It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Digital Library of the CaribbeandLOC is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. It provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical, and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
Early Images of Latin America (Tulane University)Provides over 1,800 images from the Latin American Library’s Image Archive documenting people, places, landscapes, urban and rural scenes in various countries of the region from the mid-19th century to c. 1910.
Ecologies of Migrant CareEcologies of Migrant Care is an initiative of the Hemispheric Institute of Performance and Politics at NYU. Their goal is to research, document and make visible the region-wide humanitarian emergency that is resulting from the ongoing expulsion of refugees and migrants from Central America. Offers nearly 100 interviews.
El Archivo Histórico de Revistas Argentinas (AhiRa)El Archivo Histórico de Revistas Argentinas (AhiRa) agrupa a docentes e investigadores de distintas disciplinas —letras, historia, ciencias de la comunicación—, interesados en el estudio de la prensa, las revistas culturales y las publicaciones periódicas en diálogo con los debates estéticos, políticos e ideológicos de la historia cultural argentina
Human Rights Archive (Columbia University)An initiative of CUL's Center for Human Rights Documentation and Research, the Human Rights Web Archive is an effort to preserve and ensure access to freely available human rights resources created mainly by non-governmental organizations, national human rights institutions, and individuals.
Access World NewsThis link opens in a new windowFull-text information and perspectives from U.S. and international news sources. (America's newspapers - NewsBank - global newsbank)
Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources. Offers strong regional coverage, indexing more than California newspapers such as Contra Costa Times (1995-current), Sacramento Bee (1984-current), San Francisco Chronicle (1985-current), and San Jose Mercury News (1985-current). Search categories include: California newspapers (121 titles), Greater Los Angeles (54 titles), major metropolitan titles (13 titles), Spanish-language news sources (48 titles), the World (almost 2000 titles), US (855 titles).
Part of the America's Historical Newspapers collection, Caribbean Newspapers, Series 1, 1718-1876, is a fully searchable collection of over 130 18th- and 19th-century newspapers from twenty-two Caribbean islands. Most newspapers were published in the English language, but a number of Danish-, French-, and Spanish-language titles are included. Essential for researching colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce and relations, New World slavery, and related topics.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily ReportsThis link opens in a new windowForeign Broadcast Information Service provides online access to the daily reports, compiled by the Central Intelligence Agency, of translations of news stories and broadcasts from around the world. Includes coverage of the Foreign Broadcasting Information Service Daily Reports and Annexes from 1974-1996. For post-1996 coverage, see the database World News Connection
Information from thousands of foreign media sources, including political speeches, television and radio broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, and more, offering an extensive collection of military, political, scientific and technical reports from countries around the world, translated into English. The original mission of the FBIS was to monitor, record, transcribe and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories. Coverage is global with the exception of the FBIS Annexes (a supplementary publication created by the U.S. intelligence community to benefit analysts and policy makers from April 1974 through September 1996) and Western European regional broadcasts.
Historical Newspapers (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowA newspaper digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for significant newspapers dating back to the 18th Century. Every issue of each title includes the complete paper-cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images. (New York Times - San Francisco Chronicle - Wall Street Journal - Washington Post - Chicago Defender - Chicago Tribune - Los Angeles Times) [1849 - 2003]
A newspaper digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for significant US newspapers. Our subscription includes access to Chicago Defender (1910-1975); Chicago Tribune (1849-1990); Los Angeles Times (1881-1990); The New York Times (1851-2010) with Index (1851-1993); San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922); The Wall Street Journal (1889-1996); and The Washington Post (1877-1997).
Latin American Anarchist and Labour Periodicals OnlineThis link opens in a new windowThis collection contains the periodicals that have been accumulated by the Austrian anarchist, historian and collector Max Nettlau (1865-1944), together with a number of later additions, held at the International Institute of Social History (IISH) in Amsterdam. The collection of 971 titles provides a richness of documentation pertaining explicitly to the formative anarchist and anarcho-syndicalist episode in the history of Latin American labor movements. (Brill) [1890-1920]
The collection contains numerous rare, and in many cases unique, titles. Included, among many others, are the Argentine periodicals La Protesta, La Vanguardia and Acción Obrera; the Brazilian O Exempio, Jornal do Povo and Battaglia; the Chilean Voz del Mar; and the Mexican Ariete, Redención Obrera, Revolución Social and El Sindicalista.
This growing archive of Latin American newspapers contains more than 150,000 pages of content. New content is being added regularly and will eventually contain more than 1.5 million pages. Included in the collection are: Comercio from Peru; El Dictamen, Mexican Herald and Excelsior from Mexico; Prensa and Razon from Argentina; and more. For more Latin American newspapers, search the newly released Latin American Newspapers Series 2. Both series are part of the World News Archive project from Readex/Newsbank.
This archive of Latin American newspapers contains thousands of pages of content. Included in the collection are: Critica from Argentina; Diario de la Marina from Cuba; Universal from Caracas, Venezuela; and more. For more Latin American newspapers, see Latin American Newspapers Series 2. Both series are part of the World News Archive project from Readex/Newsbank.
COVID-19 Alert: HathiTrust Emergency Temporary Access Service (ETAS)
Latin American and Caribbean Digital Primary Sources (SALALM) -OAThis site provides links to open access digitized collections of primary sources that relate to Latin America and the Caribbean. The materials listed are freely available to the public and were created or are hosted at an academic institution associated with SALALM (Seminar on the Acquisition of Latin American Library Materials), either through institutional membership or through the personal membership of a staff member.
Digital collection of books, periodicals, pamphlets, political tracts, legislation, sermons, and other documents published in Europe and the Americas on the history and civilizations of North, Central, and South America and the West Indies.
Based on the 29-volume bibliography, Bibliotheca Americana: A Dictionary of Books Relating to America From its Discovery to the Present Time, by Thomas Sabin, the resource includes over 65,000 titles.
Primary source materials from 1490-2007 in slavery and abolition studies.
Provides a portal for slavery and abolition studies, bringing together documents and collections covering an extensive time period, between 1490 and 2007, from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. Close attention is given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social-justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today. Includes high-quality colour and greyscale images of many thousands of original manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings, maps and other documents not available elsewhere. High-quality colour and greyscale images of many thousands of original manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings, maps and other documents not available elsewhere.
Full-text of books, serials, manuscript collections as well as court records and reference materials documents related to the antebellum era.
Includes more than 1.5 million pages, 7000+ books, 80+ serials, 15 manuscript collections as well as court records and reference materials documents related to the antebellum era. Published through partnerships with the Amistad Research Center, Oberlin College, Oxford University, & many other institutions.
A comprehensive range of contemporary and historical documents for the region, providing research across the humanities, both for current Latin America and the Caribbean and as a historical perspective back through the colonial period.
Include a comprehensive range of contemporary and historical documents for the region, providing research across the humanities, both for current Latin America and the Caribbean and as a historical perspective back through the colonial period.
The Other Latin America: Francophone, Lusophone, and Dutch Speaking Latin America.
Historical AbstractsThis link opens in a new windowIndexes over 2,000 journals, as well as historical book reviews and dissertations, published worldwide about all aspects of world history.
Excludes US and Canada. Covers from 1450 to the present.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican CulturesThis link opens in a new windowReference source to chronicle Pre-Hispanic, colonial, and modern Mesoamerica, defined as the lands stretching from Mexico to the southern tip of Central America.
The first comprehensive reference source to chronicle Pre-Hispanic, colonial, and modern Mesoamerica, defined as the lands stretching from Mexico to the southern tip of Central America. 600 articles encompassing the great civilizations of the pre-Columbian era (including the Olmec, Aztec, and Maya peoples) up through the colonial and postcolonial periods. The Encyclopedia covers art, archaeology, religious studies, anthropology, history, and historiography of the region in fully cross-referenced, signed articles by the leading scholars in the discipline. Online counterpart of the 3-volume print edition published in 2001.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Latin American HistoryThis link opens in a new windowThe Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Latin American History is a exhaustive digital encyclopedia that covers different topics and subjects related to Latin America's peoples and experiences from per-Columbian to contemporary times.
Project MUSEThis link opens in a new windowSeveral hundred digitized scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. [1993 - present]
Topics include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Books are available in PDF format, searchable and retrievable to the chapter level, with no restrictions on downloading or printing.
Chicano DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowIndex of publications on Mexican-American topics and Latino cultures since 1967. [1967 - present]
Also includes materials about other Latino cultures (Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants) since 1992. Coverage includes art, language, sociology, public policy, economics, history, literature, politics, and law.
Cuban Culture and Cultural Relations, 1959-, Part 1: “Casa y Cultura”This link opens in a new windowPrimary-source collection of ca. 45,000 fully-searchable documents from the Casa de las Américas in Havana, documenting the culture and cultural relations of Revolutionary Cuba and countries in Latin America and the Caribbean. Includes articles, newspaper clippings, cable messages, interviews, conference memorabilia, etc. (Brill) [1959 to present]
This collection is Part 1: Casa y Cultura” of the so-called Archivo Vertical held in library of the Casa de las Américas.
Sourced from the archives of the Casa de las Américas in Havana, it provides unprecedented access to files covering more than a thousand writers, thinkers and artists from Cuba and abroad.
DigitaliaThis link opens in a new windowCollection of Spanish and Catalan e-books published in Latin America and Spain. (Digitalia Hispanica)
Digitalia e-books can be read as PDFs, HTML, or Flash files. To date, the UCB Library has purchased more than 2100+ titles which are all discoverable in UC Library Search.
Latin American Women WritersThis link opens in a new windowA searchable collection of prose, poetry, and drama composed by women writing in Mexico, Central America, and South America. Also included are essays by Latin American feminists and about the feminist movement that address both the universal concerns of women in every age and the distinctive issues of their struggles in the region.
Collection of over 100,000 pages of literature by Latin American women from the colonial period in the 17th century to the present. Includes memoirs, essays and literature in the original language of the writers.
Latino LiteratureThis link opens in a new windowPlays, prose and poetry by Latin writers. (1850 - present)
Contains approximately 380 plays and 67,500 pages of prose and poetry by Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican and other Latin writers working in the United States.
MLA International BibliographyThis link opens in a new windowIndexes journal articles and other literature supporting critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. (Modern Languages Association Bibliography) [1926 - present]
The catalog is called Pepines after the name of the legendary graphic novels related magazine. There are over 1,200 series titles that represents about 40% of total collection of Mexican graphic novels and comics.
Films and Media
Classic Mexican Cinema OnlineThis link opens in a new windowThe Golden Age of Mexican cinema is illuminated in this collection of popular movie periodicals. It includes magazines such as Cinema Reporter (1943-1965), Cine Mundial (1951-1955), and El Cine Gráfico. From the Archives of the Filmoteca of the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM)
Mexican cinema, from its beginnings in the late 1890s to its Golden Age (1930s to 1960), was consistently the largest and most important of all the Spanish-speaking countries.
KanopyThis link opens in a new windowKanopy is an on-demand streaming video service which provides access to more than 26,000 films, including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
The Hemispheric Institute Digital Video LibraryThe Hemispheric Institute Digital Video Library, a collaboration between New York University Libraries and NYU's Hemispheric Institute of Performance and Politics, provides a digital venue for documenting the expression of social and political life through performance in the many cultures and political landscapes of the Americas.