Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Epidemiologic Case Studies
Epidemiologic Case Studies (US CDC)
These case studies are interactive exercises developed to teach epidemiologic principles and practices. They are based on real-life outbreaks and public health problems and were developed in collaboration with the original investigators and experts from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). The case studies require students to apply their epidemiologic knowledge and skills to problems confronted by public health practitioners at the local, state, and national level every day.
Case Studies (WHO)
From "Strengthening health security by implementing the International Health Regulations," each case has learning objectives and documentation.
Case Studies in Social Medicine
A series of Perspective articles from the New England Journal of Medicine that highlight the importance of social concepts and social context in clinical medicine. The series uses discussions of real clinical cases to translate theories and methods for understanding social processes into terms that can readily be used in medical education, clinical practice, and health system planning.
African Case Studies in Public Heath
Case study exercises based on real events in African contexts and written by experienced Africa-based public health trainers and practitioners. These case studies represent the most up-to-date and context-appropriate case study exercises for African public health training programs. These exercises are designed to reinforce and instill competencies for addressing health threats in the future leaders of public health in Africa.
Case Consortium @ Columbia University: Public Health Cases
The case collection includes "teaching" cases. Nearly all the cases are multimedia and based on original research; a few are written from secondary sources. All cases are offered free of charge.
Epi Teams Training: Case Studies
From the North Carolina Institute for Public Health, this curriculum includes several interactive case studies designed be used by the Epi Team as a group. These case studies are based on actual outbreaks that have occurred in North Carolina and elsewhere.
National Center for Case Study Teaching in Science
The mission of the NCCSTS at the University at Buffalo is to promote the development and dissemination of materials and practices for case teaching in the sciences. Our website provides access to an award-winning collection of peer-reviewed case studies. We offer a five-day summer workshop and a two-day fall conference to train faculty in the case method of teaching science. In addition, we are actively engaged in educational research to assess the impact of the case method on student learning. "Case Collection" includes over 100 public health cases.
Books of Case Studies
Case Studies in Public Health
Publication Date: 2018
The cases chosen for this collection include those on traditional public health, such as sanitation, hygiene and infectious disease control, and also the organization, financing and quality of health care services. Each case study is presented in a systematic fashion to facilitate learning, with the case, background, current relevance, economic issues, ethical issues, conclusions, recommendation and references discussed for each case.
Exercises in Epidemiology: Applying Principles and Methods
Publication Date: 2016
Exercises in Epidemiology is comprised of nearly 200 questions and answers drawn from published studies, this one-of-a-kind text allows students in epidemiology and publichealth to cultivate their skills in a real-world context while familiarizing themselves with core epidemiologic principles: rates and proportions, causal inference, and confounding. Answers to every question, along with each step in the reasoning that supports them, are included so that students can compare notes with a senior epidemiologist.