UC Library Search
Access UC Library Search directly or from the Library homepage to find most (what isn't included?) books and ebooks, journals, articles, media, archival collections, and more from:
See the UC Library Search User Guide
How to find eBooks
For example, Public Health eBooks
How to find journals
Search for academic journals by topic or by title with the library's Journal Search.
PLOS, the Public Library of Science, continues to launch new journals. The most recently announced titles are:
PLOS Mental Health, "a new Open Access journal for research that leads to healthier lives by improving discussion, interdisciplinary collaboration and understanding of all aspects of mental health in individual, societal, and community contexts."
PLOS Complex Systems, "a new, global Open Access journal bringing together impactful research that facilitates understanding of complex systems in all disciplines."
There are now 14 PLOS journal titles!
The UC Berkeley Library now has access to NEJM Catalyst: Innovations in Care.
This highly desired journal "connects clinical leaders, health care executives, clinicians, and academics with the most important ideas and practical solutions for health care delivery. Selective, curated content features real-world examples and actionable solutions from thought leaders and industry experts on the transformation of health care."
I hope you find it useful!
JSTOR is an online digital library of academic journals, ebooks, and primary sources, providing access to millions of items. Beginning January 2024, 9 University of California campuses (not UCSF) are upgraded to the JSTOR Full Access collection. This package provides access to 27 collections, including Public Health.
Take a look at JSTOR Public Health! Make sure you click on the Journals, Books, and Research Reports tabs to see everything. Keep in mind that JSTOR primarily provides access to non-current resources; you will notice the journal date ranges do not include recent issues.
UC Berkeley now has full access to Psychedelic Medicine: "The first peer-reviewed journal to publish original research papers on every aspect of psychedelic medicine including basic science, clinical, and translational research."
We have access back to the first issue on the publisher website.
The Artefacts of Digital Mental Health by
The Artefacts of Digital Mental Health focuses on smartphone apps, wearables devices, and ingestible sensors, which are at the centre of research, development, and investment in mental health and digitalisation. The book aims to examine digital mental health through three artefacts that are defined by their ubiquity, everydayness, popularity, innovation and hype, and emergent qualities. It engages with theoretical approaches to technology, mental health, and wellbeing informed by Science and Technology Studies, sociological studies of health and mental health, and sociomaterialism. The book brings together different theories of mental health, subjectivity, the body, care, and digitalisation alongside biodigital artefacts as exemplars of transformations in digital mental health.
The Future of Mental Health, Disability and Criminal Law by
This book brings together contributions from twenty-three world-leading scholars and commentators that address a range of contemporary and pressing international themes in mental health, disability and criminal law. The authors use the work of internationally renowned academic, Emeritus Professor Bernadette McSherry, as a springboard to reflect on recent developments in these areas of law and to anticipate the future directions they may take. In doing so, they aim to inform and inspire a new generation of mental health, disability and criminal law scholars, advocates and reformers. The book is divided into four substantive sections: reforming mental health and disability law; regulating coercion and restrictive practices; improving access to justice and the criminal law; and transforming mental health law. It also includes an introduction from the editors and an afterword from Emeritus Professor McSherry. The book is aimed at regulators, policymakers, lawyers, clinicians, consumer advocates and academics who are interested in the urgent and contentious issues surrounding the reform and development of mental health, disability and criminal law. It will help them understand the key issues and problems and presents suggestions for reform. The book is interdisciplinary and international in its focus.
Investigating Pop Psychology: pseudoscience, fringe science, and controversies by
Investigating Pop Psychology provides the basic tools required to make evidence-informed decisions and thoughtfully distinguish science from pseudoscience through the application of empirical skepticism. Psychologists conduct scientific investigations into a lot of strange things including alien encounters, horoscopes, dream interpretation, superstition, and extrasensory perception (ESP). Through a digestible, open-minded format combined with relevant and topical case studies such as energy psychology, demonic possession and horoscopes, this book offers an engaging read which encourages students to think critically about the information they are exposed to during their academic careers and beyond. By taking a fresh look into investigations regarding pseudoscience and fringe science in pop psychology, it celebrates the science of psychology while also providing warnings about the problem of pseudoscience in pop psychology. Providing tips on how to consider evidence regarding the strength of claims in pop psychology, Investigating Pop Psychology is an ideal resource for undergraduate introductory psychology students and for students studying science and pseudoscience.
Occupational Health Safety Factors and Their Impact on the Mental Health of Workers by
This book is about occupational health and safety in the workplace. Work-related productivity has been decreasing in most of the labor-intensive sectors on account of the fatigue and discomfort in workplaces, which is the most significant factor for consideration at all levels. Moreover, improper workplace design leads to most of the occupational accidents as well as injuries in production sites. This book explores discomfort in working environments and its impact on mental health in varying workplaces. It then offers some innovative solutions to provide comfort, safety, and sustainability in workplaces to reduce mental workload.
Preventing and Treating the Invisible Wounds of War: Combat Trauma, Moral Injury, and Psychological Health by
This volume provides several perspectives that help practitioners, advocates, and policymakers understand the impact of historical and recent wars on U.S. Military veterans. The chapters address newly recognized conditions, such as moral injury, military sexual trauma, and remote combat trauma as precursors to more serious diagnosable mental health disorders with the goal of addressing how these conditions can be identified and mitigated in future combat operations. The chapters also provide new insights on calculating the costs of wars in terms of dollars spent on treating mental health conditions, the intergenerational impact of combat trauma on families and future generations, and involvement in the criminal justice system of those who do not receive treatment due to discharge characterizations from military misconduct.
Psychology and Covid-19 in the Americas. Volume 1 by
This book is the first of two volumes that bring together the works presented at the congress "Contributions of Psychology to COVID-19", organized by the Interamerican Society of Psychology in 2020. This was one of the first virtual international meetings on psychology and COVID-19 in the world and brought together researchers and professionals from South, Central and North America in a single online event. The content of both volumes includes many of the first issues addressed by researchers, scholars, and practitioners across the Americas at the start of the pandemic - before vaccines, before knowledge of treatment and impact, before our worlds and daily lives were forever changed. Chapters in the first volume focus on the impacts of the pandemic in mental health, social and family dynamics, educational processes and the work of health professionals. Chapters in the second volume are dedicated to studies addressing the impacts of the pandemic in vulnerable populations; proposals of psychological interventions to deal with the distress caused by COVID-19; strategies of coping, resilience and adaptation; and the development of psychological instruments of measurement and assessments during the pandemic. The content of these two volumes marks a baseline for the collective work initiated by psychologists who came together to answer the call to combat the pandemic across the Americas. In that sense, both volumes are truly a "snapshot in time" that could help us assess in the future how much progress we have made to apply psychology to the pressing demands of our time.
Routledge Handbook of Mental Health Law by
Mental health law is a rapidly evolving area of practice and research, with growing global dimensions. This work reflects the increasing importance of this field, critically discussing key issues of controversy and debate, and providing up-to-date analysis of cutting-edge developments in Africa, Asia, Europe, the Americas, and Australia.
Solving Latino Psychosocial and Health Problems: Theory, Research, and Practice (2nd ed.) by
How do we understand the tendency for Latinos to underutilize certain social services and what types of outreach and intervention strategies are beginning to remedy this longstanding problem? How are Latino psychosocial and health problems shaped by historical and current conditions of acculturation and adjustment, social stratification, ethnic/racial identity development, diversity within Latinos, and politics and social policy? And what are the best and most promising practices for addressing Latino psychosocial and health problems and how could they be improved? The book responds to the increasing need to understand Latino positionality in the U.S. in order to effectively serve Latinos in ways responsive to the cultural and social realities of diverse Latino populations. Author Kurt C. Organista responds to the needs of social and human service providers to be more effective in their increasing practice with Latino clients, as well as to professional mandates to teach multicultural theory and practice throughout the social sciences. Organista provides a comprehensive and up to date review and analysis of psychosocial and health problems over-affecting Latino populations in the United States, as well as their mitigation through evidence-based, culturally adapted, and community-based interventions, programs, and institutions. One of the first of its kind, this book integrates, critiques, and expands upon state of the art Latino-relevant social science theory, psychosocial and health research, practice intervention methods, and also applies a social justice lens to Latino-relevant social problems, including their political context, impacting Latino health and wellbeing.
Struggle And Solidarity seven stories of how Americans fought for their mental health through federal legislation by
Mental health does not exist in a vacuum. The context in which an individual is born, grows, lives, and works has a profound impact on their mental and physical well-being. But although the powerful effects of these social determinants of mental health are not in question, how to affect them in actionable ways is. Struggle and Solidarity addresses that gap in a compelling manner. By taking a case study approach to seven key pieces of federal legislation--among them, the Agricultural Adjustment Act of 1933, the Social Security Act of 1935, the Civil Rights Act of 1964, and the Housing and Urban Development Act of 1965--it demonstrates how public policies, even when not explicitly mental health-related, can shape social determinants and improve mental health in the United States. For each of the seven laws, the book describes * The crisis in society that spurred the law's inception* Some of the key individuals and groups who drove its passage* How the law has evolved over time--including its shortcomings* How the law can continue to influence mental health in the future Forgoing academic language in favor of a more approachable style and including photographs of some of the key players involved in each piece of legislation, this volume is accessible to all audiences while still making vivid and rigorous connections between national policymaking and the social determinants of mental health, summarizing the literature linking key social determinants affected by each law to mental health outcomes. In sharing real examples of how individuals and groups have successfully advocated for policy changes, the authors of this book illustrate how important advocacy work can be accomplished and inspire readers to get involved in similar work to improve mental health today and in the future.