Library Guides: OOMPH Library Resources: PHW 207A Public Health Aspects of Maternal and Child Nutrition: Nutrition Resources

General Nutrition Resources

General and Professional Resources

The Nutrition Source (Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health): The Nutrition Source provides evidence-based diet & nutrition information for clinicians, health professionals, the media and the public.
Nutrition Center (American Heart Association): Heart-healthy nutrition information.
National Collaborative on Childhood Obesity Research: Measures Registry: Searchable database of diet and physical activity measures relevant to childhood obesity research. The purpose of this registry is to promote the consistent use of common measures and research methods across childhood obesity prevention and research at the individual, community, and population levels

Resources for Children & Families

MyPlate (USDA): ChooseMyPlate.gov provides practical information to individuals, health professionals, nutrition educators, and the food industry to help consumers build healthier diets with resources and tools for dietary assessment, nutrition education, and other user-friendly nutrition information.
» MyPlate Kids' Place (USDA)
HealthyChildren.org (American Academy of Pediatrics): A large collection of healthy child and family resources.
Women, Infants, and Children (WIC) (USDA Food and Nutrition Service): WIC provides Federal grants to States for supplemental foods, health care referrals, and nutrition education for low-income pregnant, breastfeeding, and non-breastfeeding postpartum women, and to infants and children up to age five who are found to be at nutritional risk.

Nutrition Advocacy/Policy

Center for Science in the Public Interest: CSPI educates the public, advocates government policies that are consistent with scientific evidence on health and environmental issues, and counters industry’s powerful influence on public opinion and public policies.
UConn Rudd Center for Food Policy and Obesity: A non-profit research and public policy organization devoted to improving the world’s diet, preventing obesity, and reducing weight stigma.
SNAP-Ed Toolkit: Search for evidence-based obesity prevention and policy, systems, and environmental change interventions, and learn about each outcome indicator from the SNAP-Ed Evaluation Framework. Includes access to resources and guidance documents for state SNAP-Ed administrative and implementing agencies.

Health Statistics

The Library's Health Statistics & Data Resources Guide is an annotated list of sources of statistics & data. Some of the sources that may be relevant to PHW206 include:

Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) (CDC)
The world's largest, on-going telephone health survey system, tracking health conditions and risk behaviors in the U.S. yearly since 1984. Prevelance Trends, GIS data, Chronic Disease Indicators, as well as the survey data and methodology are available.
Food Access Research Atlas (USDA)
Create maps showing food access indicators by census tract using different measures and indicators of supermarket accessibility; Compare food access measures based on 2015 data with the previous 2010 measures; View indicators of food access for selected subpopulations; and Download census-tract-level data on food access measures.
Food Environment Atlas
Food environment factors, such as store/restaurant proximity, food prices, food and nutrition assistance programs, and community characteristics, interact to influence food choices and diet quality. Users can create maps, view individual county data, or query for multiple factors.
Maternal and Infant Health Assessment
An annual, statewide-representative survey of women with a recent live birth in California. MIHA collects self-reported information about maternal and infant experiences and maternal attitudes and behaviors before, during and shortly after pregnancy. Topics include preconception health, health disparities, alcohol use during pregnancy, maternal weight gain, oral health, and breastfeeding.
National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES)
NHANES is a program of studies designed to assess the health and nutritional status of adults and children in the United States. The survey is unique in that it combines interviews and physical examinations. Site includes data and tutorials.
OECD Health Statistics and Health Data
OECD Health Statistics consists of tables on health and health systems across OECD countries. OECD Health Data is an interactive database comprising data on a range of topics: healthcare, food and nutrition, and more in the OECD Member countries and Accession countries, which are presented in a demographic, economic and social context. Some time series go back as far as 1960.
PeriStats
Developed by the March of Dimes Perinatal Data Center, provides access to maternal and infant health data for the United States and by state or region, including more than 60,000 graphs, maps, and tables.

Need More?

Many more food and nutrition resources may be found on our Public Health Nutrition guide.

Secondary menu

OOMPH Library Resources: PHW 207A Public Health Aspects of Maternal and Child Nutrition: Nutrition Resources

hello