of the functions of the EU.

EURLEX.  Portal for European Union Law and Treaties. The new site is called New Eurlex but all information has not migrated over.

European Council Register. Includes all non-sensitive documents submitted to the European Council or to one of its preparatory bodies.

Europeana.  Paintings, music, films and books from Europe's galleries, libraries, archives and museums.

Eurostat. Portal for EU statistics, including general and regional statistics, economic and financial statistics and much more.

European Union Official Documents. Includes the Official Journal, along with documents of individual institutions, agencies, and other bodies.

SCADPlus.  Summaries of EU activities organized by subject. No longer updated: see Topics of the European Union for current information.

Print and Online Reference

The ABC of European Union Law.  Brief summary of EU institutions and the sources of European Union law.

European Union Encyclopedia and Directory.  Annual referemce book and encyclopedia published by Routledge.

EU ABC.  Helpful dictionary of Eurojargon and acronyms.

EU WhoisWho.   Official Directory of the European Union.

Oxford Handbook of the European Union.  Handbook on the history, functioning, and nature of the European integration, covering institutions, policies, and events.