OOMPH Library Resources: PHW 220M Health Policy Methods: Health Policy Advocacy

​As the professional society dedicated to the field of health services research and the professionals who produce and use this important work, AcademyHealth has a responsibility to promote the field and to help advance the interest of our broad membership. AcademyHealth monitors the environment year-round to identify legislation, regulations, guidance, and other trends in the public and private sectors that are important to its membership and/or stand to shape the field of health services research.

Nonprofits can use the tool to benchmark their advocacy skills, identify specific gaps and opportunities in their advocacy strategies, determine how they want to strengthen their advocacy, and efficiently focus resources to get the best results. The tool can also be used as part of an evaluation process. From Bolder Advocacy.

The Alliance for Health Reform is a nonpartisan, not-for-profit organization dedicated to helping policymakers understand the foundations of health policy, the roots of the nation’s health care issues, and the trade-offs posed by various proposals for change. The Alliance has conducted hundreds of briefings on Capitol Hill and around the nation on timely and important health policy topics.

From state legislatures to the White House, nurses have a unique opportunity to lend their expertise in influencing policy at all levels of government. The American Nurses Association ensures all 3.6 million nurses are represented across the board and that nurses interests are not ignored by bureaucrats who lack true knowledge of the issues at the bedside.

APIAHF works with community advocates, public health leaders and policymakers to generate policy and systems changes that benefit our communities at the national, state and local levels. As part of an ambitious framework for change in policies, in systems, and in the fundamental ways that we address health for our communities, APIAHF policy work focuses on expanding access to health care; improving the quality of health care through cultural competency, language access and diverse workforce; increasing research and improving data collection about health issues faced by our communities

In our fight to achieve health equity CPEHN is engaged in a number of policy campaigns:
California legislation; Affordable Care Act; state budget; prevention; and cultural and linguistic competency.

Serves as the hub for all of the key children's issues, supporting and connecting thousands of groups in California to create an unprecedented power base for kids. To accomplish this, Children Now employs the top three strategies that all of the country’s strongest interest groups have in common and, for the first time, applies those to kids: umbrella coverage; deep inside expertise; and outside pressure.

Families USA, a leading national voice for health care consumers, is dedicated to the achievement of high-quality, affordable health care and improved health for all. We advance our mission through public policy analysis, advocacy, and collaboration with partners to promote a patient-and community-centered health system.

Finding common ground and win-win solutions in policy negotiation is an art that blends close listening, two-way conversations and meaningful relationships of trust built over time. This guide includes tools and techniques for advancing conversation with decision-makers on any policy.

This toolkit provides resources to support community members working against injustice in its many forms. Includes: Seeking Enforcement of Existing Laws or Policies; Organizing Public Demonstrations; Organizing a Boycott; and much more. From Community Tool Box.

As the national voice for Local Health Departments, NACCHO serves a critical role in Washington. All of NACCHO’s advocacy efforts focus on informing policymakers of the critical role that local health departments play in keeping our communities healthy and safe.

The NPA is mobilizing physicians locally and nationally in the fight for a just, equitable, caring, and effective health care system. The NPA is actively working to ensure that these protections and coverage expansions guaranteed through the ACA are built upon, not dismantled.

Using the association’s legislative and regulatory policies and positions, NRHA advocates before Congress, the White House and federal agencies. The association serves as a primary rural resource to elected officials, policy leaders and other organizations on rural health initiatives and programs. Site includes advocacy documents/cases, tools,and more.

We are working to help achieve health equity and expand opportunity to pursue the best health possible, through investments in four broad areas: Healthy Communities; Healthy Children, Healthy Weight; Health Leadership; Health Systems.

A collection of resources that offers context for addressing gun violence as a systemic public health crisis, and houses some of Community Commons’ best tools, toolkits, resources, datasets, maps, policy briefs, and stories related to ending, preventing, and healing from gun violence.

California organizations listed by topic (Children & Youth; Disability; etc.)

Long list of US organizations. Also includes a news feed and a link to International Policy Research Organizations.