Skip to Main Content
Books & eBooks on GIS & Public Health
Geographical Health Data: fundamental techniques for analysis
Focusing on proven techniques for most real-world data sets, this book presents an overview of the analysis of health data involving a geographic component, in a way that is accessible to any health scientist or student comfortable with large data sets and basic statistics, but not necessarily with any specialized training in geographic information systems (GIS). Providing clear, straightforward explanations with worldwide examples and solutions, the book describes applications of GIS in disaster response.
Publication Date: 2013
Geoinformatics in Health Facility Analysis
This book demonstrates how GIS techniques and statistical methods can be used to emphasise the characteristics of population and its related variables, vis-à-vis care facilities and the status of vector borne diseases, as well as for malaria modeling. Concentrating on the Varanasi district of India, the main aim of the book is to determine and map the density areas of vector borne diseases using GIS techniques. The book explores how health GIS is an important sub-discipline of health science and medical geography, which is traditionally focused on the spatial aspects of disease ecology and health care facility analysis.
Publication Date: 2017
Geospatial Analysis of Environmental Health
This book focuses on a range of geospatial applications for environmental health research, including environmental justice issues, environmental health disparities, air and water contamination, and infectious diseases. Environmental health research is at an exciting point in its use of geotechnologies, and many researchers are working on innovative approaches. This book is a timely scholarly contribution in updating the key concepts and applications of using GIS and other geospatial methods for environmental health research. Each chapter contains original research which utilizes a geotechnical tool (Geographic Information Systems (GIS), remote sensing, GPS, etc.) to address an environmental health problem. The book is divided into three sections organized around the following themes: issues in GIS and environmental health research; using GIS to assess environmental health impacts; and geospatial methods for environmental health. Representing diverse case studies and geospatial methods, the book is likely to be of interest to researchers, practitioners and students across the geographic and environmental health sciences. The authors are leading researchers and practitioners in the field of GIS and environmental health.
Publication Date: 2011
Geospatial Analysis of Public Health
This book is specifically designed to serve the community of postgraduates and researchers in the fields of epidemiology, health GIS, medical geography, and health management. It starts with the basic concepts and role of remote sensing, GIS in Kala-azar diseases. The book gives an exhaustive coverage of Satellite data, GPS, GIS, spatial and attribute data modeling, and geospatial analysis of Kala-azar diseases. It also presents the modern trends of remote sensing and GIS in health risk assessment with an illustrated discussion on its numerous applications.
Publication Date: 2019
Geospatial Technologies for Urban Health
This volume presents a timely collection of research papers on the progress, opportunities, and challenges related to the advancement of geospatial technologies for applications in urban health research and management. The chapter authors cover technologies ranging from traditional GIS and remote sensing technologies, to recently developed tracking/locational technologies and volunteered geographic information (VGI). In four main sections, the book uniquely contributes to the conversation of how geospatial technologies and other GIScience research may be enhanced by addressing the data and challenges presented by urban health issues. The book is intended for those with backgrounds in health and medical geography, social epidemiology, urban planning, health management, and lifestyle research. The book starts with an introduction by the editors, providing an overview of traditional and emerging geospatial technologies and how they each can significantly contribute to urban health studies. Section 1 covers urban health risk and disease, and analyses the spatial and temporal patterns of selected urban health issues. Section 2 addresses urban health service access, and demonstrates how traditional and new geospatial technologies apply to different segments of urban populations facing varied challenges. Section 3 focuses on incorporating geospatial technologies in promoting healthy behaviours and lifestyles in urban settings. Section 4 assesses how geospatial technologies may be incorporated into urban health policies and management practices. Adopting a forward-looking perspective, these papers examine the various health challenges in urban systems, and explore how new and emerging geospatial technologies will need to develop to address these problems.
Publication Date: 2019
GIS and Public Health
Authoritative and comprehensive, this is the leading text and professional resource on using geographic information systems (GIS) to analyze and address public health problems. Basic GIS concepts and tools are explained, including ways to access and manage spatial databases. The book presents state-of-the-art methods for mapping and analyzing data on population, health events, risk factors, and health services, and for incorporating geographical knowledge into planning and policy. Numerous maps, diagrams, and real-world applications are featured. The companion Web page provides lab exercises with data that can be downloaded for individual or course use. New to this edition: incorporates major technical advances, such as Internet-based mapping systems and the rise of data from cell phones nad other GPS-enabled devices; chapter on health disparities; expanded coverage of public participation GIS; companion Web page has all-new content; and goes beyond the United States to encompass an international focus.
Publication Date: 2012
The Role of GIS in Covid-19 Management and Control
Geographic Information System (GIS) is one of the most important tools to help us understand public health and many aspects of our lives. Because of COVID-19, GIS has been brought into the spotlight more than ever before. People and civic leaders worldwide are turning to maps and real-time surveillance data to make sense of what has been happening in the world and to get answers to important questions on every aspect of this pandemic. This book examines the role of GIS in managing and controlling the spread of COVID-19 through 12 global projects and a multidisciplinary approach. It explains the innovative uses of GIS not only limited to data organization and data access, but also how improved GIS tools are used to make decisions, plan, and communicate various measures of control in both local and full-scale outbreaks during the COVID-19 pandemic. Features: Provides cutting-edge GIS visualization, spatial temporal pattern, and hot spot tracking applications used for predictive modeling of COVID-19. Includes real-world case studies with broad geographic scope that reflect COVID-19 trends in cases, deaths, and vaccinations. Provides lifestyle segmentation analysis on the risk of transmission of COVID-19 and spatial patterns of vaccination hesitancy. Highlights real-world issues brought to light with the help of GIS, such as social discrimination, inequalities in women's access to mental health care, and analyzes the risk of transmission due to vaccination hesitancy. Shows the use of GIS and spatial analysis in pandemic mapping, management, and control from masking and social distancing to testing site locations accounting for at-risk and vulnerable populations. Discusses facilitating policy making with GIS. Edited by a very talented medical geographer and GIS Professor Dr. Esra Ozdenerol, this book highlights key GIS capabilities and lessons learned during the COVID-19 response that can help communities prepare for the next crisis. It is a great resource for industry professionals and experts in health care, public health and safety, disaster management, and for students, academics, and researchers interested in applying GIS and spatial analysis to the study of COVID-19 and other pandemics.
Publication Date: 2023
Geographical Health Data: fundamental techniques for analysis
Focusing on proven techniques for most real-world data sets, this book presents an overview of the analysis of health data involving a geographic component, in a way that is accessible to any health scientist or student comfortable with large data sets and basic statistics, but not necessarily with any specialized training in geographic information systems (GIS). Providing clear, straightforward explanations with worldwide examples and solutions, the book describes applications of GIS in disaster response.
Geoinformatics in Health Facility Analysis
This book demonstrates how GIS techniques and statistical methods can be used to emphasise the characteristics of population and its related variables, vis-à-vis care facilities and the status of vector borne diseases, as well as for malaria modeling. Concentrating on the Varanasi district of India, the main aim of the book is to determine and map the density areas of vector borne diseases using GIS techniques. The book explores how health GIS is an important sub-discipline of health science and medical geography, which is traditionally focused on the spatial aspects of disease ecology and health care facility analysis.
Geospatial Analysis of Environmental Health
This book focuses on a range of geospatial applications for environmental health research, including environmental justice issues, environmental health disparities, air and water contamination, and infectious diseases. Environmental health research is at an exciting point in its use of geotechnologies, and many researchers are working on innovative approaches. This book is a timely scholarly contribution in updating the key concepts and applications of using GIS and other geospatial methods for environmental health research. Each chapter contains original research which utilizes a geotechnical tool (Geographic Information Systems (GIS), remote sensing, GPS, etc.) to address an environmental health problem. The book is divided into three sections organized around the following themes: issues in GIS and environmental health research; using GIS to assess environmental health impacts; and geospatial methods for environmental health. Representing diverse case studies and geospatial methods, the book is likely to be of interest to researchers, practitioners and students across the geographic and environmental health sciences. The authors are leading researchers and practitioners in the field of GIS and environmental health.
Geospatial Analysis of Public Health
This book is specifically designed to serve the community of postgraduates and researchers in the fields of epidemiology, health GIS, medical geography, and health management. It starts with the basic concepts and role of remote sensing, GIS in Kala-azar diseases. The book gives an exhaustive coverage of Satellite data, GPS, GIS, spatial and attribute data modeling, and geospatial analysis of Kala-azar diseases. It also presents the modern trends of remote sensing and GIS in health risk assessment with an illustrated discussion on its numerous applications.
Geospatial Technologies for Urban Health
This volume presents a timely collection of research papers on the progress, opportunities, and challenges related to the advancement of geospatial technologies for applications in urban health research and management. The chapter authors cover technologies ranging from traditional GIS and remote sensing technologies, to recently developed tracking/locational technologies and volunteered geographic information (VGI). In four main sections, the book uniquely contributes to the conversation of how geospatial technologies and other GIScience research may be enhanced by addressing the data and challenges presented by urban health issues. The book is intended for those with backgrounds in health and medical geography, social epidemiology, urban planning, health management, and lifestyle research. The book starts with an introduction by the editors, providing an overview of traditional and emerging geospatial technologies and how they each can significantly contribute to urban health studies. Section 1 covers urban health risk and disease, and analyses the spatial and temporal patterns of selected urban health issues. Section 2 addresses urban health service access, and demonstrates how traditional and new geospatial technologies apply to different segments of urban populations facing varied challenges. Section 3 focuses on incorporating geospatial technologies in promoting healthy behaviours and lifestyles in urban settings. Section 4 assesses how geospatial technologies may be incorporated into urban health policies and management practices. Adopting a forward-looking perspective, these papers examine the various health challenges in urban systems, and explore how new and emerging geospatial technologies will need to develop to address these problems.
GIS and Public Health
Authoritative and comprehensive, this is the leading text and professional resource on using geographic information systems (GIS) to analyze and address public health problems. Basic GIS concepts and tools are explained, including ways to access and manage spatial databases. The book presents state-of-the-art methods for mapping and analyzing data on population, health events, risk factors, and health services, and for incorporating geographical knowledge into planning and policy. Numerous maps, diagrams, and real-world applications are featured. The companion Web page provides lab exercises with data that can be downloaded for individual or course use. New to this edition: incorporates major technical advances, such as Internet-based mapping systems and the rise of data from cell phones nad other GPS-enabled devices; chapter on health disparities; expanded coverage of public participation GIS; companion Web page has all-new content; and goes beyond the United States to encompass an international focus.
The Role of GIS in Covid-19 Management and Control
Geographic Information System (GIS) is one of the most important tools to help us understand public health and many aspects of our lives. Because of COVID-19, GIS has been brought into the spotlight more than ever before. People and civic leaders worldwide are turning to maps and real-time surveillance data to make sense of what has been happening in the world and to get answers to important questions on every aspect of this pandemic. This book examines the role of GIS in managing and controlling the spread of COVID-19 through 12 global projects and a multidisciplinary approach. It explains the innovative uses of GIS not only limited to data organization and data access, but also how improved GIS tools are used to make decisions, plan, and communicate various measures of control in both local and full-scale outbreaks during the COVID-19 pandemic. Features: Provides cutting-edge GIS visualization, spatial temporal pattern, and hot spot tracking applications used for predictive modeling of COVID-19. Includes real-world case studies with broad geographic scope that reflect COVID-19 trends in cases, deaths, and vaccinations. Provides lifestyle segmentation analysis on the risk of transmission of COVID-19 and spatial patterns of vaccination hesitancy. Highlights real-world issues brought to light with the help of GIS, such as social discrimination, inequalities in women's access to mental health care, and analyzes the risk of transmission due to vaccination hesitancy. Shows the use of GIS and spatial analysis in pandemic mapping, management, and control from masking and social distancing to testing site locations accounting for at-risk and vulnerable populations. Discusses facilitating policy making with GIS. Edited by a very talented medical geographer and GIS Professor Dr. Esra Ozdenerol, this book highlights key GIS capabilities and lessons learned during the COVID-19 response that can help communities prepare for the next crisis. It is a great resource for industry professionals and experts in health care, public health and safety, disaster management, and for students, academics, and researchers interested in applying GIS and spatial analysis to the study of COVID-19 and other pandemics.