Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About new e-books in the Social Research Collection
The Social Research Collection includes works that address social and individual problems from a variety of disciplines including psychology, education, social welfare, and public policy.
The eBooks below were recently acquired by the collection. eBooks are available to all library users from any library or any computer on the UC Berkeley campus computer system. Accessing them from off-campus, however, is limited to UC Berkeley students, faculty and staff. Information on how to connect from off campus may be found here.
eBooks are available via a variety of platforms, each with its own characteristics, such as what may be downloaded, number of simultaneous users, etc. More information about eBooks and how to use them is here.
Check UC Library Search for other newly published books. You can suggest items that the Library should consider purchasing by using the Purchase Recommendation form.
Selected new e-books, May 2022
Diversity, Oppression, and Change : Culturally Grounded Social Work by
Diversity, Oppression, and Change, Third Edition provides a culturally grounded approach to practice, policy, and research in social work and allied fields. The book's intersectionality perspective provides a lens through which students can identify connections between identities based onrace/ethnicity, gender, sexual orientation, social class, religion, and ability status. Through theoretical and empirical content as well as "Notes from the Field," students become familiar with the culturally grounded perspective and culturally appropriate ways of engaging with diverse communities.Marsiglia, Kulis, and Lechuga-Pena have crafted a book about hope and resiliency, the miraculous ability of individuals and communities to bounce back from oppressive experiences and historical trauma, and the role of social workers as allies in that journey.
Publication Date: 2021-01-20
Examining and Solving Health Disparities in the United States : emerging research and opportunities by
Disparities in healthcare arise when there is an imbalance between opportunities to achieve optimal healthcare with access, education, and financial means. However, the difficult subject of health disparities in healthcare and its historical origins demonstrate that culture and race may contribute to health crises of minority groups within the United States. Educating vulnerable populations on making lifestyle modifications and reducing stress without educating healthcare professionals about increasing their awareness of hidden biases, prejudgment, and discrimination, will allow health disparities to remain. Examining and Solving Health Disparities in the United States: Emerging Research and Opportunities is a critical reference book that provides discussion on the topic of inequities in healthcare that impact health disparities and serves to increase awareness on these issues. The author particularly explores health disparities from a unifying perspective that supports the understanding of why health disparities occur and how an increase in the awareness, education, and confrontation of discriminatory acts can help make changes at the organizational and societal levels. Covering topics that include cultural clashes, equity, healthcare delivery, and healthcare accessibility, this book is essential for government officials, policymakers, medical administrators, medical professionals, medical boards and directors, researchers, academicians, and students involved in gender studies, cultural studies, social justice, socioeconomics, ethics and law, government, medicine, public health, psychology, sociology, and more.
Publication Date: 2021-05-28
Brown Trans Figurations : rethinking race, gender, and sexuality in Chicanx/Latinx studies by
Within queer, transgender, and Latinx and Chicanx cultural politics, brown transgender narratives are frequently silenced and erased. Brown trans subjects are treated as deceptive, unnatural, nonexistent, or impossible, their bodies, lives, and material circumstances represented through tropes and used as metaphors. Restoring personhood and agency to these subjects, Francisco J. Galarte advances "brown trans figuration" as a theoretical framework to describe how transness and brownness coexist within the larger queer, trans, and Latinx historical experiences. Brown Trans Figurations presents a collection of representations that reveal the repression of brown trans narratives and make that repression visible and palpable. Galarte examines the violent deaths of two transgender Latinas and the corresponding narratives that emerged about their lives, analyzes the invisibility of brown transmasculinity in Chicana feminist works, and explores how issues such as transgender politics can be imagined as part of Chicanx and Latinx political movements. This book considers the contexts in which brown trans narratives appear, how they circulate, and how they are reproduced in politics, sexual cultures, and racialized economies.
Publication Date: 2021-01-28
A Handbook on Counseling African American Women : Psychological Symptoms, Treatments, and Case Studies by
This text details mental health needs and treatment interventions for Black women. It provides a historical context of how the lived experiences of Black women contribute to mental wellness, identifies effective psychological practices in working with Black women, and challenges readers to advance their cultural competence while providing culturally affirming care to Black women. Additionally, this text is inclusive of sexual orientation and gender identity diversity, and it honors the diversity within Black women's identities, relationships, roles, and families. Written by an expert team of Black women clinicians, researchers, and medical professionals, A Handbook on Counseling African American Women: Psychological Symptoms, Treatments, and Case Studies addresses current sociopolitical events as well as historical trauma as it prepares readers to meet the needs of the Black women they serve.
Publication Date: 2022-02-04
DSM : a history of psychiatry's bible by
The first comprehensive history of "psychiatry's bible"--the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. Over the past seventy years, the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, or DSM, has evolved from a virtually unknown and little-used pamphlet to an imposing and comprehensive compendium of mental disorder. Its nearly 300 conditions have become the touchstones for the diagnoses that patients receive, students are taught, researchers study, insurers reimburse, and drug companies promote. Although the manual is portrayed as an authoritative corpus of psychiatric knowledge, it is a product of intense political conflicts, dissension, and factionalism. The manual results from struggles among psychiatric researchers and clinicians, different mental health professions, and a variety of patient, familial, feminist, gay, and veterans' interest groups. The DSM is fundamentally a social document that both reflects and shapes the professional, economic, and cultural forces associated with its use. In DSM, Allan V. Horwitz examines how the manual, known colloquially as "psychiatry's bible," has been at the center of thinking about mental health in the United States since its original publication in 1952. The first book to examine its entire history, this volume draws on both archival sources and the literature on modern psychiatry to show how the history of the DSM is more a story of the growing social importance of psychiatric diagnoses than of increasing knowledge about the nature of mental disorder. Despite attempts to replace it, Horwitz argues that the DSM persists because its diagnostic entities are closely intertwined with too many interests that benefit from them. This comprehensive treatment should appeal to not only specialists but also anyone who is interested in how diagnoses of mental illness have evolved over the past seven decades--from unwanted and often imposed labels to resources that lead to valued mental health treatments and social services.
Publication Date: 2021-08-17
Selected new e-books, May 2022
The Affordable Care Act : at the nexus of politics and policy by
"An in-depth discussion of the politics and policy of the Affordable Care Act, its successes/failures in achieving its goals, and possible future scenarios". The origins of the ACA : a century of debate -- The promised land : health reform at last -- The hard work begins : ACA implementation -- The dog caught the car : now what? -- The Trump administration's sabotage strategies -- An assessment : what has been achieved? -- The verdict : public opinion, legal opinions -- Cost control : an elusive goal -- The ACA today ... and tomorrow.
Publication Date: 2022
Handbook on social protection systems by
Foreword / Ralf Radermacher -- Acknowledgements -- List of abbreviations -- 1. Introduction to the handbook on social protection systems / Markus Loewe and Esther Schüring -- Part I Instruments -- Introduction: Instruments / Chris de Neubourg -- 2. Social transfers / Esther Schüring Case study A: Non-contributory social cash transfers in Zambia / Benson Chisanga Case study B: Universal basic income grant in theory and practice / Brian Mathebula -- 3. Social insurance / Alexander M. van den Heever Case study C: Transforming healthcare financing in Central and Eastern European countries / Mirella Cacace Case study D: Challenges of pension funds in Iran / Ali Akbar Taimazinani and Yaser Bagheri -- 4. Labour market policies / Andrea Salvini and Georg Bolits Case study E: Labour market policies in MENA countries / Ghada Barsoum -- 5. Social services / Barbara Rohregger -- 6. Micro-insurance / Markus Loewe -- Part II System design Introduction: System design / Markus Loewe -- 7. Financing / Arthur van de Meerendonk -- 8. Targeting / Stephen Devereux -- 9. Human rights approaches / Markus Kaltenborn -- 10. Actors / Esther Schüring and Nicola Wiebe -- 11. Systematic approaches to social protection / Chris de Neubourg, Victor Cebotari and Julia Karpati Case study F: The challenges of moving towards universal social protection in Bolivia / Nicola Wiebe Case study G: Comprehensive social protection reform in South Africa / Alexander M. van den Heever -- Part III Policy coordination Introduction: Policy coordination / Daniele Malerba -- 12. Harmonization of similar instruments / Rachel Slater -- 13. Coordination of different instruments / Mira Bierbaum and Veronika Wodsak Case study H: Poverty and social transfer coverage in the Kingdom of Eswatini / Bernd Schubert -- 14. Graduation / Rachel Sabates-Wheeler -- 15. Taxation and social protection / Armin von Schiller Case study I: Simplified tax regimes and their impact on social insurance in Uruguay / Fernanda Teixeira -- 16. The humanitarian-development nexus / Cécile Cherrier Case study J: Emergency cash transfers in Yemen / Francisco V. Ayala Case study K: Humanitarian cash transfer in Palestine / Nicola Jones and Bassam Abu Hamad -- 17. Social budgeting / Krzysztof Hagemejer and Wolfgang Scholz -- Part IV Groups in focus Introduction: Groups in focus / Esther Schüring -- 18. Gender and social protection / Nicola Jones Case study L: Gender analysis of social protection in Iran / Ali Akbar Taimazinani and Maryam Ebrahimi -- 19. Disability inclusion and social protection / Alexandre Côte -- 20. Child-sensitive social protection / Keetie Roelen -- 21. The elderly and social protection / Luis H. Vargas Faulbaum -- 22. The informal sector and social protection / Jairous J. Miti, Mikko Perkiö, Anna Metteri and Salla Atkins Case study M: Extension of the contributory pension scheme to small-scale farmers in Zambia / Jairous J. Miti, Mikko Perkiö, Anna Metteri and Salla Atkins -- 23. Refugees and social protection / Tamara A. Kool and Zina Nimeh -- Part V Administration Introduction: Administration / Valentina Barca -- 24. Delivering social transfers / Valentina Barca and Madhumitha Hebbar -- 25. Delivering social insurance / Dominique La Salle -- 26. Integrated information management / Richard Chirchir -- 27. Portability / Dominique La Salle -- 28. Decentralization / Andrew Wyatt Case study N: Capacity development for social protection in Zambia / Benson Chisanga and Jairous J. Miti -- Part VI Political economy Introduction: Political economy / Esther Schüring -- 29. International actors and social protection / Jeremy Seekings -- 30. Public preferences / Katja Bender -- 31. The political economy of social protection adoption / Miguel Niño-Zarazúa and Alma Santillán Hernández Case study O: Political economy of social protection in Kenya / Barbara Rohregger Case study P: Political economy of the basic income grant in South Africa / Brian Mathebula -- 32. Acceptability of social protection reforms / Eszter Timár -- Part VII Effects Introduction: Effects / Francesco Burchi -- 33. Data and analysis in social protection / Franziska Gassmann Case study Q: An evidence and gap map of effectiveness studies: social protection interventions in low- and middle-income countries / Ashrita Saran and Latha Radhakrishnan -- 34. Effects of social protection on poverty and inequality / Ludovico Carraro and Marta S.L. Marzi -- 35. Effects of social protection on food consumption and nutrition / Francesco Burchi -- 36. Effects of social protection on health / Christoph Strupat -- 37. Effects of social protection on economic development / Garima Bhalla, Mari Kangasniemi and Natalia Winder Rossi -- 38. Effects of social protection on social inclusion, social cohesion and nation building / Gabriele Köhler -- Part VIII Major challenges and reform options Introduction: Major challenges and reform options / Krzysztof Hagemejer -- 39. Demographic change / John Woodall -- 40. Globalization / Joachim Betz -- 41. The future of work / Franziska Gassmann -- 42. Climate change / Daniele Malerba -- 43. Pandemics and other macro crises / John Woodall Case study R: A humanitarian social protection response to COVID-19 in Kenya / Larissa Pelham -- Index.
Publication Date: 2021
Handbook of Research on the Impact of COVID-19 on Marginalized Populations and Support for the Future by
The COVID-19 pandemic has posed significant risks to particular communities and individuals, including indigenous communities, migrant workers, refugees, transgender individuals, and the homeless population. The disadvantaged population is overwhelmed by deprivation, inequality, unemployment, and infections, both communicable and non-communicable, which make them more vulnerable to COVID-19 and its negative consequences. These marginalized groups struggle to obtain an admirable political representation and face marginalization and lack of access to health, education, and social services. It is imperative that these marginalized groups and their right to life and their livelihoods are supported, especially when they are put at risk during global crises, such as the COVID-19 pandemic. The Handbook of Research on the Impact of COVID-19 on Marginalized Populations and Support for the Future represents a way of acknowledging an improved, pandemic-free, and prosperous environment for everyone in the future where society does not leave behind any poor or marginalized individuals. The book is a representation of the voice of the marginalized people in the new normal attempting to draw on a comprehensive knowledge bank, which includes anthropology, sociology, gender studies, media, education, indigenous dimension, philosophy, bioethics, care ethics, and more. This book focuses solely on the marginalized people, examines the oppressed communities in depth, and provides insights on how we should stand by these vulnerable people. This book is a valuable tool for social workers, government bodies, policymakers, social justice advocates, human rights activists, researchers in gender and race studies, practitioners, academicians, and students interested in how COVID-19 has impacted marginalized populations and how social justice can be advocated for in the future.
Publication Date: 2021-06-11
The Routledge International Handbook of Fat Studies by
The Routledge International Handbook of Fat Studies brings together a diverse body of work from around the globe and across a wide range of Fat Studies topics and perspectives. The first major collection of its kind, it explores the epistemology, ontology, and methodology of fatness, with attention to issues such as gender and sexuality, disability and embodiment, health, race, media, discrimination, and pedagogy. Presenting work from both scholarly writers and activists, this volume reflects a range of critical perspectives vital to the expansion of Fat Studies and thus constitutes an essential resource for researchers in the field.
Publication Date: 2021-04-18
Selected new e-books, May 2022
Evaluation and Action Research : an integrated framework to promote data literacy and ethical practices by
Today's societies require research approaches that are creative, sensitive to cultural and contextual diversity, rooted in engagement and critical dispositions, and situated within local contexts. Action research and evaluation are inquiries into and about human lives. Both modes generateactionable data in specific contexts to facilitate positive social change and to further social justice.This book explores the potential of integrating action research and evaluation frameworks to encourage knowledge democracy, data literacy, and ethical practices. The authors draw a clear connection between program enactment and program goals, investigating the processes of design, qualitative andquantitative data collection, and analysis, and mixed methods considerations. Key questions include: why is new research paradigm needed? How do we define data literacy? How do we understand equitable societies? Working from the belief that knowledge is created constantly in our world by those inreal-world settings and practical contexts, Evaluation and Action Research provides practitioners with an accessible guide to better inform practice and decision making.
Publication Date: 2022-01-25
Hope under Oppression by
We have all been told, at one time or another, to "never give up hope." It's a common injunction to children, but as we grow older, sustaining hope becomes more challenging, particularly in a world we come to see as often frightening, dark, and unjust. But what is this thing "hope," and why ishope so valuable that we are so often urged to preserve and protect it?This book explores the nature and essential role of hope in human life under conditions of oppression. Oppression is often a threat and damage to hope, yet many members of oppressed groups, including prominent activists pursuing a more just world, find hope valuable and even essential to theirpersonal and political lives. Katie Stockdale offers a unique evaluative framework for hope that captures its intrinsic value, the rationality and morality of hope, and ultimately how we can hope well in the non-ideal world we share. She develops an account of the relationship between hope and angerabout oppression and argues that when people are angry about oppression, they tend to also harbour hope for repair. When people's hopes for repair are not realized, as is often the case for those who are oppressed, their anger can evolve into bitterness. They feel unresolved anger as a result oflosing hope that injustice will be sufficiently acknowledged and addressed.Fortunately, things do not have to be this way. Even when people may feel that they have lost all hope, faith can help them to be resilient in the face of oppression. They can join with others who share their experiences or commitments for a better world, uniting with them in collective action. Bydoing so, they can strengthen hope for the future when hope might otherwise be lost.Ultimately, this work illustrates the crucial value of hope for both individuals and collectives in the pursuit of justice, and in an increasingly uncertain world.
Publication Date: 2021-07-01
Politics for Social Workers : a practical guide to effecting change by
The social work profession calls on its members to strive for social justice. It asks aspiring and practicing social workers to advocate for political change and take part in political action on behalf of marginalized people and groups. Yet this macro goal is often left on the back burner as the day-to-day struggles of working directly with clients take precedence. And while most social workers have firsthand knowledge of how public policy neglects or outright harms society's most vulnerable, too few have training in the political processes that created these policies. This book is a concise, accessible guide to help social workers understand how politics and policy making really work--and what they can do to help their clients and their communities. Helping readers develop sustainable strategies at the micro-, meso-, and macro-levels, this book is a hands-on manual to contemporary American politics, showing social workers and social work students how to engage in effective activism. Stephen Pimpare, a political scientist with extensive experience as a social work practitioner and instructor, offers informed, practical grounding in the mechanics of policy making and the tools that activists and outsiders can use to take on an entrenched system. He distills key research and insights from political science and related disciplines into a practical resource for social work students, instructors, and practitioners looking to deepen their policy knowledge and capacity to achieve change.
Publication Date: 2021-11-23
Suspended : Punishment, Violence, and the Failure of School Safety by
The disturbing truth: school suspension does more than impede Black students' academic achievement--it also impacts their parents' employment and can violate state and federal laws. Decades of urban disinvestment and poverty have made educational attainment for Black youth more vital than at any time in recent history. Yet in their pursuit of quality education, many Black families are burdened by challenging barriers to success, most notably the frequency and severity of school punishment. Such punishment is meant to be a disciplinary tool that makes schools safer, but it actually does the opposite--and is particularly harmful for Black students and their families. Focusing on schools in inner-city and suburban Detroit, Charles Bell draws on 160 in-depth interviews with Black high school students, their parents, and their teachers to illuminate the negative outcomes that are associated with out-of-school suspension. Bell also sheds light on the inherent shortcomings of school safety measures as he describes how schools fail to protect Black students, which leaves them vulnerable to bullying and victimization. The students he interviews offer detailed insight into how the lack of protection they received in school intensified their fear of being harmed and even motivated them to use violence to establish a reputation that discouraged attacks. Collectively, their narratives reveal how receiving a suspension for fighting in school earned them respect, popularity, and a reputation for toughness--transforming school punishment into a powerful status symbol that destabilizes classrooms. A thought-provoking and urgent work, Suspended calls for an inclusive national dialogue on school punishment and safety reform. It will leave readers engrossed in the students' and parents' tearful narratives as they share how school suspension harmed students' grades, disrupted parents' employment, violated state and federal laws, and motivated families to withdraw from punitive districts.
Publication Date: 2021-11-02