Library Guides: Middle East Home: News

Middle East News Databases

Mideastwire.com
Brief English translations of Arabic, Kurdish, and Persian news articles from Arab countries, Iran and the Diaspora. (Mideast Wire Service) [2005 - present]
Subjects covered are Middle East and North African politics, culture, economy, and opinion pieces appearing in the print, radio, and television media of these countries, with links to the original sources. Note: Restricted to VPN access only (not available via Proxy and UCB campus IP addresses.
Arab General News Database
Provides full text access to the news from 65 renowned Arabic dailies and weeklies in over 20 countries, from 1970s to present. A research tool, specialized in the political, economic, strategic, and social issues in the Arab world. [1970 to present]
Samples of the daily newspapers covered include: al-Ahram (Egypt), al-Zaman (Iraq), al-Dustur (Jordan), al-Nahar (Lebanon), al-Quds (Palestine), al-Hayat (Saudi Arabis) and more.
AllAfrica.com
Contains over 700,000 articles from 150 news publications throughout Africa. [1997 - present]
Also includes press releases and documents from 500 governments and non-governmental organizations in and outside of Africa. 30% of articles are in French.
Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers
A digital archive of prominent newspapers from the the Middle East and North Africa. The content is partially open access, but a number of selective newspapers are UC Berkeley restricted. UC Berkeley users should use the above link for full access. For access only to the freely available materials available, please use this link.
"From the Ottoman Empire to the Arab Spring, the countries of the Middle East and North Africa have witnessed their fair share of history. The Middle Eastern & North African Newspapers collection includes publications from across this dynamic region, providing unique insights into the history of individual countries, as well as broad viewpoints on key historic events from the late nineteenth century through the present. Key topics include the decline of colonialism, the collapse of the Ottoman Empire, the Suez Crisis, the Cold War, the rise of the petroleum industry, twentieth-century pan-Arab movements, both World Wars, the establishment of the state of Israel, the Iran-Iraq War, and the recent Arab Spring."--Publisher's description.

al-Ahram Digital Archive (1876-present): Full text searchable archive of al-Ahram daily newspaper.

Cumhuriyet Digital Archive (1930 - Present): Full text searchable archive of Cumhuriyet daily newspaper.

Egyptian Press Archive
"Presents 40 years of political, cultural and economic aspects in the discourse of modern Egyptian history, spanning the time between the mid 1970’s until 2010."
Newspaper Archive from the National Library of Israel
"The National Library of Israel holds an invaluable collection of Arabic periodicals that were published in the Land of Israel\ Palestine between 1908 and 1948."
Jaraid Database
A Chronology of Arabic Periodicals (1800-1929). . This website provides a chronology of Arabic periodicals between 1800 and 1929. It contains more than 3300 periodical titles with bibliographical information published in this period.
Arabic and Middle Eastern Electronic Library (AMEEL)
AMEEL holds approximately 350,000 pages of full text, indexed and searchable in the language of publication including Arabic and Western scripts.

News Portals from the Middle East

General:

Al Jazeera	Albawaba
The Middle East Times	Alhayat
Al Monitor

Arab Countries:

Cairo Times	Al-Ahram (Egypt)
Jordan Times	The Daily Star (Lebanon)
Azzaman.com (Iraq)

Israel:

The Jerusalem Post	YNet News
Haaretz	The Jerusalem Report
Israel Today Magazine	Arutz Sheva

Palestine:

Ma’an News Agency	Jerusalem Media & Comm. Center (Stopped due to the war, but come back)
The Palestine Chronicle	The Electronic Intifada
Alquds al-Arabi

Iran:

Ettela'at	Tehran News
Fars News Agency	Abrar

Turkey:

Hurriyet Daily News	BirGün
Gazete Manset	Cumhuriyet

Library Print and Microfilm Newspapers

The Library holds tens of newspapers in print and microfilm from the Middle East. Come to Doe Library, Newspapers & Microfilms room to brows the collection.

Browse by major ME languages:

Arabic	Hebrew
Persian	Turkish

Browse by sample countries:

Egypt	Israel/Palestine
Iran	Turkey

World News Databases

Access World News
Full-text information and perspectives from U.S. and international news sources. (America's newspapers - NewsBank - global newsbank)
Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources. Offers strong regional coverage, indexing more than California newspapers such as Contra Costa Times (1995-current), Sacramento Bee (1984-current), San Francisco Chronicle (1985-current), and San Jose Mercury News (1985-current). Search categories include: California newspapers (121 titles), Greater Los Angeles (54 titles), major metropolitan titles (13 titles), Spanish-language news sources (48 titles), the World (almost 2000 titles), US (855 titles).
Ethnic NewsWatch (ENWH)
Index of over 200 ethnic, minority, and native press publications, including news, culture, and history topics. Searchable in English and Spanish. (ENWALL) [1960 - present]
Also includes a retrospective backfile of titles (1960-1989).
International Newsstream
Indexes and retrieves articles from hundreds of newspapers worldwide, plus reports from media monitoring organizations which include broadcast and wire service content. Citations and abstracts provided for all files. Article content is full text, displayed in ASCII format, not page-image. (ProQuest International Newsstream). Formerly titled International Newsstand.
Factiva
Text mining of this database is prohibited. Access limited to 49 simultaneous users Provides general and business news and information from more than 9,000 sources in 22 languages, including influential local, national and international newspapers, leading business magazines, trade publications, and news wires.
Includes the exclusive combination of The Wall Street Journal (1979-present), the Financial Times, Dow Jones and Reuters newswires and the Associated Press, as well as Reuters Fundamentals, and Bureau van Dijk company profiles.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
Full-text access to international, national, local newspapers, and wire services, as well as radio and television transcripts. Database also includes business, medical, industry, and legislative magazines, journals, and newsletters. Also includes laws from the U.S., all 50 states, and law reviews. Wide geographic coverage and translations from foreign-language sources, as well as news services like the Associated Press, Agence France Press, El Pai.
Nexis Uni allows users to set up personal accounts to personalize your research experience. Nexis Uni has replaced LexiNexis Academic. [dates vary]
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports
The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Report includes radio and television broadcasts, newspapers and periodicals, government statements, books, and other sources of unrestricted information such as databases and gray literature from non-English sources around the world. The original mission of the FBIS was to monitor, record, transcribe and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories. [1941 - 1996]
Information from thousands of foreign media sources, including political speeches, television and radio broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, and more, offering an extensive collection of military, political, scientific and technical reports from countries around the world, translated into English. The original mission of the FBIS was to monitor, record, transcribe and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories. Coverage is global with the exception of the FBIS Annexes (a supplementary publication created by the U.S. intelligence community to benefit analysts and policy makers from April 1974 through September 1996) and Western European regional broadcasts.

Secondary menu

Middle East Home: News

Middle East News Databases

News Portals from the Middle East

Library Print and Microfilm Newspapers

World News Databases