Library Guides: Geography: Articles

Keeping Current

There are many different services and technologies that can help you keep up-do-date with the academic literature.

Alerts by Topic

Article databases will often let you set up email alerts when articles matching your search criteria are published. Below are a few databases that cover a broad range of publications.

Web of Knowledge: includes Web of Science, BIOSIS Previews, CAB, INSPEC, and Zoological Record. Saved searches and alerts require free registration.
» Saving your search and setting alerts (video)

Scopus: alerts require free registration.

CSA Auto Alerts: includes Agricola, Aquatic Science and Fisheries Abstracts, BioOne, Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management, GeoRef, and other interdisciplinary databases.
» Guide to setup/edit alerts

Google Scholar: alerts require a Google account.

Alerts by Journal

Having tables of contents e-mailed directly to you as new issues are published can be a good way to keep up with a particular journal. Many journals also broadcast new content on X/Twitter or via RSS feeds.

Consolidated Journal Alerts

JournalTOCs is a free service that provides access in one place to the most recent tables of contents for over 12,000 scholarly journals. Alerts can be emailed or sent to an RSS feed.

Individual Journal Alerts

Popular journals in geography:

Annals of the American Association of Geographers: journal content alerts are available via e-mail or RSS feeds under the dropdown "Subscribe."
Antipode: Enter your email address to receive alerts in the right-hand box.
Elsevier ScienceDirect Alerts: if you're a new user, select "Register Now." Complete the registration, then select "Alerts" from the top navigation bar.
International Journal of Geographical Information Science: journal content alerts are available via e-mail or RSS feeds under the dropdown "Subscribe."
Nature: register for a free account, then sign up for an E-alert.
Oxford University Press: each journal home page has an "Alerting Services" section on the lower right-hand side.
PLoS (Public Library of Science): journal content alerts are available via e-mail or RSS feeds. Scroll down to the section entitled Journal "RSS feeds."
Progress in Human Geography: Email alerts and RSS feed subscription available through box on the right-hand side.
Science Magazine: click on "E-Mail Alerts" or "RSS Feeds."
Springer: click on "Alerts" in left sidebar.

Tip: Use UC Library Search's Journal Search to locate the journal's home page.

Databases

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Allows cited reference searching. (ISI Web of Knowledge) [1900 - present]
Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present).
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across many disciplines and sources including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover any given field more completely). Can be used with "Get it at UC" to access the full text of many articles.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences and more.
Contains over 50 million records with more than half the content originating from outside North America. Indexes over 21,000 journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences, technology, medicine, arts, and humanities.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly journals, books, maps, US and Canadian dissertations, conference proceedings, reports, and government documents published worldwide on geology and other subjects within the geosciences. [1785 - present]
Includes all publications of the USGS. Database covers the geology of North America from 1693 to present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to present.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Citations to, plus some full text for, journal articles and books on a wide variety of environmental topics. [1888 - present]
Subjects include agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, environmental technology, geography, marine & freshwater science, natural resources, pollution & waste management, public policy, renewable energy sources, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Contains millions of records from over 2,500 U.S. and international titles, plus full text of over 1,100 journals and nearly 200 monographs.

Secondary menu

Geography: Articles

Keeping Current

Alerts by Topic

Alerts by Journal

Databases