It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Update: Moffitt Library is closed for seismic work, but most other libraries are open. Learn more.
The UC Berkeley Library houses a very selective collection of children's literature shelved in the Main Stacks, the Morrison Library and the Northern Regional Library Facility (NRLF). There are also many non-English language children's books held in other campus libraries such as the East Asian Library. The Berkeley Library's collection specializes in literature for school-aged children, books supporting multicultural education and, over the years, has acquired many award-winning books.
Use the UC Berkeley online catalog,OskiCat, to find children's books in the collection:
Identify books by title (where the wild things are) or author (myers, walter dean)
Search subject: juvenile literature (jazz juvenile fiction)
Browse: keyword: children's literature collection
Browse: keyword: jack graves early reader collection (to locate the special collection of early readers and primers donated by Berkeley alum Jack Graves)
For academic criticism of children's literature or literature in general, consult the following resources:
Contains thousands of essays from the Gale literary criticism books including: Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism (CMLC), Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC), Drama Criticism (DC), Literature Criticism from 1400-1800 (LC), Poetry Criticism (PC), Shakespearean Criticism (SC), Short Story Criticism (SSC), and Twentieth Century Literary Criticism (TCLC).
Topics include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Books are available in PDF format, searchable and retrievable to the chapter level, with no restrictions on downloading or printing.
The Library subscribes to hundreds of databases. Consult the A-Z Databases listto see them. Search for or browse online resources by subject (broad academic disciplines) or by database type (article databases, book and film reviews, statistics and numeric data, etc.)
Awarded annually for outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values."
"Indexes book reviews of English-language fiction and nonfiction books for children and adults, from over 8000 leading magazines from the United States, Canada, and Great Britain. Includes several thousand full text reviews. For book reviews published from 1905 to 1982 go to Book Review Digest Retrospective which can be searched separately or simultaneously."
The Baldwin Library of Historical Children’s Literature in the Department of Special Collections at the University of Florida's George A. Smathers Libraries contains more than 130,000 books and periodicals published in the United States and Great Britain from the mid-1600s to present day. Noteworthy items include Robinson Crusoe, Pilgrim’s Progress, Aesop’s Fables, and Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland.
The ICDL collection includes digitized scans of 4619 children's books in 59 languages. The majority of the collection consists of contemporary materials that are in copyright. The remainder of the collection is made up of important historical materials that are in the public domain.
The ICDL collection has two primary audiences. The first audience is children ages 3-13, as well as librarians, teachers, parents, and caregivers who work with children of these ages. The second audience is international scholars and researchers in the area of children's literature.
The ICDL was created by an interdisciplinary research team at the University of Maryland in cooperation with the Internet Archive. Funded primarily by the National Science Foundation (NSF), the Institute for Museum and Library Services (IMLS), and Microsoft Research