Library Guides: OOMPH Library Resources: Outbreaks, Preparedness, Infectious Disease: Articles, Journals, Databases

Core Public Health Article Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts in the fields of biomedicine and health, as well as portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.

PubMed includes MEDLINE, PubMed Central (PMC), other biomedical and life science journals, and the NCBI Bookshelf. PubMed also provides links to other NCBI molecular biology resources, including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system.
Note: The link above goes to a specially configured version of PubMed for UC Berkeley users that will display the Get It at UC button for full text article access. To use the free public version, please click here.
Embase This link opens in a new window
International index including over 2,000 journals not in Medline, as well as conference abstracts. Broad biomedical scope with strong coverage in drug, pharmaceutical, and toxicological research, including economic evaluations and healthcare policy & management.
Indexes journals, including many not in Medline, from over 90 countries, and indexes conference abstracts from many conferences. Broad biomedical scope with strong coverage in drug, pharmaceutical, and toxicological research including economic evaluation.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, reports, books, and government publications covering all areas of environmental science.
AES incorporates the formerly titled "Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management" database - which includes Environmental Impact Statements - plus the databases AGRICOLA (1970-current) and TOXLINE (1999-current).
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Allows cited reference searching.
Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present).
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences and more.
Contains over 50 million records with more than half the content originating from outside North America. Indexes over 21,000 journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences, technology, medicine, arts, and humanities.

Specialized Databases

GIDEON This link opens in a new window
Data and maps on infectious diseases and outbreaks: history, geographic spread, and treatment. It also includes a visualization tool to create charts, and a differential tool to assist in diagnosis. Updated daily.
Epidemiological data going back to 1348 AD, covering 230+ countries and territories. Over 28,000 outbreaks, 39,000+ graphs, and 100,000+ surveys. Includes interactive tools to identify 2,000+ pathogens, diagnose and compare 360+ infectious diseases, as well as to explore the properties of 30,000+ trade names of drugs and vaccines. The application is updated every day by a team of highly regarded medical scientists.

EM-DAT: The International Disaster Database: EM-DAT provides an objective basis for vulnerability assessment and rational decision-making in disaster situations. Use it to identify disaster types that are most common in a given country and have had significant historical impacts on specific human populations. In addition to providing information on the human impact of disasters, EM-DAT provides disaster-related economic damage estimates and disaster-specific international aid contributions.

TRACIE Technical Resources: Includes the Resource Library and the Topic Collections. Categories of documents include: Emergency management foundations; Healthcare coalition development and organization; Disaster operations; Communications; and more. The Technical Resources, Assistance Center, and Information Exchange (TRACIE) was created to meet the information and technical assistance needs of regional ASPR staff, healthcare coalitions, healthcare entities, healthcare providers, emergency managers, public health practitioners, and others working in disaster medicine, healthcare system preparedness, and public health emergency preparedness.

Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) This link opens in a new window
Provides quick access to more than 131,000 open-source resources related to homeland security policy, including U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents, as well as specialized resources such as theses and reports from various universities, organizations and local and state agencies.
Includes over 30,000 records for locally held and linked documents on homeland security strategy, policy and research published by international, federal, state and local government agencies as well as research institutions, universities and think tanks. Subject areas include borders and immigration, infrastructure protection, emergency management, terrorism, and more.

Selected Online Journals

Searching PubMed or Embase or other databases is probably the best way to find journal literature on your topics.
Below, however, are listed some relevant journal titles; find them in the databases above, or in UC Library Search:

American Journal of Disaster Medicine
BMC infectious diseases
Clinical Infectious Diseases
Current Opinion in Infectious Diseases
Disaster Medicine and Public Health Preparedness
Disaster Prevention and Management: An International Journal
Disasters
Emerging Infectious Diseases
Epidemiology and infection
Homeland Security News Wire
Infectious disease clinics of North America
Infectious diseases of poverty
Journal of Clinical Microbiology
Journal of Emergency Management
Journal of Emergency Nursing
Journal of Homeland Security and Emergency Management
The Journal of Infectious Diseases
Journal of Virology
The Lancet infectious diseases
Morbidity and mortality weekly report : MMWR
Pathogens and disease
PLoS neglected tropical diseases
PLoS ONE
Prehospital and Disaster Medicine
Vaccine

Secondary menu

OOMPH Library Resources: Outbreaks, Preparedness, Infectious Disease: Articles, Journals, Databases

Core Public Health Article Databases

Specialized Databases

Selected Online Journals